We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most unique hospitality”
Review of King Hotel

King Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palmerston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palmerston
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We enjoyed a rather personable greeting and discussion while we looked at the available rooms, checked to make sure all the comforts worked, agreed on a priced and brought in our bags.

Joe was extremely hospitable and was not concerned with getting all our registratin information before we unpacked. In fact, since we had arrived about 5 p.m. and it was almost dark, Joe had offered us some "finger food" and a glass of wine in his office. We were the only ones there for quite a while until other travelers checked in. Consequently, we got to know each other and discussed the world's problems.

After the finger food and wine, we were not the least bit hungry so we didn't have to worry about finding a place to eat. In the morning, Joe had coffee ready and he offered to make our breakfast. Since his commercial kitchen and banquet room were right next to his office, he had our breakfast fixed in no time. He even sat down and ate with us while we bored him with our pictures.

We were so pleased with our stay that we may return. However, if Joe is not there (and he was talking retirement while we were there), I am sure we will not receive the personable hospitality he spoiled us with. Great guy!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wag0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for King Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 44 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2010

Recently, my wife and I wanted to attend the theatre in Drayton, Ontario. We made a number of phone calls, looking for accommodations. We were shocked at the prices the large chains and even B&B’s were charging. A phone call to the theatre asking for help in locating a reasonably priced place to stay proved to be beneficial. We were given the name of the King Hotel & Restaurant in Palmerston, only 10 minutes down the road.

We couldn’t have found a nicer place! The rooms have been completely re-furnished and are nicely appointed. A new fridge and television were in every room. Coffee and tea were available all day in the lobby. The best was the hospitality provided by the owner, Joe Sekhon. He sat with his guests outside the lobby doors before dinner as well as at breakfast. A more congenial host you will not find.

The hotel is situated one residential street off the main highway, not on it as is common with many motels. It proved to be very quiet. The hotel caters to those who, in the Winter like to snowmobile, or are involved in hockey tournaments. It also hosts baseball tournaments in the summer (Joe had a picture of a team from our city hanging in the lobby). The restaurant will seat up to 150 people. Good for company banquets, weddings and of course sports tournaments. The parking lot will easily accommodate vehicles pulling snowmobile trailers. In the summer, two volley ball games can be played simultaneously on the large lawn (bring your own net and ball). The lawn is also big enough to let small children run off steam, far away from a busy highway.

If you plan to stay North of Stratford/Kitchener Ontario, and are partaking in any of the previously mentioned activities, you may want to consider the King Hotel & Restaurant, 112 King Street, Palmerston, Ontario. You can make reservations at www.kinghotel.ca, phone (519) 343-3906 or Fax: (519) 343-3838.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Ours was a large group that occupied over 90% of the King Hotel for over 5 weeks. From beginning to end the owner, Joe and his staff were attentive to our needs. Available 24-7, he's the human embodiment of the Energizer Bunny. Our group stayed overnight on Thanksgiving of all nights and we were all whining about giving up dinner with friends and family, until we had Joe's delectable buffet! Throughout our stay the food at the King was something we all looked forward to. The rooms are small but comfortable and well-maintained. The next time I need to stay overnight within a 45-minute radius of Palmerston, I'll definately check into the King Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FilMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Our room was very clean and comfortable.
The buffet dinner was very reasonably priced with a large selection of items to choose from.
When we awoke to a hot breakfast we were grateful.
Our hockey team was very pleased with the staff and service.
The hotel is steps away from the town of Palmerston's business section and some main towns in the area providing convenance.
I highly recommend this hotel for a stay and dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hockeyheros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2009

We recently stayed at the King Hotel for 5 weeks, while shooting a film up near the Palmerston area and have nothing but positive things to say about the experience. Joe and his wife were the most gracious and hospitable hosts, always ready and willing to go way beyond the call of duty to make us feel at home. The King Hotel may not the Four Seasons but what can you expect in rural Ontario? The rooms were clean and our crew had no complaints about the hotel. If we had to do all again, we would certainly choose the King Hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filmzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

I went to a thesaurus to learn of there are more effective words... I'll stick with "terrible rooms", "obnoxious anger-filled owner (Joe)", "poor" housekeeping (bedbugs and roaches), cold food, unkempt overpriced buffet.

Now the details; my wife asked for her breakfast plate of food to be reheated since the food was server stone cold - we had waited 25 minutes for eggs after ordering... the wait staff eyes rolled when asked for the service, the owner (Joe) brought the food back over-microwaved to a hardened state and "slammed" the plate on the table with anger. We has earlier notified him we had seen roaches in the restaurant.

I awoke during the night to find bedbugs in the sheets and mattress. (Way to many to count) Our associates had similar experiences.

Two business associates tied the pool and both suffered eye burns from too much chlorine in the swimming pool (we could smell the odor outdoors it was so strong)

The owner (Joe) was impossible to deal with (yelling at us) when we explained the problems nicely knowing that these problems can escape a busy person's eye. We won't be returning. Do yourself a favour as we did - go down the road towards Listowel. We did for the balance of our ten day stay.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael_Strathmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

What a great weekend! Our hockey team had games in the area and we spent the weekend at the King Hotel. Not a 5-Star resort but Joe and his wife's hospitality made all the difference. You won't find service like this in a hotel chain. The rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable and the swimming pool is huge. Buffet was hot and ready when we got back from our hockey game. And at $10.00/person, it more than filled the bill. The boys loved it!!! And so did the adults. They also provided a full breakfast with eggs, sausages, pancakes, french toast and more included in the price of the room. Joe's hospitality was above and beyond our expectations! I would recommend the King Hotel to any team. Thank you for a pleasurable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GCMHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmerston
23.3 mi away
Travellers Inn Hanover
Travellers Inn Hanover
#1 of 1 in Hanover
38 reviews
24.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Fergus Hotel
24.0 mi away
The Village Inn Elora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Wingham Lindon Motel
Wingham Lindon Motel
#1 of 1 in Wingham
28 reviews
23.7 mi away
Grey Rose Suites
Grey Rose Suites
#1 of 4 in Hanover
45 reviews
23.8 mi away
Mom's Bed & Breakfast
Mom's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Hanover
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Address: 112 King Street | Palmerston, Palmerston, Minto, Ontario N0G 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Minto > Palmerston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palmerston
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
King Hotel Palmerston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing