We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best & friendliest inn on our 14 day trip!”
Review of King Hotel

King Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palmerston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palmerston
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Joe is amazing! We checked-in after all the near-by restaurants had closed and were treated royally--including a homemade supper and glass of wine. Joe makes you feel like one of the family! Joe really makes the establishment what it is but the rooms are clean and quiet and renovated. We'll be back ......and go out of our way to do so again!

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank RedBrickRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for King Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 44 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed here with our team.....the owner Joe took an interest in us and made our stay
wonderful with all of his extras he provided. Great stay will go back again.Thanks Joe you were great!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seegs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We recently had a stay at King Hotel and it was fantastic! The room was clean and the owner was extremly accommodating. Not 5 minutes after we arrived in our room, Joe knocked on our door with a bottle of wine in hand. Also, in the morning he offered to make us breakfast. It felt like we were staying at an old friend's home.
We would highly recommend King Hotel to anyone traveling through town.

Sincerely,
Barbie and The Cherrey Bombs

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c_michiels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

There was a tournament for broomball in Palmerston that my kids were playing at and our group chose the closest hotel , We had about 60 player plus their families going on this trip Joe offered us the whole motel for a great low cost. We stayed the friday and saturday night. One of the teams were playing friday night so many arrived early around 5 ish . After they checked in Joe brought down a big tray of finger food they could munch on while they unpacked. When one of the parents were going to pay Joe for the food he said it was on him :) This is something you wouldn't get ANY where else . Our group had MANY little children the youngest being 4 . and oldest being 16 he let them run around in the halls and was very nice , THANKS JOE ! We will be staying here next year for the tournament !

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank broomball66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

We enjoyed a rather personable greeting and discussion while we looked at the available rooms, checked to make sure all the comforts worked, agreed on a priced and brought in our bags.

Joe was extremely hospitable and was not concerned with getting all our registratin information before we unpacked. In fact, since we had arrived about 5 p.m. and it was almost dark, Joe had offered us some "finger food" and a glass of wine in his office. We were the only ones there for quite a while until other travelers checked in. Consequently, we got to know each other and discussed the world's problems.

After the finger food and wine, we were not the least bit hungry so we didn't have to worry about finding a place to eat. In the morning, Joe had coffee ready and he offered to make our breakfast. Since his commercial kitchen and banquet room were right next to his office, he had our breakfast fixed in no time. He even sat down and ate with us while we bored him with our pictures.

We were so pleased with our stay that we may return. However, if Joe is not there (and he was talking retirement while we were there), I am sure we will not receive the personable hospitality he spoiled us with. Great guy!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wag0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

Recently, my wife and I wanted to attend the theatre in Drayton, Ontario. We made a number of phone calls, looking for accommodations. We were shocked at the prices the large chains and even B&B’s were charging. A phone call to the theatre asking for help in locating a reasonably priced place to stay proved to be beneficial. We were given the name of the King Hotel & Restaurant in Palmerston, only 10 minutes down the road.

We couldn’t have found a nicer place! The rooms have been completely re-furnished and are nicely appointed. A new fridge and television were in every room. Coffee and tea were available all day in the lobby. The best was the hospitality provided by the owner, Joe Sekhon. He sat with his guests outside the lobby doors before dinner as well as at breakfast. A more congenial host you will not find.

The hotel is situated one residential street off the main highway, not on it as is common with many motels. It proved to be very quiet. The hotel caters to those who, in the Winter like to snowmobile, or are involved in hockey tournaments. It also hosts baseball tournaments in the summer (Joe had a picture of a team from our city hanging in the lobby). The restaurant will seat up to 150 people. Good for company banquets, weddings and of course sports tournaments. The parking lot will easily accommodate vehicles pulling snowmobile trailers. In the summer, two volley ball games can be played simultaneously on the large lawn (bring your own net and ball). The lawn is also big enough to let small children run off steam, far away from a busy highway.

If you plan to stay North of Stratford/Kitchener Ontario, and are partaking in any of the previously mentioned activities, you may want to consider the King Hotel & Restaurant, 112 King Street, Palmerston, Ontario. You can make reservations at www.kinghotel.ca, phone (519) 343-3906 or Fax: (519) 343-3838.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DonWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Ours was a large group that occupied over 90% of the King Hotel for over 5 weeks. From beginning to end the owner, Joe and his staff were attentive to our needs. Available 24-7, he's the human embodiment of the Energizer Bunny. Our group stayed overnight on Thanksgiving of all nights and we were all whining about giving up dinner with friends and family, until we had Joe's delectable buffet! Throughout our stay the food at the King was something we all looked forward to. The rooms are small but comfortable and well-maintained. The next time I need to stay overnight within a 45-minute radius of Palmerston, I'll definately check into the King Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FilMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmerston
23.3 mi away
Travellers Inn Hanover
Travellers Inn Hanover
#1 of 1 in Hanover
38 reviews
24.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Fergus Hotel
24.0 mi away
The Village Inn Elora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Wingham Lindon Motel
Wingham Lindon Motel
#1 of 1 in Wingham
28 reviews
23.7 mi away
Grey Rose Suites
Grey Rose Suites
#1 of 4 in Hanover
45 reviews
23.8 mi away
Mom's Bed & Breakfast
Mom's Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 4 in Hanover
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Hotel

Address: 112 King Street | Palmerston, Palmerston, Minto, Ontario N0G 2P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Minto > Palmerston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palmerston
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
King Hotel Palmerston, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing