We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hiking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Murphys Point Provincial Park

Murphys Point Provincial Park
Ranked #2 of 28 things to do in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Perth, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Hiking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Murphy's Point is a great place to hike four season a year. The trails are well marked. There are trails of varying length.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank NL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We come to Murphy's Point every summer. It's our place of choice, not too far from Ottawa (home). The campsites are very nice, the park staff very friendly, the bathrooms clean, the scenery fantastic and the boating on Big Rideau is great! The boat launch has more than one dock where you can tie up your boat for the night. We booked our site since January for 3 weeks in June/July 2014. We'll also return later in September when the fall colors are beautiful and the park is nice and quiet.

The only drawback is that our dog isn't allowed on the grass near the beach so we can't go swimming. I understand about dogs being forbidden from going on the sand but the grassy area is so large, they could easily designate part of it for dogs. It would be great to be able to tie the dog to a picnic table and go swimming like we do when we visit Rideau River Provincial Park closer to Ottawa.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The wood cabin is fantastic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent 2 nights in the only wood cabin from Oct.2-4. It has a propane fireplace and a front screened porch. Very cosy. The ground slopes down to Hogg Bay.
Do not follow Google driving directions from Toronto, (Google gives you the shortest route),
since there is no sign of the park from that direction, you will miss the park entrance guaranteed.
You would think it would not be a big trouble to have signs from both direction of the road.
The outdoor toilets had motion sensor lights-1st time we saw this-and we visited many Prov.'l
parks before. There is an old unused mica mine there, and there are guided tours there on certain days. There's a park store, nice size lakes to canoe. Do not go there for the day use beaches, both are tiny. Overall we had a great time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TomKat2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good for camping or day trips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Large Provincial Park on Big Rideau Lake. Good camping, beaches not that great.

All Ontario Provincial Parks are fully booked most of the summer so reservations are essential.

We have since purchased a cottage on a nearby lake so we love the region, but don't frequent the parks any longer..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BobOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average Camping Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went to Murphy's point at the beginning of August not knowing what to expect. The sites are well maintained and so are the washroom facilities. Not much to do around but sit around the campsite. There are two beaches but both are quite small and the swimming areas are not very large. Nevertheless, it's a great spot to experience the outdoors and the dark skies in the area allow for some great stargazing. Lots of wildlife in the area too as we had a deer come up right to our site!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank supermario86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphys Point Provincial Park also viewed

 

Been to Murphys Point Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing