We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite relaxing gettaway spot”
Review of Massey Motel

Massey Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Massey Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Massey
Barrie
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My new favorite relaxing gettaway spot”
Reviewed May 30, 2009

My grilfriend and I recently decided to spur of the moment, just get away for a couple of days and take a drive up North for some much needed R&R. We had just about had enough of travelling in the car when we spotted the Massey motel. We were pleasantly surprised to see that we were treated just like family, the hotel owners were so accomadating and the rooms were of excellent quality and value. We feel like we've found a new spot to travel to whenever we need to relax and enjoy the wonderful atmosphere in Massey, ON. A great family-oriented motel which understands/caters to the travelor who just needs to gettaway from it all.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelbugBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    6
    2
    11
See reviews for
9
9
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

I was absolutely appalled by this motel. When I checked in the room was frigid, when I went to put my own comforter on the bed I discovered little crustacean bugs in the bed. Absolutely disgusting! When I brought it to the attention of staff, I was told it was because they had new cleaning staff??? When I demanded a refund, having only been in the room for 20 minutes, I was told I would be charged for the entire night.
I should have notified the local health authority, but didn't. The owner decided it was in his best interest to give me my refund, but his grand daughter was quite rude.
Never again!

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keeponrollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasseyMotel, Owner at Massey Motel, responded to this review, December 18, 2010
Sir,

I am saddened that you would decide to write a review at a property that you didn't in fact stay at. The owner does not have a granddaughter and we have owned the property for 6 1/2 years.

In regards to the bug comment, one of our regular customers is in fact a health inspector who inspects motels in the area. We have never had bugs in our beds and pride ourselves as being one of the cleanest motels across Hwy 17 West.

Before leaving comments on motels, please be sure to check that you have the correct business, instead of leaving hurtful and harmful comments such as the ones above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Massey hotels

Massey, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2008

Friendly Owners..
Clean, Internet.
Rate as 3 out of 5
Pay what you get
Would I use again----YES
Steve McLellan-Independant -Operator- Truck Driver

  • Liked — On Hwy 17
  • Disliked — Nothing bad to say
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AsphaltAnimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

Check your credit card statement carefully after staying at the Massey Motel. While biking through Ontario my friend and I stayed at the Massey Motel. Later, after receiving my credit card statement I found an unknown charge for $28.25. I called the motel and was informed the charge was for pizza stains on two wash clothes and an unknown yellow stain on a bath towel. (The yellow spot was from drying my bar of Dial bath soap prior to putting it in its travel case.) The motel management claimed the items were not salvageable.

I'm disputing these ridiculous charges with VISA, but never having had the need to do so I can't imagine the outcome.

P.S. I personally spend 50-100 nights per year in a hotel/motel and have NEVER had a charge like this.

  • Disliked — the management policies
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank NCRoadstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MasseyMotel, owner at Massey Motel, responded to this review, April 18, 2009
Sir,

The items were not salvagable. We tried very hard to remove the pizza stains from the towels and were unable to do so. Towels are not disposables.

We would have been happy to supply you with napkins or rags, should you have asked.
I am sure you wouldn't use your own bathroom towels to clean up food messes at home.

All hotels and motels charge if there are damages done to the unit or items in the room.

I hope that you are more curteous the next time you stay at a motel or hotel and respect the owners property.

Sincerely,

Massey Motel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 4, 2005

What a pleasant surprise it was to find this quaint motel on our way to Sudbury. The rooms are very modern and spotless clean which was just lovely. The owners of the Massey Motel were so helpful and made us feel so very welcome. Free continental breakfast in the morning as well. This is our #1 stop from now on as we make the trip twice a year. Highly recommend the place!

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massey
17.9 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
22 reviews
15.4 mi away
Pinewood Motor Inn
Pinewood Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Espanola
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
134 reviews
15.7 mi away
Alta Vista Motel
Alta Vista Motel
#1 of 1 in McKerrow
19 reviews
10.6 mi away
Waterfalls Lodge
Waterfalls Lodge
#1 of 5 in Spanish
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massey Motel

Property: Massey Motel
Address: 295 Sable St W | Hwy 17 West, Massey, Ontario P0P 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Massey
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Massey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Massey Motel offers comfortable, affordable accommodations in Massey, Ontario Canada. We take pride in our well furnished, clean rooms and excellent customer service. Massey Motel is conveniently located halfway between Sault St. Marie and Sudbury only a short distance from Espanola. Come experience what beautiful Northern Ontario has to offer! Fishing, snowmobiling, private beaches, swimming, golfing, picnicking, horseback riding, hiking, canoeing, kayaking and many more activities are only steps away from our motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Massey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massey Motel Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing