We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cottage resort ever! we come here every year and fully intend on returning for the next several years.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Magnetawan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodland Echoes Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Magnetawan
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Great beach. Great fishing, Great cottages and wonderful host,s. Thanks for the great vacation and wonderful memories. we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeteMatthews_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Woodland Echoes Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 60 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

My family of four, including my five year old son and three year old daughter had a great time at Woodland Echoes Resort in mid-June 2011. The resort was very clean, everything was in excellent working order, and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Ken (the owner) bailed out our boat every day that it rained, and he also offered to take me to his doctor in Burk's Falls when I accidentally hooked my thumb. The resort was very kid-friendly and had a miniature golf course, a beach, a gameroom, and bicycles.

Woodland Echoes is located on the Magnetawan River with good access to nearby Ahmic Lake. The fishing was excellent and we caught lots of smallmouth bass (several in the 14-17 inch range), black crappies, and rock bass, with occasional walleye (pickeral), northern pike, and yellow perch. My son caught one 16 inch black crappie and we caught at least six others in the 10-13 inch range. We practiced catch-and-release, but could have had some great fish fries if we had chosen to do so. Although it rained much of the week, there was so much action that my kids preferred to go out in the boat in the rain to catch smallmouth bass rather than catch panfish, which were also plentiful off of the dock. We primarily fished in the river, including the pool below the tailwaters just below the dam for Cecebe Lake. Medium diving plugs such as Rapala Shad Raps and small spinners worked best.

The area in and around Magnetawan is beautiful and all of the residents that we met were very friendly. In addition to sight-seeing around Magnetawan, we also took a scenic boat cruise in Parry Sound. This area is a Natural World Heritage site and had numerous rocky islands with beautiful windswept pines. We also visited Killbear Provincial Park in the same area, and there were numerous other provincial parks in the region that we hope to visit next summer. The food at Woodland Echoes was excellent and there were also several other very good restaurants in the area.

Overall, we had a great time and hope to visit again next summer. We highly recommend Woodland Echoes Resort to anyone, including families with small children, who want to have a nice, relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

A group of 12 friends got together to go fishing and have some fun. Ken and his team were fantastic and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MississaugaTrenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Woodland Echoes is a place my grandparents took my Mom as a child and she in turn gave my siblings and I summers there as children. As a thank you for giving us this little piece of paradise I took her back again for her birthday this year. We relocated to Nfld many years ago but Magnetawan and Woodland Echoes will always be home....the most perfect resort in the most perfect place. Thank you Ken & Carol!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetSetterGoGetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

the cottages were well equiped and had everything someone would need to stay.
beach was nice and the water has that brown colour to it, so don't worry poeple it's fine to swin in, just that nice clean northern water colour reminds me of home back in the day and nice views in town and boating was nice with old boat houses to take pictures, and nice wildlife too.
will come back again and we stayed in cottage 5 a few black ants kicking around inside and out, but no worries about them it's an cottage! and they don't bite so no worries, really nice BBQ's and grounds are mamanged nicely, despite all the rain we had this spring and the bugs weren't bad yet, but it was an late spring and i'm sure now they are really bad.
little pricy, but well worth it, been to many other cottages in the past years , and this one has to be one of the tops to stay and it is nicely tucked away south of town to give you that home away from home feeling.
thank-you ken for everything again, had an great time with my brother and so did he.
till next time
troy

Room Tip: few black ants kicking around inside and out
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funguy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodlandechoes, Owner at Woodland Echoes Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Thank you, Troy, for your comments. We are pleased your brother and you had a good time and were able to catch a couple of good fish during your stay. As too the black ants. . . We have had a very wet spring and the grounds were soaked!. This drove the wood ants out of the ground. They were climbing up to "get away" from the wet ground, the cottage is dry, a place for them to escape too.
You should have said something to us when you were in the cottage. We have an easy fix using a borax and sugar mix. It will kill them and destroy their ground nest. Our cleaning girl did find them after you left and we did use the borax mix to get rid of them.
It is now much dryer so the problem of ants has gone away.
Thank you again. We look forward to seeing you both again this Fall or next year.
Ken & Carol Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2011

relaxing cozy cabins on the lake. a trip into a quieter and less hectic times. this isnt a 5-star luxury spa, but a place to relax and recharge.

innkeepers ken, carol and david made us feel like part of the family. we just got a Christmas card from them.

worth the reasonable fee to rent a motor boat (kept at your private dock) to explore beautiful ahmic lake. for added treat, ask Dave how to go see the "screaming man" located 15k away

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agent1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We booked a stay with Woodland Echoes for a little fall fishing trip and we had a great time. The cottages are very clean and very well kept. Dave and Terry were very accommodating. Great place to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fisharoo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magnetawan
16.9 mi away
Algonquin Motel
Algonquin Motel
#1 of 1 in South River
40 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quiet Bay Log Motel & Cafe
Quiet Bay Log Motel & Cafe
#1 of 2 in Magnetawan
21 reviews
11.9 mi away
Northridge Inn & Resort
Northridge Inn & Resort
#1 of 1 in Sundridge
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The Whitestone
The Whitestone
#1 of 1 in Dunchurch
57 reviews
11.3 mi away
Warbler's Roost Country Inn
Warbler's Roost Country Inn
#1 of 2 in South River
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Echoes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Echoes Resort

Address: 3 Victoria St | P.O. Box 59, Magnetawan, Ontario POA 1PO, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Magnetawan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Magnetawan
Price Range: $119 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think freedom...imagine breathing in the fresh scents of a spring forest canoeing, drifting quietly absorbing the beauty and warmth of a summers day. Cycling down a country road in a blaze of fall colour, or sitting beside a fire enjoying time with a friend. Welcome to Woodland Echoes a delightfully small resort where you sense a warm invitation from the moment you arrive. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodland Echoes Hotel Magnetawan
Woodland Echoes Resort Magnetawan, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing