We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Nice As Advertised”
Review of Tay Inn

Tay Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tay Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Duluth MN
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“As Nice As Advertised”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

In reading the reviews for the Tay Inn before making my reservation, I was struck by the repetition of the word "clean". Having now stayed there, the word "immaculate" is more appropriate, even the parking lot was perfect. From the blossoming flower pots to the bathrooms that could double as an operating theater in a hospital, the Tay Inn was exactly what I was looking for. If you are not going to do the old town B&B route, the Tay Inn is your perfect choice for a place to stay while in Perth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JNadaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    27
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
33
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This Inn called the "Tay" is just what the doctor ordered if you don't want to spend a lot for accommodation, yet get great value. Clean,scrupulously clean, neat and with all the bits like hair dryer, microwave, mini fridge and tea kettle. Staff are friendly should you need them they seem always available and with just 20 units, it must work-out, as this motel is always full or close to it.
You are just two minutes from historic Perth which has a lot to see and no wonder it has been voted Ontario's Prettiest Town. A superb little stopover!

Room Tip: make a reservation especially during summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kittyboymoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I am used to the major chain hotels and motels and usually stay away from smaller, independent places. But thanks to the TripAdvisor reviews I read, I took a look at this one. Even after the rave reviews, I was still positively surprised. Both the room and the bathroom were absolutely amazingly clean. The room we stayed in must have undergone some major renovation not too long ago. The furniture itself looked like it was "passed down" from a business hotel, but other than some dings it, too, was absolutely clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steffen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Probably the cleanest hotel rooms I have ever encountered. The rooms are basic, comfortable, well-equipped (tea and coffee; small table and two chairs; microwave; small refrigerator). The wi-fi is free and fast. The family running (and possibly owning) the Tay Inn is welcoming and helpful. There is a Wendy's next door and a Tim Horton's diagonally across the street. I have stayed there twice and found the rooms to be quiet (even the tv volume is moderated -- no chance of disturbing your neighbors, or of them disturbing you.). To look at, it's nothing special but don't be put off by the looks. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Rooms 110-116 are furthest from the road have most protection from any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great hosts I was working in the Perth area for a couple of months found the motel and was very pleased with the cleanliness and very friendly host rooms recently renovated bedding meticulously clean.Highly recommend you might hear the train through the night but that's minor Tim's is right across the highway very highly recommended thanks Lina and Hinton

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spinbermc1142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed while visiting family. The room was clean and comfortable. The rate @ $109.00 per night was reasonable for the season and area. The outdoor pool was a surprise, hidden from view by cedar hedges and was clean, clear and refreshing. I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed overnight while visiting Perth for a wedding. The husband and wife owners are friendly and accommodating. My room was spotless and the recently remodelled bathroom was bright and airy. There is a kettle, tea and instant coffee in the room if you cannot wait for your morning caffeine infusion. The motel is located on the highway and close to fast food restaurants, and a short drive to the very pretty town centre if you're looking for better calibre dining.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontrealDMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perth
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Perth Parkside Inn & Spa
0.2 mi away
Aquarius Motel
Aquarius Motel
#4 of 5 in Perth
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Colonial House Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Best Western Smiths Falls Hotel
12.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 4 in Smiths Falls
116 reviews
8.7 mi away
Clyde Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tay Inn

Property: Tay Inn
Address: 125 Dufferin St, Perth, Ontario K7H 3A5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Perth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Tay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tay Inn Perth, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing