We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No pictures of the motel available online: location good...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Orangeville
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Orangeville
Reviewed June 18, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Orangeville
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 152 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Bonnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The other reviews are pretty accurate in terms of their descriptions. The layout is a little quirky as this motel was converted from a seniors' home. The place has virtually no curb appeal! Since they've put in new carpet, paint, and trim, it looks decent for now but I'm not sure how long it'll look decent. The renovations look like they were done by do-it-yourselfers, not tradespeople. As a result, the bathroom door wouldn't close without considerable effort and the door to the outside lawn had a gap that you could pass a newspaper through.
Having said all that, you're renting a room here, not buying a condo. As such, the beds are very comfortable, the TV is a decent wall-mounted flat panel and the internet is adequately fast. The bathroom is clean and the linens/comforter are nice and clean. There are very few amenities but the continental breakfast had all the basics: muffins, bagels, yogurt, cold cereals, coffee, tea, juice, and some fresh fruit.
Long story short: for around $79 you can't go wrong if you're just looking for a place to crash for the night. Don't come here if you want fancy. The closest thing to that would be the Best Western up the road for an extra $100.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed for a night in the Orangeville HJ and came away with mixed feelings.

1. WiFi didn't work and the PC near the office kept kicking me out. Something wrong there.

2. Outside of the hotel looked like a bomb had gone off and nobody had called for a few front-end loaders to take away the rubble. We are talking ugly.

3. My room was fine but it only had 1 window looking out - at the rubble and weeds.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Hogboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

From the outside, this ‘motel’ didn’t seem the best but I figured I should give it the benefit of the doubt. Front desk staff didn’t offer any information except to give me my room card; had to ask where to find my room, where to park, where breakfast was etc. The room on first appearance seemed to be decorated to match this century, however, the overwhelming smell of smoke was immediately off putting – especially because it was a non-smoking room! I had to kill a beetle/cockroach type creature, and when I was cleaning that up on the carpet I found a dead potato bug. Later found that the room door has a giant gap at the bottom which is likely why bugs and such are getting in the room (this really needs to be fixed). Tried to make coffee at the little kitchenette stand, except there aren’t plugs accessible for the short kettle cord and thus had to place the kettle on the floor near where the dead bug was found. Also, no stir sticks/spoon to mix coffee. I was also concerned with the decorative cylindrical pillow on the bed – it doesn’t have a cover so I have no idea how it is able to be washed/sanitized between guests. Blinds in the bathroom are broken and don’t close properly, leaving small open gaps (I put a towel over the window blinds for privacy). There were cigarette burns on the shower edge, again in the 'no smoking room'. One of the WORST issues I found was the collection of used bars of soap on the shelf in the shower! SO GROSS. It just left me feeling as though nothing was properly cleaned. On positive notes: the wireless Internet was working perfectly, brand new nice TV (~20 channels) and the AC/heat also worked. With a little TLC this place could shape up nicely, but currently it needs help!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbeetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Would suggest having more experienced staff at front desk, and not rent out room that required general maintenance.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Older motel recently renovated, young couple trying to make a go of it... HoJo franchise advantageous, but some reno features could be improved - good luck to 'em.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orangeville
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Orangeville Inn & Suites
4.0 mi away
Hockley Valley Resort
5.6 mi away
Millcroft Inn & Spa
Millcroft Inn & Spa
#1 of 1 in Alton
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Bolton
22.6 mi away
Best Western Halton Hills
Best Western Halton Hills
#1 of 1 in Georgetown
129 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlanta Motel
Atlanta Motel
#3 of 5 in Orangeville
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Orangeville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Orangeville

Address: 236 First St, Orangeville, Ontario L9W 3K1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orangeville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Orangeville
Price Range: $81 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Orangeville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Howard Johnson Orangeville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Orangeville Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing