We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homestead House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount Hope B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 12, 2011

During May we stayed at Homestead House for several days.
Bernie and Verena made it as warm and welcoming as if you were visiting your closest family. We stayed across several rooms during our stay and all rooms were very comfortable and gave nice views of a quiet setting. Breakfasts were a feast, especially the pancakes. For our next visit to Ontario we know exactly where we will be staying!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 52 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2010

Was flighting into Hamilton after midnight and Bernie was there to pick me up. Next morning Verena had a great breakfast laid out. Cerel, Bagals, Cheese, Fresh Fruit, coffee, muffins. She even offered to make eggs if I liked. They drove me to a restaurant and car rental. The room was small but very cozy with phone, wireless internet, clock radio, shower. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

So happy I found this beautiful bed&breakfast. Very nice change from dreary hotel rooms. Nice feeling of home. Breakfasts were wonderful with much to choose from. Delicious home-cooked breakfast you definitely won't go away hungry. Hosts are very hospitable and go above and beyond to make sure your needs are met, ie rides to and from the airport among other places. Very quiet and peacful place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katemandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We first chose Homestead House because of it's convenient proximity to the airport but soon became enamoured with the lovely home and superb hosts. We were assisted with a midnight pick-up from the airport and ride to the car rental agency from our host Bernie and he was able to provide us with very helpful directions and advice. Verena keeps an extremely neat and tidy premises and provides a cheerful and clean breakfast room with made-to-order hot breakfast with plenty of cold options. The quiet bedroom included air conditioning, bathroom with shower, television and free internet . Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aubry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Bernie and Verena (your hosts) are unbelievably accommodating, warm and friendly! The B and B is a stone's throw away from the very easy Hamilton International Airport, but Bernie makes it even easier by driving to and from, and even making sure you've had breakfast even before the earliest of flights. Verena is an amazing cook, and their breakfast will be by-far the best you have ever had. Not only are the rooms cozy, comfortable, beautifully decorated (all with their own bathrooms and showers), and the breakfast and location fantastic, but Bernie and Verena are hilarious and very fun people. I was staying alone, and they made sure I had fabulous conversation and wine the whole weekend long!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

The breakfast was wonderful with many choices. Our hosts made us a lunch to take away for us. They picked us up and delivered us to and from the Bruce Trail and to dinner the evening we stayed with them. They also accommodated our request for an early start and also provided laundry facilities for us to use.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandMVictoria_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

One couldn't expect a better welcome than that extended by Verena and Bernie Tschan at the Homestead House bed and breakfast. It is a very well appointed establishment with excellent food, and nothing hinders the hosts' efforts to ensure that their guests have everything they need. Located in a peaceful rural area, there is easy access to all the main routes. I would strongly recommend this accommodation to anybody.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancaster16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Hope
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3272 Homestead Drive, Mount Hope, Hamilton, Ontario L0R 1W0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton > Mount Hope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Hope
Price Range: $112 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Homestead House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to stay at our late 19th Century Home. We offer 3 tastefully decorated rooms, each with private bathroom, air-conditioning, TV, phone, wireless internet and bar fridge. Complimentary full breakfast served daily - dinners are extra and can be arranged at the time of booking. We also offer 1&2 bedroom luxury loft apartments, short & long-term. Free parking & free use of laundry facilities on the premises. Complimentary pick-up and drop-off from Hamilton Intl. Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Homestead House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead House Bed & Breakfast Mount Hope, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing