We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestead House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Homestead House
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount Hope B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

One couldn't expect a better welcome than that extended by Verena and Bernie Tschan at the Homestead House bed and breakfast. It is a very well appointed establishment with excellent food, and nothing hinders the hosts' efforts to ensure that their guests have everything they need. Located in a peaceful rural area, there is easy access to all the main routes. I would strongly recommend this accommodation to anybody.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lancaster16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
14
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Graubünden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

Beno and Verena are wonderful hosts, they made us feel as comfortable as you would in your own home. The rooms are quite, very clean and tasteful. The Homestead House is a unique and inviting place that is ideal for any kind of vacation. We recommend the B&B to anyone who wants to spend a wonderful time and benefit from an outstanding service provided by the excellent hosts.

Thank you for the great time

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2009

This is a fantastic B&B. Our room was cozy and clean, beautifully decorated. The owners made us feel right at home. We loved our stay and breakfast was absolutely delicious. Could not have asked for anything better. I would recommend anyone to go there. I will definately be back. Thank you so much for your great hospitality:)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTraveller_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brantford,ontario
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

I was first really impressed at the proximity to Hamilton Airport. I was picked up by Mr Tschan and taken back to the inviting and well maintained Homestead House. I was greeted and taken to my room, which has to be said is one of the best B&B rooms I have ever been in. The room and ensuite were immaculately clean and the bed comfy and very fresh, as were the towels and bedding. The house itself is very welcoming and on waking in the morning I was greeted by the smell of freshly brewed coffee. The breakfasts were second to none with such an amasing choice. Muffins, cereal, bagels, cheese and cold meats as well as preserves. That was just for starters - the cooked breakfasts were delightful with a diffreent hot dish served every morning. I was made to feel completely at home by Mr Tschan and his wonderful wife Verena. They made my stay a really good experience. I would have no hesitation in recommending them to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaycekai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2008

This B&B was a perfect place to stay! We were flying out of Hamilton Airport, so it was very convenient since the airport is close by. I was driven there by Bernie, so I didn't have to worry about a cab. The food was amazing! I loved having breakfast on the sundeck, and the dinner we had was a great home-cooked meal. The rooms were very clean and well-kept. Verena and Bernie were such great hosts, and they made me feel at home. I will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone who will be using the airport, or is visiting the area. All-in-all it was an amazing place to stay!

  • Liked — It's convenience and hospitality.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ash_Otti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2008

I stayed here recently with my boyfriend and had a wonderful time!
The hosts are warm, and funny, and make you feel at home! I dont think i could have felt more comfortable!
The food was superb, very delicious home cooked meals! mmm!
The hot tub is amazing after a day of hiking!!
Verena and Bernie made our trip very memorable and we cant wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank evie-bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

The hosts were most accomodateing ,great breakfast. Felt like home.
Jack.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank jackvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Hope
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#3 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Hamilton
#7 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Visitors Inn
#6 of 20 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead House

Property: Homestead House
Address: 3272 Homestead Drive, Mount Hope, Hamilton, Ontario L0R 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Mount Hope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Hope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Homestead House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay at our late 19th Century Home. We offer 3 tastefully decorated rooms, each with private bathroom, air-conditioning, TV, phone, wireless internet and bar fridge. Complimentary full breakfast served daily - dinners are extra and can be arranged at the time of booking. We also offer 1&2 bedroom luxury loft apartments, short & long-term. Free parking & free use of laundry facilities on the premises. Complimentary pick-up and drop-off from Hamilton Intl. Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Homestead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead House Mount Hope, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing