We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Milton
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Milton
Kitchener
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for business at the beginning of June. Really overpriced for a holiday inn express. Breakfast room not big enough to accommodate guests when the hotel is near capacity. Customer service needs to improve. Waited 30minutes for towels one night, upon checking into the room the pull out had no bedding, we phoned down and they brought some up to us and left it on the bed didn't even make it. We usually stay at this hotel for the Ribfests that come to the area but might have to try the best western down the street.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank willhaase19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHLHotels, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Milton, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodation, once again thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,
Manzar Anwar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    25
    34
    30
    17
See reviews for
41
16
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed here for one night for leisure purposes and we really enjoyed it! I booked an employee room rate and checked in around 10:30pm. I find that I usually get "ok"'rooms since I do get a discounted rate. I was shocked at check in how accommodating and pleasant the front desk staff was, I got an upgraded room to a suite. The hotel was easy to find just off the 401 highway. Unfortunately I slept in and didn't get to try the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison_Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with my son for a basketball tournament and found the location to be perfect as it was less than 10 minutes away from where the games were. You can basically leave the hotel driveway, turning left, then left again at the lights and drive straight to the downtown area. Check in was easy and as we arrived earlier than normal I wasn't sure they would have a room ready. They did and that was great news.

The hotel has the typical Holiday Inn Express décor. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds, modern TV, and up to date bathroom. Heat and air conditioning is controlled by an on the wall panel. We were staying in Milton during very warm weather and I couldn't understand why my room was warm the next morning, despite having set the temperature to 21 degrees. I figured out that the AC unit needed to be reset, by unplugging and replugging the main power cord to the unit. After that, the AC worked perfectly. I would have called the front desk if it didn't work.

The pool area was nice. There is a good size pool and hot tub. I saw a business room but did not go into it.

Breakfast was served in the morning and featured coffee, tea, juices, pastries, fruit, scrambled eggs, sausage, mini omelets, and bacon. They don't have waffles, but instead have fresh pancakes that you make yourself. Personally, I prefer waffles at a hotel.
Check out was a cinch. The staff was friendly and helpful and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Front rooms look towards buildings across the street, back rooms look out towards the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quest4sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
746 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Used the conference room and staff services here for a government organization meeting. Conference room was roomy and clean for our all day meeting. This hotel provided coffee throughout the day plus had a hot plate type buffet for our lunch. It was nice & hot with a variety of food. Staff were friendly and effectively when we called up them for their services. Was made to feel welcomed here and good atmosphere for our staff attending to have a productive day. Would recommend this hotel to other organizations for such venues for them for their own business meetings!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0b55russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We booked a room for April 4 as we were coming into town for a hockey tournament. My son's team won their championship and as a result we had to withdraw from the tournament and play a hockey challenge in Barrie the same weekend. I called almost 2 weeks before the date to cancel the reservation and receive a refund. Unfortunately, the hotel manager declined to do so as I had a prepay rate. They referred me to guest relations who gave me a reference number and said I should receive a call from the hotel. Never did. Called guest relations again who called the general manager who refused as they are a franchise owner. Wish I had of read all of the reviews below. As you only need to book a room 8 days in advance to guarantee the pre paid rate, should be able to cancel with well over 8 days. By the way, this was the last room 2 weeks in advance of the tourney - tell me they couldn't have resold it? Guest relations said I should contact the hotel to arrange another stay - have no need to stay in Milton.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHLHotels, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Milton, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi Michelle C,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. When you booked the reservation you booked with the advance purchase rate, meaning you agree to the terms and conditions stating that your reservation is non-cancellable and non-refundable, and in return we will give you a discount on your stay. We always will honor the cheaper rate we give our guests when booking this rate, therefore we expect the same commitment out of our guests to honor the contract that is agreed to.
We appreciate your business, and thanks again for writing a review.

Mr. Manzar Anwar
General Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Milton, ON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Milton hotels

Iroquois Falls
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel in March of 2014. We were in room 237. Check in was painless as rooms had been reserved in advance. The clerk at the desk was very efficient and courteous. Directions to our rooms were given along with information about the amenities offered in the hotel.

Though we did not use them there is a hot tub and a pool in the building. Rooms were equipped with 2 very comfortable queen sized beds topped with nice linens and plush pillows. Flat screen television was equipped with a great cable package. The room was large enough and also had a small bistro style table, a wing back chair and an ample sized desk with leather rolling desk chair. Bathroom was well stocked with needed amenities; shampoo, conditioner, lotion etc. It had a very large counter and a modern feel. The shower was large (with a curved curtain bar), the only down side is the tub was not a 'soaker' style tub!

In the morning breakfast was provided which is rare these days! And not just a continental breakfast. There were eggs, sausage, ham, pancakes as well as fruit and pastries.

This hotel is close to downtown, minutes from the 401 and near restaurants also.

Overall this was a great experience staying at the Holiday Inn Express Milton. Would definitely recommend this hotel for travellers or business people alike.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chillin_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stay with this brand 90-100 nights per year and overall the experiences are good to excellent. However, this one is very subpar.

When I arrive to check in, the desk clerk appears somewhat confused when I tell him my name. After pausing and looking at his computer monitor, he then says he has a room with 2 double beds for me. But I have a confirmed reservation for a King Bed - ?

Now I have a confused look...why do I have to take a room with 2 double beds? He says that sometimes they get overbooked and for now that's what they have in the meantime.

I had a long week already and now after a long day and car ride to get there, I come to my senses and ask "since I am a platinum member, shouldn't I be entitled to a complimentary upgrade"? The response is a confused mutter. (At this point I am very ready to travel 20 minutes up the road to Vaughan - Holiday Inn Express and Suites. These guys have their ducks in a row all the time - never an issue). So after another 30 second pause he says he does have a King Suite available and sets me up with the room key and internet password. Room was acceptable - no Kleenex tissue and it had areas that needed a good dusting, but the bed was comfortable and sheets were fresh.

In the morning I reviewed the hotel bill. They were charging me full price for the King Suite instead of the free upgrade from the Standard King rate - this is totally unacceptable. I had to call to the front desk to argue about the situation to get it resolved. This is certainly NOT what IHG expects their customers to go through and as a business traveler, we don't need the aggravation.

PS - IHG hotels will typically have your reservation ready as you arrive. 2 minutes at the front desk is the max wait time once set up. Also, they will usually automatically upgrade you free of charge if you are an IHG Rewards Club member with platinum standing.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place -
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JayRay61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Milton Ontario
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Milton
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Mississauga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Halton Hills
Best Western Halton Hills
#1 of 1 in Georgetown
127 reviews
9.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Mississauga Meadowvale
12.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Toronto-Oakville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Milton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Milton

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Milton
Address: 2750 High Point Drive | Northeast Quadrant, Milton, Ontario L9T 5G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Milton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Milton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Milton Hotel is a newly built hotel featuring 92 spacious guest rooms with 20 suites, all equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee station. Splash in our indoor pool or whirlpool, free Smart Start breakfast included in all rates. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Milton, ON and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Milton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Milton Hotel Milton
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Milton
Holiday Inn Milton
Milton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Milton Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing