We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful service!!”
Review of Birchville Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nipigon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchville Motel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Nipigon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful service!!”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is average, nothing like a best western but reminds me of sopping in at your long lost relatives! Took us right in and you can't beat the service! Gave us a deal because we paid cash! And found us a bottle opener from his own house! Such wonderful service defiantly a 10/10 for service! Bed is warm heat is on water and shower is perfect! Would stay here again!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Amers2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    23
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
22
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Excellent room, lovely people and very pet friendly . . . no 'special pet room'. The kitchenette is quite nice after a day of travelling. Right on the highway so it is easy to get to. The beds are comfortable and the pillows are pretty good (usually a minus in most motels/hotels).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We can confirm the experiences reported by other reviewers. We ended up arriving later than we hoped but arrangements had been made for us to get into the room without any problem. We met the owner the next day. She was welcoming and gracious. The motel is set back from the Trans Canada Highway; we did not find that traffic noise kept us awake. We would be happy to stay in this motel again when we next drive east or west through northern Ontario.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinnipegNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a typical small-town mom-and-pop type motel that is really elevated by the quality of the bedding, the nice TV's, and the helpfulness of the owner.

The booking process was great as the owner was very prompt in responding to several e-mailed inquiries. On the phone, she was pleasant and efficient.

We stayed in Room #2 which is the family room. For just a scant $9 more per night than a standard double room, we got a two room "suite" featuring three beds and two TV's. The beds were quite comfortable and had nice linens. The TV's were large flat-screens with a variety of satellite channels. The room also had mini-fridge and microwave.

The only minor complaints are that the bathroom is small and had precious little surfaces to place one's toiletries on. Also, the carpeting and some of the chairs in the room did have some stains, but this might be expected from an older property.

The owner, who lives on-site, was excellent. I came to Nipigon with an awful cold. I asked the owner if she knew of any stores still open in town at that time of night that might have some Nyquil to help me get some sleep. She indicated that no such store would still be open, but that she would take care of me. A minute later, she emerged with a bottle of Nyquil from her own personal medicine cabinet. She told me to use it as needed and just leave it in the room when we departed in the morning. I did so and got a great night's sleep. That's what I call going above and beyond!

If you are looking to stay in Nipigon, you will be faced with a variety of mom-and-pop choices. Out of these, you will not go wrong staying at the Birchville because you will be treated to a friendly, comfortable stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curling_Enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paola, Kansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Birchville Motel is a small, older motel... maybe built in the 50's or 60's. I has recently been updated and remodeled. The owner lives on site and is very nice. The rooms are spacious and very clean. From the outside it doesn't look like much, but inside it met our expectations. There aren't any hotel chains in Nipigon... small town, with only a few "motels." I would recommend the Birchville to anyone traveling through Nipigon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Don't let the appearance fool you, great friendly owner, clean comfortable rooms. This is a throwback to a different era. We stopped in here after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. Owner was behind the desk and she went out of her way to ensure that everything we needed was available. Rooms were spotless, beds were new and comfortable. If you are travelling through Northern Ontario the Birchville is certainly a great option. Thanks for the great service!

Room Tip: Room 2 has a queen and two doubles. Kids have their own TV. Great for families!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here on our cross Canada trip.
The motel was spotless clean.
The owner was super friendly.
We had a double room so my daughter was able to have her own room.
If we are ever in Nipigon again we will definately stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nipigon
0.0 mi away
Northland Motel
Northland Motel
#4 of 8 in Nipigon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Crest Motel
Pine Crest Motel
#7 of 8 in Nipigon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
177.2 mi away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#6 of 13 in Wawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchville Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchville Motel

Property: Birchville Motel
Address: Hwy 17, Nipigon, Ontario P0T 2J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Nipigon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Nipigon
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Birchville Motel Nipigon, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing