We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very uniqe live museum”

Upper Canada Village
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Step back to the 1860s at Upper Canada Village. The living history village has original buildings and costumed interpreters. Watch demonstrations and visit the Family Activity Centre for interactive fun.
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
299 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very uniqe live museum”
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

It was a great experience for us and thdfirst time to see such authentic live 19th century village.
There were a lot of different kinds of a village workes in an old farm real old houses.
Some suggestions:
We thought we will it in the place, but in
The office they didn't told us that the restaurant are close at 15:00.
We were with a 4 years old child, there were no interactive activities knside the
Village accept to a boat and a carrige that we found ourselves without soneone telling us about it.
Another thing is that half an hour before closing some of the workers started closing in front of you their shop and it wasn't so inviting- probably it is better to visit at morning.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank odeko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    130
    32
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a day!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Move back in time into the 19th century living in Upper Canada. Learn about things as they were 150 years ago - simple farm living to fancy town living accommodations, grinding flour, baking bread and making cheese, cutting wood and making furniture, processing wool, weaving fabric and making clothing. Meet the animals, see farming practices and attend a Victorian school. Make sure to see the live entertainment at the Inn and take a tour in the horse pulled barge.
This place is a fantastic destination for everyone regardless their age.
If there is one thing I would like to see changed it would be extended hours at the Willard’s Hotel Restaurant – it was closing at 4:30 so we ran out of time and didn’t get a chance to enjoy a nice meal after the day at the village.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agnes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“More than a day's worth of activities”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've been going about once every two years since my daughter was old enough to enjoy it. This is a wonderful day trip from Ottawa or Montreal, filled with time travelling learning opportunities for all ages. The village "residents" are a wealth of knowledge on their era, and every time we go I learn something new, and always have a few very good chats with them. If you show yourself to be an informed or extra interested visitor, little surprises can happen too. The kids are invited to participate when then can. We always stop at the inn for lunch (vs the Harvest barn, which is nice enough) - we love Victorian era cuisine. Also run like the wind to ensure we have a little supply of the fantastic bread, milled and baked onsite. The animals are well kept, and very friendly.
Only one downer on our last visit: the exceptionally confusing and quite unexpected $2 parking lot exit fee. We were all driving around like fools in circles because no one could understand what was going on with the gates at the exit. Not cool guys, you need to preannounce paid parking.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LDarroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great to give an idea of what life was like in 19 centruy Canda..”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

You need a whole day to explore this - and even so we did not quite see everything. In each house, church, mill, forge, shop, there are costumed folk working and chatting and, once you get past this 'façade', it all becomes really enjoyable and fascinating. We were three adults but all the visitng children seemed to have a ball, especially chasing the baby pigs around and watching (and helping ) the cows being miked! Great cafes - not too expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Bit of a Letdown”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Went with my two adult daughters and Australian son-in-law. Our family hasn't visited since our kids were little and they remember it as a really magical place. The village is well maintained and the exhibits are still interesting. A beautiful walk through some very interesting places. Unfortunately the staff, while in costume, all looked very glum and made no effort to interact with visitors. Our expectation was that they would be "in character" but that wasn't the case. While in costume they wandered about avoiding visitors and if approached had little if anything to say. It was late afternoon on a cloudy extremely muggy day at the end of August so perhaps they have just run out of steam. So much potential for a fabulous display of Canadian history and it was just blah.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizzie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Canada Village also viewed

 

Been to Upper Canada Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing