We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible fish and chips”

O'Reilly's Ale House
Ranked #1 of 64 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: O'reillys Ale House is focused on bringing you terrific locally sourced food and great live music in a family friendly enviroment. Stop in say hello and enjoy a drink on the patio!
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The worst chips ever. Cardboard texture. Will try something else next time. Good server and great location in nice weather ( patio ).

2  Thank tourvella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner_oreillys, Owner at O'Reilly's Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear tourvella,

We appreciate your positive words about the service and location. We take a lot of pride in our ingredients and meals we produce. We sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory meal you had at our establishment. Our chips are freshly cut on a daily basis and are usually received very positively. We are very sorry that your meal was not up to our standards.

We hope you return and have a more favourable experience.

Sincere apologies,
Dan and Mary Catherine Allatt
Owners, O'reilly's Ale House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 257 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Excellent food - home made soup, pizza of the day and pasta were all very tasty. Staff were excellent and location and atmosphere great. Thanks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TRS24424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner_oreillys, Owner at O'Reilly's Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you very much for the kind review! A positive customer experience is our #1 focus. Look forward to having you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

New ownership has dramatically improved the experience at O'reilly's. My wife and I and friends have now eaten there 4 times and have loved the food. The pizza of the day is always excellent. The wings are supurb, as are the bangers and mash and onion rings.
The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and with the big screen TV always on an interesting game, it makes a great spot to visit either for dining, or just a cold fresh pint.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Abner15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I came here because a friend had told me that since changing ownership, O'Reilly's had really stepped up it's game. It hadn't. If you're going to change the menu, make sure your kitchen can handle it. The food was terrible. And all the waitress could do was apologize. She didn't offer us anything to replace our cold/tired meal, or even a discount. When you tell a customer that you're out of an important part of a meal, and then discover it, as she said: "in the back of the fridge", you probably shouldn't be serving it. The service was slow and forgetful. They should try and staff accordingly and not try to just do it with one obviously stressed out server. I'm pretty sure the manager was also there, but just "observing".

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank stedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner_oreillys, Owner at O'Reilly's Ale House, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Stedwards

We are incredibly sorry that your experience at O'Reilly's Ale house was anything less than spectacular. We put the utmost importance on customer service and food quality, and you should have been properly compensated for your poor experience. We will contact you directly with a gift certificate and the hopefully the opportunity to redeem ourselves.

I offer our deepest apologies.

O'reilly's Ale House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just came back from Perth after having a wonderful lunch. We both ordered the blackened chicken sandwiches on ciabatta bread and it was great. We ate at the outside patio. The waitress was very friendly and made us feel at home. The free refill of iced tea was a very nice touch.
The menu had a very nice variety . Try there deep fried pickles. Suprisingly good (!)
Will go back and looking forward to it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Therese65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Reilly's Ale House also viewed

 

Been to O'Reilly's Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing