We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit expensive but okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morrisburg
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed here after driving from Niagara Falls through the USA and back into Canada. It was late, we were hungry and tired and just wanted a bed for the night. It did the job but was a bit pricey for what it was.

The food in the bar was tasty but also a little over priced. We had chicken wings and pizza with beer.

The room was clean and functional but nothing special.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lizlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 133 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here two nights for a wedding and found it to be comfortable and convenient. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, and parking was handy. The decor is a bit gloomy and somewhat oppressive with dark Victorian pastels about in rooms and lobby.
I would recommend the McIntosh Inn for a stopover--while visiting UC Village, e.g.--but not as a destination. Its accommodations are typical AAA motel-style.
Some minor issues:
1. Our attempt to reserve via email from Asia was not handled well. First, the Inn had no record of the wedding party whose name we gave (had them down for 2012 not 2011), and then did not state their rate on our request.
2. There is a coffee-maker in the room, with coffee but no tea, as we discovered after heating the water. Seems a strange omission and not expensive for the establishment to provide.
3. The bathroom was provided with one small bottle of shampoo, but no conditioner. The front desk staff looked, but decided they supplied shampoo only. Because I had assured my wife beforehand that every hotel provides shampoo AND conditioner these days, we made an excursion in the morning to a drug store.
In all, I felt they skimped on some of these touches.

Room Tip: From other reviews, it seems as if the second floor is preferable (where we were).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjames5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I have been to the Mcintosh many times in the past year. I have read the last two travel opinions below mine and find them to be out of norm. I have never seen any bugs or creatures of any kind in this place. The Mcintosh is very clean and the food is exceptional. The Mcintosh also carrys a lot of history and if you look around the Mcintosh there is so much to read about Morrisburg and how it came to be. The Mcintosh which is in a very small town hosts a lot of things a normal hotel in a rural area would not. This is not a big city area and certainly even if it was would give many in a city a run for its money. It is located just off the Hwy and certainly is the best Inn in the area. The staff are exceptional and when asked are quick to find a resolution to any problem that may arise should you have one. The food is just amazing for a rural area Inn. All I can say for the couple in Toronto and New Jersey is that if your looking for a big city hotel with all the gadgets then your not going to get them in a rural area but rest assured that this INN provides more then anyone would want coming off the Hwy or going to see the Upper Canada Playhouse or village. Its a great Inn to stay at.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank None005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Decided to stay in this hotel after reading all the good reviews and 4 star ratings by trip-adviser. Big mistake. I am not kind of person who merely decide whether to stay in a hotel based on on reviews.

When I walked in the hotel from front entrance door, it looked nice. Then desk clerk checked me in and gave room keys saying you will use entrance #4 , that's when we found all the chewing gums on the hall way carpets. Saw stains & chewing gums waste literally everywhere on hallway carpets. Swimming pool was quite dirty with lots of tree leaves and some bugs.

Well, speaking of bugs, I found very big one's on the stairway and some even invisibly bite me and my daughter while we were inside our room.

I wonder how could this hotel qualify for as business center. I would rather compare this place as low class motel and won't give them more than one star preference.

But I liked their service though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anonymus19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The staff are surly and poorly trained. Based on their attitudes I have to assume the management is poor and guests get caught in the cross fire. Rooms are very worn and smell old and unused. For those with asthma the lungs feel heavy very quickly. As my brother said "pretend you're camping and at least it doesn't seem as bad'. I travel a lot for both busines and pleasure and this is the worst place I have ever stayed both staff and room wise. Avoid it if you can.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveandBrenda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Used this location as a stop on a drive from Toronto to Nova Scotia. It was simple to find, staff were friendly and informative, and there is a restaurant onsite.

Room was clean and comfortable, nothing fancy, but as needed for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scans64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed at the Macintosh Inn for a conference that was held in Morrisburg and our room was booked by our President sight unseeen. We were very comfortable and the desk staff was awesome and so helpful. The restaurant food was GREAT!! Our only complaint was the size of the bathrooms..can hardly change your mind in them but other than that a great stay.. I left some items and they were happy to return them to me with no hassles.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archer512002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morrisburg
22.2 mi away
Best Western Parkway Inn & Conference Centre
22.5 mi away
Ramada Cornwall
Ramada Cornwall
#2 of 12 in Cornwall
404 reviews
21.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 12 in Cornwall
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 7 in Massena
61 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Potsdam
Hampton Inn Potsdam
#1 of 5 in Potsdam
379 reviews
13.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 7 in Massena
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre

Address: 12495 Highway 2 East, Morrisburg, Ontario K0C 1X0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Morrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Morrisburg
Price Range: $146 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful 59 room country Inn, perfect for getaways, conferences, retreats, in a rural setting. Nestled in the heart of the St Lawrence Seaway Valley, near many wonderful attractions, including Upper Canada Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcintosh Country Inn & Conference Centre Hotel Morrisburg
Mcintosh Country Inn And Conference Centre
Morrisburg Country Inn
McIntosh Country Inn & Conference Centre Morrisburg, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing