We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of The Stone Cellar

The Stone Cellar
Reserve with OpenTable
The Stone Cellar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 62 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The carrot curry soup may have sounded like a good choice but the chef's concoction had the consistency of wet cement, far too much curry and no taste of carrot. The presentation was nice for my rather dry salmon. It came sitting on a bed of what the waitress claimed was rice with some artfully placed veggies . But I couldn't tell whether it was rice, quinoa, bulgar or something else since it had no flavour. My wife ( a vegan) had an "OK" salad and some pricey grilled vegetables. No appetizers, no wine, no dessert, no coffee yet an $80 price tag. With this series of disappointments we wouldn't give The Stone Cellar a second try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    67
    19
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arden, Canada
2 reviews
“To our taste”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location in Perth is excellent, the patio overlooks the waterway and was behind the restaurant, so quiet and romantic. The food was a bit on the spicy side, which we love, and their vegan creativity was very good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ckerekes108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The palce is really trendy looking (you'd never expect it from a small town and when looking from the outside). The martinis are made to spec and the food solid but not the most original.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedFoodConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Always consistent...always good!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stopped in to one of our favorite restaurants in Perth for brunch on Sunday...(have never seen Weiner Schnitzel on the menu....but there is a schnitzel place down the street). We enjoy the ambience and we are always pleased with our choices. We were not disappointed! This is a great spot for fine food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lillypuggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst than Bad”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

5 of us ate at this restaurant this evening and I must say, it was the absolute worst dining experience I have ever had. The air conditioning was supposedly not working or there wasn't enough money to turn it on so instead they opened the front door. Result was the place was infested with flies. Asked the robotic waitress to supply a fan and a fly swatter but none was to be had. I unfortunately ordered the weiner schnitzel which was tough, over cooked and tasteless. Service was extremely slow inspite of the fact there were few customers (not surprising). I am seriously considering calling the health unit to complain about the fly situation. I thought I was eating in New Dehli India. On a scale of 1 to 10 this restaurant would be a negative..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stone Cellar also viewed

 

Been to The Stone Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing