We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Century Home”

McKitrick House Inn B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orangeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McKitrick House Inn B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Orangeville B&B and Inns
Aurora, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Century Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Lovely old century in the heart of Orangeville decorated to the period time. This b&b is close walking distance to unique shops and home town pubs. My partner and I spent one night here and enjoyed coffee in the private court yard the next morning. Nathan was a very accommodating host and made us a wonderful breakfast. We will be sure to visit the McKitrick House again.
Paul and Joanna

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed one night after a wedding and we got what we were told what we would get. The manager, Nathan Dean gave fantastic service by being friendly, available for communication, and prioritizing well. There was one mix up with one of the rooms, but he handled it well and ensured we were on time for the wedding. What he told me on the phone about the rooms was what we got. The place is very clean and cozy. Breakfast was excellent - it was continental but lovely and definitely more filling and better quality than any continental breakfast I've ever had. The rooms were small and the bathroom was shared with the others in the hall but he told us this so it wasn't a surprise. You can't expect a Hilton experience from a B&B in an older home so my recommendation to you all is to ask questions before booking a room so you aren't making unrealistic expectations. Nathan, good job and keep it up! We were pleased overall with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashtongrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have never written a review before but the horrible experience here made me do so. I have used Tripadvisor for years and have found the candid reviews accurate.

We were stuck as there was nothing else available. In hindsight we should have driven the half hour south and stayed in Brampton.

The rooms were ok but the environment was less that desirable and the hostess was, well lets not got there as I can think of nothing nice to say.

Bottom line. STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank traveller S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Even though the reviews suggest stay away we thought we would try it. Definitely it is not a 4 star and to be honest it is not what you would expect from a B&B. First you drive up and this overgrown run down looking building is where you are staying. The rooms were ok but nothing to write home about and the breakfast was no better than you get for $3.99 at the greasy spoon down the road.

So if you are in Orangeville find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012. Our room, on the ground floor of the second house, was very pleasant, nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable. The house was quiet, despite the fact that we were the only guests who were NOT part of a wedding party. The B & B dining room (in the main house) is delightful and our breakfast was very nice. The house is right downtown in Orangeville and we were able to stroll out to a restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hiker7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have stayed in many B&Bs and this was not a good experience comparatively, for the price paid. The owners were very pleasant, and we did appreciate being able to bring our little dog with us, but the room size and appointments were substandard, for example the bed comforter and sheets were quite threadbare. We had to leave the B&B at 8:00 am and we were told breakfast starts at 8:00 am. But we were only provided with a cup of instant coffee at about 7:45 am. We thought a B&B host could have at least given their customer a muffin to have with the coffee even if it was 15 minutes before the regular breakfast hour. We had no breakfast and no change in price.
We are sorry to have to post this review but hopefully it may lead to improvements for other guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

The first thing that must be said is that I have never written an on-line review before so only a very negative experience would drive me to do so. We booked two days and only stayed one. It was that bad. The room was as large as a closet. The caulking on the windows was black and the shower really quite disgusting. There was nothing about the decor that was quaint or homey. It was a bunch of yard sale junk clustered on the walls. The owner - neither warm nor friendly. The breakfast was almost uneatable. Unfortunately my daughter did eat some of the mystery meat only to have violent stomach cramps and vomiting two hours later. This was unfortunate to say the least as she was competing in Trillium Championships that day and the next. There was a matted long hair cat wandering around the dining room. We felt very badly for the cat as the mats must have been painful. We also felt badly for any guests who may be allergic to cats. The silverware in the center of the tables would have added a nice touch if they weren't tarnished black. When we told the owner that we would be leaving she indicated that she would be charging us for the second night in any event. Her option to do so but we had told her about the food issue with a view to giving her the heads up on the potential meat problem. She opted to charge us anyway. She had initially offered a gift certificate but as you can imagine that was of no interest to us. We checked out as soon in the a.m. as we could and immediately checked into the new Best Western. My daughter has now indicated that she will never stay in a B & B again. I have assured her however that McKitrick House is way below the standard of most B & B's.

Room Tip: Stay away from the "Garden Room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KYMOKYMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orangeville
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Orangeville Inn & Suites
4.5 mi away
Millcroft Inn & Spa
Millcroft Inn & Spa
#1 of 1 in Alton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hockley Valley Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlanta Motel
Atlanta Motel
#3 of 5 in Orangeville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
7.6 mi away
Forks of the Credit Inn
Forks of the Credit Inn
#1 of 6 in Caledon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McKitrick House Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKitrick House Inn B&B

Property: McKitrick House Inn B&B
Address: 255 Broadway, Orangeville, Ontario L9W 1K6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Orangeville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Orangeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step back in time to 1871 in truly elegant Victorian homes located in Orangeville's Heritage District, which is well appointed of a time gone by. These restored Victorian homes offer you and your family, guests, or wedding party an ambiance unrivaled. All guests are pampered with old fashion service and enjoy full served gourmet breakfasts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
McKitrick House Inn B&B Orangeville, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing