We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky, fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mohawk Motel Canada
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Massey
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Funky, fabulous”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Mohawk Motel has an artsy feel to it.....and fine sculptural art works decorate the front "lawn".
Super clean, smartly selected wall colours give a tranquil feel to the room. Great breakfast
and chats with the local woman sitting in for the owner. Found out she trades rides to school
for the local Mennonite children in return for winter wood. Liked the town. Even has an
ancient jewish cemetery for its pioneers. Good family restaurant across the street. Fine
dining at the Dragonfly. The whole experience was a delightful surprise.

Thanks Trip Advisor travellers for steering us to this little gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susangibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohawk-Motel-Canada, Owner at Mohawk Motel Canada, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you very much for the generous review.Every staff member here is committed to provide excellent service and clean rooms to our guest.Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
27
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Those were the days where there were decent "drive to the door" motels!
One must compare apples to apples and not apples to oranges!
As a motor motel it is just fine! If you are expecting a Travellodge stay in either Sudbury or the Sault.
The place is well kept and no lingering musty smells that so many of the ground level motels have...especially in the off season if the rooms are not used much.
I read reference to the block party walls. By the looks of the one thumbnail picture on this site, there maybe is a room with acoustic baffles in place. I hope the owners are attempting to sound proof the rooms in that manner. Unfortunately, we happened to have someone on the other side of our wall with a cold and you could hear every breath the person was taking!!
I am not sure how that happened as it was the off season with only a few rooms booked :(..
If you are planning to book the Mohawk...go right ahead, take heed from the other reviews and stop prior to Massey at a grocery store and make yourself a nice picnic. Back in the day, no one expected continental breakfast and travelled with their coolers of food.Also I would recommend asking if there IS a room available where the block wall is covered....'can't hurt to ask..and the lovely owners may get the hint that thats what people really need...but if your alarm clock is set for 6am and the other rooms goes off at 5am...you will be thanking me !! Enjoy the north...our stay was a matter of convienence as we are just 2 hours to home but had to partake of the services of the auto repair shop!! All and all always ask ahead of time for anything you are worried a place may not provide.......but it sure brings back the memories of the nice motels you could just drive to the door and ask for a room with out the big bother of booking(online) credit card in hand!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clem55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohawk-Motel-Canada, Owner at Mohawk Motel Canada, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Let me begin by thanking you for your review.I apologize if your stay was not as comfortable as you deserve.Your honest feed back is really appericiated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed in the new jacuzzi suite and enjoyed it thoroughly. Hospitality was excellent, room was fantastic, extremely clean, comfortable with all the amenities in one room.

We would recommend this to anyone looking for a getaway weekend or just passing through. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohawk-Motel-Canada, Owner at Mohawk Motel Canada, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you very much for the kind review.Its a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay.
Cleanliness and excellent service is my commitment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is a REALLY difficult review as SEVERAL factors come into play with this motel.
The Mohawk is an acceptable night based on its location 1.5 hours west of Sudbury. It seems to be consistent with the lodging choices along 17 into Sault Ste Marie. However, if scheduling in either of the two larger towns would be possible, it might be a better bang for the buck to stay there. Realize that it may be imperative to book a room along this route if you want one as they DO fill.. but at $98 USD/night … this WAS EXPENSIVE!!
The owner was absolutely wonderful and helpful. She did tell us that honestly, everything in Massey was closed for dinner, and that the closest meal was 10 miles west.
The room was small but clean … modest at best. Internet pictures did NOT represent our room. There was a refrig and micro if one was interested. A can was provided at the outside door for cigarettes. Bathroom was clean and the bed was ok. We did get wireless, which was great. Cinderblock construction was the rule .. BUT THIS IS standard for rural Ontario. It wasn’t dirty, but not the place my wife would choose to stay. Certainly nothing more than a road stop at best.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCB_JR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at the Mohawk twice this summer! The first time was over the Canada Day long weekend and then we just had to go back last weekend because the summer was almost over! Coming from Oakville there are so many things we like about Massey (after stumbling upon it!) The drive up is very scenic and entirely different then what you see within the GTA. The small town feel is really nice and the people are extremely friendly. Our stay at the Mohawk was excellent, the owner was very nice and helpful, the breakfast was HEALTHY - this was a nice change from a lot of places we've stayed at where donuts are a staple. Our room was spotless and the art work all around the room and the entire property actually gave the place a lot of character. It was so relaxing we had to go back. Will definitely go back next summer more than twice!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flesherton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This owner is obviously very proud of her motel and it shows. I travel frequently, and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnC519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We've stayed at the Mohawk before, and found it to be clean, friendly, and very reasonably priced. It's now under new management, and our impression is that, although still clean and friendly, it's no longer a bargain. Another problem for us is that there's nowhere to eat in this small town. There's the Dragonfly, which seems to be a decent Italian restaurant, but it was closed all day on the day we were there, a Saturday - "He does that sometimes," said a local - and aside from that there was only takeout pizza at a convenience store. Our room at the Mohawk had a small fridge and microwave so, if we'd planned ahead, we could have done OK but, as it was, we ended up denied the chance of an evening meal. Like most of the hotels we've been staying at in northern Ontario, the Mohawk advertises wireless internet, but it's patchy at best and really available only in the lobby and at a (wired) public computer in the corridor; some rooms had an ethernet option but ours didn't, though the owner lent us a router in an unsuccessful attempt to get things right. Overall I'd have no problem recommending the Mohawk for anyone who just wanted a place to stay for the night but, given the limited dining options in Massey as well as the Mohawk's current price, we'll probably stay elsewhere next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank botafogoblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Massey
22.9 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
9.0 mi away
Massey Motel
Massey Motel
#2 of 2 in Massey
33 reviews
24.3 mi away
Pinewood Motor Inn
Pinewood Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Espanola
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Alta Vista Motel
Alta Vista Motel
#1 of 1 in McKerrow
19 reviews
2.7 mi away
Waterfalls Lodge
Waterfalls Lodge
#1 of 5 in Spanish
61 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohawk Motel Canada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohawk Motel Canada

Property: Mohawk Motel Canada
Address: Hwy 17, 335 Sauble Street | Box 429, Massey, Ontario P0P 1P0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Massey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Massey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mohawk Motel Canada is located in Massey Ontario where Sable and Spanish Rivers merge. We offer the individuality and comfort of a B&B and the service and amenities of a good hotel. Latest addition is a Luxurious Romantic Jacuzzi Room - This intimate and contemporary room impresses by its extravagance in interior and design featuring a king-sized bed & a corner-style two person Jacuzzi and fireplace. We promise you an unforgettable experience. We take pride in our Eco-Friendly establishment and are member of Green Hotels Association and Best Green Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Mohawk Motel Canada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohawk Hotel Massey
Mohawk Hotel Canada
Mohawk Motel Canada Massey, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing