We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just returned” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lumina Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Muskoka District
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lumina Resort
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Muskoka District
Huntsville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just returned”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We have just returned from a 5 day stay at Lumina Resort. This holiday destination is well known to us, a great spot for families. Lake of Bays is the most beautiful lake in Muskoka, Ontario. The meals are very good, the price is very reasonable, staff are friendly and helpful. These are consistent quality features that we find year after year. Our children gave us our recent time away as a 40th Wedding Anniversary gift- our family has many fond memories of time together at Lumina -so they joined us for meals in the evenings and swims, walks during the day. The owners continue to invest in the property with upgrades, maintainance, and renewal of the cottages and surroundings. It is always a great pleasure to return. Look into booking at Lumina- I hope you find it the relaxed getaway we do. A K& PK

Room Tip: There is a wide selection of location of cottages to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna-Lise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    13
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dwight, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Food was average! Cold beef, cold this, cold that! Accommodations were "rustic" to be generous. Maid service? What maid service? Doors don't lock. No security. Bunch of drunks running around late at night making noise. No security. Games room is a joke. Everything is broken. Kids running around without supervision. We couldn't wait to get out! Beach is 20 yards or sand. Canoes are the old wood kind and very tippy. Thanks for that!
Will never go again. Shower water smells like a marsh...no kidding.
Camp staff had a great time at night. We could hear them all night partying.
Never again. Dreadful experience. But beautiful scenery...that's about all I can say positively.
Avoid this place! Oh, and no air conditioning.

Room Tip: Avoid it all together!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Myself, my girlfriend, my friend and his wife were lucky enoug to be invited to our Canadian friends' wedding on June 9th 2012. We flew into toronto from gatwick. After a week or so touring around we landed at Lumina Resort. Immediately you can see the beautiful lake of bays and the well kept grounds and the well maintained cabins. Lucy is the proprietor and she couldn't have been more helpful, thoughtful or pleasant. They arranged a welcome BBQ for the guests, excellently cooked by Sean the chef, the a bonfire on the beach and then an excellent wedding day dinner. We had so much fun at lumina, kayaking, swimming, paddling; we will return. I would highly recommend lumina resort as a stop off for any foreign tourers.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveLeethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here during Thanks Giving weekend in Oct. 2011. Beautifull location. Very friendly staff. Cottages were cozy. Food was not gourmet but sumptuous. Since the place is called Resort Lumina, I expected all the cottages to have atleast a coffee maker and cups in the kitchen. All it had was a fridge. Not even a hair dryer. Breakfast and dinner were included. No lunch was available in the restaurant to purchase. Hardly any food available in the area.

Room Tip: It will be helpful to check if the kitchens have any aplliances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RMOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I stayed here for the last week of August with my husband and three children aged 9, 6 and 3 years. I originally chose Lumina as it was in a quiet location only 3 hours from Toronto and seemed to offer a lot of kids activities as well as a half board package. I can honestly say it was one of the best family holidays we've ever had!

The cabins are located on the beautiful Lake of Bays and we stayed in one close to the waters edge. They are fairly basic with no TV and only a sink/small fridge but the beds were comfortable and it had a great shower. Rather than staring at a TV my kids were up and out early on the lakeshore fishing and playing in the surprisingly warm water. There are canoes, kayaks, sailboats and pedalboats which can all be hired out by the hour and a slide and trampoline in the lake which my kids loved. The water was beautifully clear and lovely to swim in as it was so warm.

There were organised activities all week headed up by a fantastic team who really seemed to be enjoying themselves too! My kids went to the Petticoat Junction club in the morning/afternoons for two hours and they loved the two staff members who ran this. One of the highlights was Capture the Flag in the evening when the kids divided into teams and had to hunt each others flag whilst avoiding getting caught. There were also adult organised activities such as Tennis, Croquet, Pingpong etc and evening entertainment from a live band and campfire singing. At the end of the week they presented each child with a personalised certificate which made them feel very special and some people won the Lumina mugs for outstanding achievement! (My son won for catching the most fish in a week - 65!).

The food was varied and plentiful and we enjoyed eating steak, salmon and the gorgeous puddings. What made it really special for us though as the only family staying from the UK was the extremely warm welcome we got from the Canadians at Lumina, including the lovely family who own and run the resort. Many families return year on year and have made firm friendships with each other. By the end of the week it really felt like you were part of a large family group and we were very sad to leave. We don't normally go to the same place on holiday twice but we have already booked again for the next year and look forward to meeting up with all our new friends then.

If you like good old fashioned fun (think Swallows and Amazons, Enid Blyton) and want to enjoy the company of the friendly canadians, then Lumina will not disappoint. I couldn't recommend it highly enough!!!!

Room Tip: 3 bedroom cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank louise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

I have been going to Lumina resort my entire life. Even though my teenage years, where it seemed nothing could entertain my adolescent attitude, I looked forward to vacationing on the lake of bays every summer.
As a child, I recall Petticoat. For a few hours every day my parents got a break to do as they pleased, as my sisters and I made crafts, learned songs, played games, and heard stories. It was also a great way to make friends with other children visiting the resort. Lumina always has great Petticoat leaders. The children just adore them; always sitting on their laps, waving at them in the dining room, or dragging along their ankles when the week is over and it’s time for goodbyes!
Returning as a teenager never seemed like a lame family holiday. With all the returning friends I had made in years previous, the activities and fun seemed endless. Tubing became a sport to us. Lounging in the sun never seemed so relaxing – with the waves licking the shores and the breeze coming off the bay. I learned how to wakeboard at Lumina; the staff spent countless YEARS helping me stand up on the wake, and never grew tired of my mistakes. Movies in the TV room, playing cards on the deck, eating junk food in the beautifully preserved cabins. All great memories. Every night we would sneak to Frosties – the on-resort convenience store – and get a little something sweet to enjoy.
As a young adult, I can’t say I’ve ever had such a great time. The lake of bays club always promises something fun. Wine and Cheese night starts everyone off at the beginning of the week to meet new guests and reconcile with old friends. Poker, pool, and darts allow for good fun with fellow vacation-goers. Live entertainment is my family’s personal favourite. Tobin – the artist that has been recruited for the past few years – is amazing, and keeps the audience dancing, drinking, and having fun. Karaoke night is the night to let loose and show all your new and old friends your talent. Of course, the beach, water activities, sports, tournaments, and excursions are just as much fun in adulthood as they were in childhood.
The chef, Shawn, makes some of the best dishes I’ve ever tasted. Whether it’s a classic Caesar salad, or a new recipe, Shawn always promises taste and quality. One of the best benefits to Lumina is the food is included in the price. For your vacation period, you do not have to cook once (this is a great thing for mothers!).
The staff are some of the most sociable, and helpful individuals. Tec and Vicky (the owners) can always be found if something needs to be done, or assisted with. The owner’s two sons are great kids! Both have been raised at the resort and know how the job is done. The youngest joined a tournament just so I would have someone to play crocket against (no one else signed up). The eldest may be in competition with his dad for the handiest man. He also made me a bracelet near the end of my stay! Both sons are very polite and well raised. The waitresses, maintenance, kitchen staff, housekeepers, and the rest of the staff (no matter what their job) will never hesitate to drop what they`re doing to assist you. And they remember your name, even after a year has passed! They make the vacation seem so personal. Even with staff members, I have made lifetime friends and memories!
Lumina is my favourite place to vacation. I have been to the Caribbean, the southern US, and many places throughout Canada, and have yet to find a place as PERSONAL, inviting, relaxing, fun, and easy place to visit. There has never been a dull moment throughout my years there, and will bring my own children one day! The friend I’ve made, and the friends I will continue to make, will be forever.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I experienced Lumina in the 1980's and always said we would return when we had our children.... we did and have been returning year after year for 16 years! Our three daughters have enjoyed all the activities Lumina offers for years, starting with the childrens program - morning and afternoon. I remember the days when they returned from Petticoat and were singing songs that they had learned that day. This program allows mom and dad to do their own thing - like make new freinds, join the tournaments and just relax. We have made great freinds at Lumina from all over Canada and even Ireland. We return to Lumina every year because of the food, freinds and the relaxed atmosphere.
Our cabin has been Peter Pan for 16 years and we love it's location to the beach. It is older but comfortable, the kids have a very large bedroom. (good for our 3 girls)
Some cottages are rustic but that is part of the charm of Lumina, many cabins have been renovated and upgraded over the years. If you don't like rustic just ask for one of those.
NOTE - if you need anything just ask someone at the resort and they will get it for you!!!
The staff is FANTASTIC - the waitresses are very good at their job, housekeeping is good also. The chef, Shawn, is always creating delicious dinners and if you have an idea he is more than happy to give it a try. Cory, the activities director was endlessly running activities for the kids, teens and adults. The office staff and maintenace/boathouse staff are always willing to help.
The night-life at Lumina is great also. Every night there is something going on at the Lake of Bays Club - poker, darts, pool, board games and live entertainment. Movie night if you want some quiet relaxing. I love the fact that the cabins don't have TVs.
My husband and I love the fact that Lumina is a "family run" business. Tec and Vicki are the greatest and the two young boys are always around to give you a hand or a laugh or two. Hopefully they stay around to run the business when they are old enough.
The beach is great - shallow water and lots to do - waterslide, trampoline and climbing mountain if you dare to try it. My girls have enjoyed tubing, water skiing and this year wakeboarding. The staff had to teach them and they were very patient. What a blast!
Our kids, 21, 19 and 13 can't wait to return next year. To me that says something about Lumina..... it is great for all ages. My girls have grown up at Lumina and still want to vacation with us.
We will continue to go to Lumina as long as we can!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DiDal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muskoka District hotels
12.5 mi away
Trillium Resort and Spa
Trillium Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dwight Village Motel
Dwight Village Motel
#2 of 4 in Dwight
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.1 mi away
Port Cunnington Lodge & Resort
Port Cunnington Lodge & Resort
#1 of 4 in Lake of Bays
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Lake of Bays Lodge
3.2 mi away
Spring Lake Resort Motel and Restaurant
6.9 mi away
Hidden Valley Resort
Hidden Valley Resort
#4 of 18 in Huntsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lumina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lumina Resort

Property: Lumina Resort
Address: 1348 Fox Point Rd. | Dwight, Ontario P0A 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Muskoka District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lumina Family Resort has been providing wonderful Muskoka vacations since 1921. Join us for our 90th season! Owned and operated by the Hungerford family for 4 generations. The largest cottage resort on Lake of Bays with over a mile of beautiful shoreline and 350 feet of safe sandy beach. Lumina is kid-friendly and caters to all ages with a dynamic choice of activities.Our traditional, child friendly family vacations include full maid service, chef-prepared meals and a fully supervised children's program. Families return year after year to enjoy the beautiful waterfront, the outstanding food, great companionship and the friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Come and join us in Muskoka and start your own family tradition. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lumina Hotel Muskoka
Lumina Resort Muskoka District, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing