We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Muskoka District
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great family weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

This place was great and not as expensive as I thought per night.
Since it is a “Delta” kids 6 and under eat free with an adult and 12 (I think) and under ½ price adult menu. The suite has a kitchenette and small fridge, microwave and kitchen items like plates and bowls. We made our own afternoon snacks and lunches and hit the buffet in morning and dining room for dinner, we didn’t go to the golf side. We brought a few of our own refreshments for the weekend and enjoyed on our balcony with a great water view. I do think drinks would be a tad pricy if you didn’t bring your own and depended on the hotel for all drinks.
The “suite” was large and roomy. 2 double beds and 1 queen bed ..huge bathtub..loved that ;0)
Most of all though not fancy décor (which we were not expecting anyhow) it was very, very clean and comfortable. Staff where the greatest helping our kids with the fishing and canoe’s and kayaks. Didn’t use the tennis courts and that side of the sports complex but it looked nice.
Same as I have seen in other reviews there is only 1 air unit for the entire suite..but I don’t get why other guests didn’t use the huge square fan in the unit to generate air into the entire place. We were more then comfortable. Again the same as I have seen in other reviews this resort is not right in or near a town but what a great afternoon outing to go to those little country towns like Port Carling, Parry Sound and Rosseau, only 15 to 20 minutes from a few of these towns.
This is like a family run resort but with all the big name hotel stuff that goes with it..we loved it and will be back, and, if I could only get some of my garden to look like the resorts. Wow.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gumper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    62
    51
    23
    18
See reviews for
92
55
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
559 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 571 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

"Hidden" is probably the word that describes best this resort managed by Delta Hotels. The Delta Rocky Crest is one of three resorts managed by Delta in the Muskoka area and truly is "in the middle of nowhere" when compared to the Delta Shewood Inn (catering to couples, close to Port Carling) and the Delta Grandview (family oriented, several activities, close to Huntsville). Rocky Crest, located in the Hamer Bay section of Lake Joseph is at least 20km from "civilization" - which is nice is you are looking to relax in a gorgeous setting but not as convenient if you want to "go out" for dining and activities. The closest "city" would be Parry Sound and you can also get to Port Carling in about 20-25 minutes.

This is a relatively "self-contained" resort and is only open for the summer season. The hotel has direct access to Lake Joseph and the associated Health Club provides access to a second lake. One can rent (complimentary) a paddleboat, canoe, kayak for either of those lakes. There is a golf course nearby (rated in the Top 15 in Canada). The hotel also features two outdoor pools. Bike rentals (complimentary) are also available and there is a small "walking/hiking" trail starting from the Health Club ending at the Golf Club (approx. 45 minutes if one decides to take the little detour to go to the lookout). The hotel offers a wide-range of activities throughout the day but most of these are on-site as there is not much around. One can also go on a small cruise around the lake (fee apply). If one wants to enjoy the lakes on their own, boat rentals are available from the marina next to the hotel).

The room assigned was of great value, clean and relatively well maintained (the bathroom may need a little upgrade in terms of decor). Most rooms feature a fireplace (logs available from the front desk, first one is complimentary). Jacuzzi and lake view in some rooms. These "suites" also have a small kitchen area with a table for 4, a microwave, dishwasher, dishware, toaster and a kettle. No stove or oven. The beds are extremely comfortable. The one significant drawback of the room assigned was soundproofing (or lack thereof). You could hear people walking on upper floors, and weater going through the pipes when people in other units were taking their showers... Other than that, great room.

3 main dining options on-site: a casual bar/restaurant (with outside patio), a semi-casual "fine dining" restaurant and the dressier golf club restaurant. We tried both the casual and semi-casual option and food was excellent at both place so dining on-site is highly recommended (but can be pricey). A meal plan is available from the hotel for $60pp/day (breakfast and dinner). One thing to be aware for breakfast: If restaurant is semi-crowded, staff seem to have difficulty to keep pace at making sure that nothing is missing - for example panckakes and waffles would disappear in seconds and would take several minutes for a new batch to show up.

The one thing that was highly consistent: Very friendly and helpful staff, which is becoming the trademark of Delta (if they could upgrade some of their older locations, this could arguably become the top hotel chain in Canada).

Another interesting fact: They do take allergies very seriously at this resort - if you or someone in your party suffer from a allergies (food of other) they will notify all staff that need to be aware / prepare your room accordingly.

I would highly recommend this resort for a "short stay" (2-3 nights).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ottwatrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

I booked a single bedroom suite as I needed only overnight accomodations on my way to an out of town wedding. At the time I booked I didn't mind paying a premium price if it meant decent accomodations that the Delta name is known for. I was certainly dissapointed. The suite itself was a decent size but looked worn. The doors did not close properly, the light fixture above the bathroom sink was missing one of it's shades and the walls were obviously paper thin as you could hear everything your neighbours said or did. That is the big problem. I ended up with a virtually sleepless night due to the loud conversations and noise from the neighbouring unit(s) at all hours of the night.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RecessTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Muskoka District hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

Firstly - if you are going there by GPS - do not use the postal code on their web site - it takes you to a residential location 15 min away. After driving for 11 hours, with two cranky kids in the back - you get to the wrong location. Then I phoned them, and they say this happens a lot. why not tell people on the web site that this does not work, and give the correct postal code, or an address that works (my GPS was fully loaded with the latest addresses and POI's). So after getting upset when they put me on hold - I finnally got there, they appologized and sent milk and cookies to the room.

1. Rooms - we got a two bedroom loft suite - it was very nice, very big, nice beds. One issue that is common in the reviews - is there was only one AC unit feeding the living areas, the bedrooms were super warm - no ac units. Also, my inlaws had a similar room, and they had a dishwasher, and we did not - they should have dishwashers in all rooms. Overall - the rooms are not worth the expensive rates.
2. Location - lake Joe is fantastic, pool was great, good facilities.
3. Service - the service was fantastic - people were friendly and attentive.
4. Food - the breakfast buffet was expensive for what we got.
5. MISC - internet speeds were slowwww.

Overall - I have stayed in nicer spots for less - the service is great and if you want a good cottage get away it is ok - there is better out there. 2.5 out of 5.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennisGuy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2008

We went for a wedding and stayed over for an additional 3 day holiday with the kids.

The food was very good. The service in the restaurants was also good. The staff had a great attitude and were eager to please. We put the kids in Kids Camp one half day and they had a great time while my husband played golf and I went to the spa. We all enjoyed the morning doing our own thing.

The beds were extremely comfortable. As good as I have slept in.

The grounds are a little rustic, but we were there for the lake, the activities and the food. We were not disappointed.

We will be back.

  • Liked — Great summer destination
  • Disliked — The hills and the stairs
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaptorsFan1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

Just really a sloppy attempt at being a resort, lots of okay bits but no clear plan as to it's layout (many rooms offer no view but the parking lot or other buildings) and no cohesive thought in it's overall presentation.

The Chef seemed to think that the addition of goat cheese and or berries is a prerequisite to an entre...even added it to beef! And with three restaurants available (including the golf coarse) there was a surprising lack of variety in menus (the kids was actually identical at all 3 venues). When we pointed this out in a comment card included in our bill one afternoon, the chef came out of the kitchen and agressively confronted us, as we were sitting finishing a meal, about our opinion. While he was somewhat polite, it was VERY uncomfortable. He wanted to argue the diversity of the menu, we were on vacation for goodness sake and just agreed with him until he went away. So...whatever you do avoid the comment cards!

My biggest advice is to check ALL of your bills in the restaurant...of the 10 we had while at the resort 6 had additional charges on them that should not have been there. Since the tipping is included (so there is no incentive for good service) our only thought is that it seemed to be an advantage to the servers to ring up more, therefore increasing their non-negotiable gratuity. When we pointed out the errors it was quickly fixed...but we HAD to point it out every time.

The rooms have no central air (only one in our 2 bedroom suite had a window box unit) so you must sleep with the windows open. Since all of the buildings are crammed together it is very loud at night. The parking lot is adjacent to some rooms making the noise almost unbearable at night...the room was also dirty and smelled. When we switched rooms to get away from the noise our new room was much cleaner and quieter...but still only offered a view of the roof of the next building?

My hubby says the golf coarse is amazing, and the staff there fantastic. We also loved the little lake Armishaw for fishing and canoeing. We were not that impressed with the kids program, one afternoon was an hour and a half walk in the bug infested woods and then a swim in the cute little salt water pool and some time on the playground equipment. Definately not worth the $30.00 for a half day, but the staff was nice.

Some other advice:
-Bring your own beer as two Coronas cost $19.00...quite the mark up.
-The marshmallow roast is located on the side of the parking lot, nothing scenic about it.
-Bring your own life jackets, most there had mould and finding sizes for the kids was at times very difficult.
-Some dogs are left off leash, my boys love dogs but it really terrified other kids. The dogs also woke us up every morning at 6 am as the owners took them for an early morning Bark/walk.
-There is NO beach area, just a dirty sand pit thing next to the lake, maybe 20 by 8 feet. (This should never have been advertised as a sandy beach)
-The water gets deep very quickly so watch any non swimming kids very carefully, there is no lifegaurd on duty. The staff stick inside there little shed.
-And the spa was very over priced for the services received...
I guess my best advice is to try someplace else...we would never go back to that location and are certain to be leary of Deltas in the near future.

  • Liked — Golf, Lake Armishaw
  • Disliked — Food, Room, No beach, layout of resort.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2008

A great three-night stay - it is worth paying more for a view, otherwise you miss out on the glory of waking up to a sunny lake view in the beautiful Muskoka region. Ask for a chalet near the restaurant complex if you are slow walkers or have kids, otherwise you will be worn out before each meal coping with the steep paths (and leave your high heels behind). And ask for help with your luggage for check-in and check-out as not everyone can cope with heavy bags on those steep and uneven rocky paths. Help is willingly given, but you have to ask and be patient at busy times.

Food was excellent and we mostly enjoyed drinks and meals on the terrace rather than indoors - and we had the ideal weather to do it in. If you want to self-cater there are most facilities you need in each chalet/apartment.

Best of all, the Kids Club was a huge hit with the family - an excellent mix of swimming, adventure hikes, craft activities, treasure hunts, evening marshmallows over the campfire and lots of fun. The absolute highpoint - and there were many - was the saltwater pool which is perfect if you have anyone with eczema who cannot use the normal pools or even the freshwater lake - and the saltwater helps the non-swimmers amongst you too, as it aids buoyancy. Overall a top experience for all the family and a memorable end to our holiday.

For myself the spa was a godsend and cannot be highly recommended enough. Although none of us plays golf it was obvious that this is what most visitors come for, which leaves the resort's other facilities to the golf widows and families during the day - hurray!

Overall it was the best resort I have ever stayed in and we plan a return trip. The saltwater pool alone is worth the cost of the transatlantic flight - no kidding!

  • Liked — Stunning views, saltwater pool, kids club and fantastic spa
  • Disliked — The rocky paths and lots of steps, but that's inevitable on the lakeside.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toloco98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muskoka District hotels
6.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
24.2 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
18.6 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Rawley Resort
Rawley Resort
#3 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
17.7 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
14.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 10 in Bracebridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Crest Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Crest Golf Resort

Property: Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Address: 20 Barnwood Rd, Ontario P0C 1H0, Canada (Formerly Delta Rocky Crest Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muskoka District
#5 Spa Hotel in Muskoka District
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Muskoka District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky Crest Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled into the outcroppings of the Canadian shield on the shores of sparkling Lake Joseph, Rocky Crest Golf resort is a true Muskoka getaway. A favourite vacation destination for many years, our resort offers comfortable and spacious suites with all the amenities, incredible restaurants, beautiful meeting spaces, access to the fabulous Rocky Crest Golf Club and a whole host of outdoor activities.Whether you are planning a family trip, a golf adventure, a business presentation or just a weekend away with friends, we invite you to come and experience all that we have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rocky Crest Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Rocky Crest Hotel Muskoka
Delta Rocky Crest Muskoka
Delta Muskoka
Delta Rocky Crest Resort
Muskoka Delta
Rocky Crest Golf Resort Muskoka District, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing