We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How Can It Get Better??????”

Soulyve Caribbean Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 117 Restaurants in Orangeville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $31
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“How Can It Get Better??????”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

How Could It Get Better????
Favourite
Diner Review • Jul 10, 2013
Edit
We have been blessed with dining at this restaurant since it opened, visiting at least once a week. Last fall, we moved an hour away and miss it dearly. Tonight, we made the trek just to get a "fix" of the best Caribbean food around and I cannot believe that it has gotten better!
I had the Coconut Cajun Shrimp and all I can say is WOW. This is the kind of thing you crave at midnight. Plump, firm shrimp in a creamy zesty coconut sauce with roti for dipping and a very fresh salad that i will dream about for many days to come. Phil and his team are to be commended for maintaining and even improving their restaurant after being featured on You Gotta Eat Here last fall. Often, restaurants have a hard time living up to the spotlight but this place has just gotten better. We cannot wait to go back again and again!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marnieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    73
    18
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I love Caribbean food so I thought I'd try this place, BIG mistake!
I ordered the large jerk chicken dinner to go. The portion is very small for $13. The chicken was dry, the rice had to have been from the day before because it was so hard and they forgot the salad. Very dissatisfied!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steeler4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“you gotta eat here went to their heads.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Slow service. Waitresses can only do so much. The food has gone downhill, for the kitchen to send out burnt soup that you could tell was past its due date and charge you out the hoop because they think its worth it.tsk tsk. Whats with the bbq chicken. How old is it, tastes bland stale and colourless. Soulyve is the victim of its own success.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wettwaffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soulyve, Manager at Soulyve Caribbean Kitchen, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Sorry to hear about your disappointing experience here. Allow me to clear this up, so as not to mislead anybody. NONE of our food is ever served past its due date. This is true for everything, but especially so with our chicken, as frankly we don't keep enough in the restaurant for it to go bad. We receive several orders of fresh chicken each week, and the turnover is extremely quick. All our different flavours are seasoned, and then marinated in the fridge overnight. Grilled fresh in the morning. This is something we take very seriously and feel it is one of our strongest points. Our methods of food preparation have not changed since 'You Gotta Eat Here!' - although at times we are busier than perhaps someone are used to or would like. We encourage all guests to call ahead for reservations, or for pick up to ensure there is a table available or your order is ready when you arrive.

Hopefully you'll be willing to give us another chance, and thanks for taking the time to voice your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“You will not be disappointed!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I live in Orangeville and this is one of my favorite place to eat. Reggae wrap is amazeballs!! It's a got to stop here type of joint, Don't miss out if you are in the area:)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HMacneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have been to Soulyve for chicken Roti a couple times, but are never very impressed. They are very overpriced and lack flavour. There is no option to add any degrees of heat to the roti without just dipping in (or pouring on ) hot sauce. A little disappointing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soulyve, Manager at Soulyve Caribbean Kitchen, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Sorry to hear you have been disappointed with the roti. We are able to add the peppa sauce inside if requested when ordered. We have found that it's easier to serve on the milder side with the ability to make it hotter, as many don't enjoy intense spice and we can't backtrack from there
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soulyve Caribbean Kitchen also viewed

Orangeville, Ontario
 
Orangeville, Ontario
 
Orangeville, Ontario
Orangeville, Ontario
 

Been to Soulyve Caribbean Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing