We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Magnetawan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Echoes Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Magnetawan
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We had a wonderful time on our honeymoon! Lots of special surprises from our hosts while still allowing us to have our privacy. The meals were out of this world and everything was incredibly clean and well maintained! Our time at Woodland Echoes exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeymooners0925_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 60 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2010

On behalf of my sisters I would like to thank the entire staff of Woodland Echoes for going out of their way to make our sisters' weekend a memorable one. We loved our experience so much that we are already making plans to return next year with our entire family! A very special thanks goes to Melissa and chef Carol for going the extra mile to accommodate our particular requests, delighting us with delicious food and making us feel special. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. Our best wishes to you all and hope to see you next year!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NootanKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Since moving to Canada 3 years ago this was my first Cottage Resort holiday. If you enjoy the outdoors, country walks, swimming in a river, fishing, BBQ, canoeing, kayaking and sitting around a fire or on the dock with a few colds ones watching for shooting stars (or satellites) this place is for you. Its all about the simple pleasures. My brothers family joined me from the UK and they had a great time, even their teenage daughter who seemed to be more in the water than on dry land had a great time. The area is great with straight forward pleasant locals and great food at the local establishments. We found that we did not need to stray to far to find everything we needed. The staff are friendly, helpful and make everyone feel welcome, the highlight of the week is the communal fish fry that the staff organize. The cottages are well equipped and comfortable, set in a beautiful location. My only disappointment was having to leave and not seeing any bears!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crozet-Provence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Food was terrific.
Staff exceptional.
Had a fun time

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwiene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

I highly recommend Woodland echoes. So much so, that I returned sooner than I expected. The food was awesome with an amazing presentation. It's a home away from home. There are many things to do, most of them are included free of charge and there is never a dull moment. Ken and Carol are great hosts and made us feel right at home. Keep up the great work! :0)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice03_09_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Cottages at Woodland Echoes were rustic but modern, well spaced and seperated by wooded areas with great views of Ahmic Lake. They all had decks to sit on to enjoy your morning coffee and private docks for your boats right in front of your cabin. More than enough activities to keep pre-teen grandchildren busy all day. Adults did not have to entertain the kids so they were able to enjoy the grounds and activities as well. Fishing was pretty good with quite a few large pike and bass being brought in. Really enjoyed the all camp fish fry put on by the owners to help meet all of the other visitors. Already planning to go back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asaint60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Our cottage was very nice but seriously you can't call this place a resort. If you do go, stay clear of the meal plan. The food was awful. One person at the table next to us pulled out a hair from his main course. There was food stuck to the side of my water glass. The steak ,if you can call it that, was awful. The veggies - steamed out of a Bird's Eye bag. A far cry from gourmet meals.....They wanted us to choose a specific time for each meal. I guess I wasn't planning on so much structure on vacation. A window when breakfast and dinner would be served would have been nice After our first meal, we just couldn't go back for more.

Thought the room was clean and the owner attentive-- it missed the boat. The towels smelled of moth balls. The couch was a love seat ."resort materials" talked of all the no no's and how much they would cost if you did them. . We left after one night and moved to a real resort in Algonquin Park. It was well worth the move.

I don't write reviews often but don't be fooled by the glowing reports on this one......

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodland, Owner at Woodland Echoes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2010

To the American couple who had a less than wonderful experience at Woodland Echoes recently, we are sorry to hear that your visit was not everything that you expect it to be. We can assure you, if we had been made aware of the circumstances that resulted in your early departure we certainly would have attempted to rectify the situation.
Being a family operated business for the last 31 years our family makes every effort to exceed our guests expectations.
Ken & Carol Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodland Echoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Echoes Resort

Address: 3 Victoria St | P.O. Box 59, Magnetawan, Ontario POA 1PO, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Magnetawan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Magnetawan
Price Range: $113 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think freedom...imagine breathing in the fresh scents of a spring forest canoeing, drifting quietly absorbing the beauty and warmth of a summers day. Cycling down a country road in a blaze of fall colour, or sitting beside a fire enjoying time with a friend. Welcome to Woodland Echoes a delightfully small resort where you sense a warm invitation from the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodland Echoes Hotel Magnetawan
Woodland Echoes Resort Magnetawan, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing