We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey for basically a motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Kirkland Lake
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kirkland Lake
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Although an average chain hotel, or rather, motel, it is the best in this small town. It offers good size rooms with flat screen TV, plus a small fridge and a microwave. It does not have a restaurant, but it now offers a modest breakfast consisting of three types of cold cereals (no wheat free or granola or healthy choices), packaged instant oat meal breakfast, waffles that you must make yourself with batter taken from a dispenser in a machine, bread, one type of muffin, and some sort of egg, depending on the day, such as scrambled eggs, egg patties with pork, juices from a dispenser, coffee and tea. It is better than nothing, especially since you would not want to go outside at minus 34 just to get some breakfast, but there are no healthier alternatives like fruits, granola, although they do offer two types of yogurt.
The insulation between the rooms is good and the doors thick. The stopper in the bathroom sink worked and wash clothes were provided. The price however is stiff, as it matches the prices of boutique hotels in Ottawa, or great grand old style hotels in Winnipeg offering gym, swimming pools, concierge, restaurants, jacuzzi, soap from Occitane de Provence, etc. In view of its location and lack of attractions and services the price of this motel should be lower than it is.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selena G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Kirkland Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Good Morning Valued Guest!
We appreciate that you took the time to post a review on Trip Advisor following your stay with us! Guest feedback provides us with valueable information as we strive to make every guests stay excpetional! Reviews show us what we are doing well and where we can improve!

I was happy to hear that you liked your room. We underwent a complete renovation late last year and are proud of our fresh new look. Following out renovation in October we began offering our guests a full free hot breakfast. This is still new to us and we especially love to hear guests thoughts on our offering. Rest assured will pass along all comments to our Director of Food and Beverages as we are always reviewing our food selections.

Rates do vary by room type as well as demand. We offer many discounted rates depending upon guests depending upon eligibility and market conditions. For companies that expect to be on the area on a regular basis our we are always happy to work out a flat rate that is not affected by seasonal variations and offer great value! Please feel free to contact me direct and I am sure we can work something out!

We appreciate your business and thank you sincerely for choosing the newly renovated Kirkland Lake Comfort Inn on your recent visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 90 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

Glen, the nighttime manager was unwilling to have the 2 rooms we had booked side by side.(we have 3 kids, my wife, my father in law and our dog)...he was uninterested in making the adjustment to suit our needs, this became a royal inconvenience for my family... this was a hockey tournament and 4 teams from different cities were staying at the hotel, he had all teams mixed in and spread across the hotel...cause way too much confusion. We were given a list of rules for the hotel for evening noise and behavior and Glen did not even follow the listed rules as listed on the sheet given to us on Comfort Inn letterhead. He had the Ontario Provincial Police come in at 8pm on Saturday night for noise complaints from a room he said complained, unfortunately the room he said complained was one of our rooms which means he made up complaints in order to act unreasonably. All teams from Timmins, Hearst, Chapleau and Cochrane complained about the same poor attitude and handling of us as hotel guests. All teams said this would be their last stay at Comfort Inn. Terrible Service--

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ylbrazeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selena G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Kirkland Lake, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on trip Advisor! We welcome all feedback, both good and bad as it provides us with a an opportunity to improve.

I have looked into your comments in detail. We did indeed have four teams registered at the hotel that weekend. Rooms were assigned to the groups in accordance with room types blocked by the coaches at the time of reservation. According to our records, your family was with a team that booked in January and had rooms booked on the same floor. You required two double beds and requested and were given an early check in just after noon. The room booked for your father in law was booked at a much later date and was not part of the original block. The only room available at the time of booking was a ground floor King. As all of the upstairs rooms as well as all of the double rooms were already booked moving someone was not an option as we honor room types promised at the time of booking. Both rooms checked in during the day shift with a different front desk clerk. Glenn was unable to move anyone on the evening shift due to availability. The majority of guests were already checked into the rooms prior to his arrival on shift and the hotel was sold out.

We do have quiet time rules, however we must consider the needs of all of all of our guests. Unfortunately children were running the halls, banging sticks on the walls and guest room doors. There is a safety risk involved with running and damages can occur from hitting walls. If the GSR is unable to get problems under control they may need to call for assistance regardless of the time of day. As you said there were four teams at the hotel and we cannot be sure which team caused the problem.

I truly apologize that you were unhappy with your stay and hope that you will continue to use Choice Hotels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We booked our room 2 weeks in advance and was told a price we found online for $90/a night so we went with it. After driving over 8 hours to get here in a snowstorm to do business we were told the rooms were $120 a night. Than when we tried to explain to the front counter person that we were told $90 a night we were pretty much called a liar and have no proof that was what the price was. Due to whoever was on the phone taking our confirmation told us that no matter what the confirmation number would have $90 attached to it. Of course we were stuck there for the night with a price that we don't agree with because either way we would be stuck paying for 2 rooms at $120/night. The point of the matter is that is ripping off a client and business should not be done that way. We could have went elsewhere for cheaper and get pretty much the same stuff that we have here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hemigirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selena G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Kirkland Lake, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Dear Hemigirl
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us. We are always happy to receive feedback from our guests. Without more information such as how your reservation was made or a confirmation number I cannot investigate the rates quoted or charged. Our hotel does offer a variety of room rates, however we do not have any rates in the 90.00 range.

I do hope that you enjoyed your stay in our newly renovated hotel! We are proud of our beautiful new rooms and are happy to offer all of our guests a free full hot breakfast. Again, I thank you for your review and regret that I do not have enough information to provide a more detailed response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed here for one week while in Kirkland Lake for business.

The rooms are large, newly renovated and clean.

The breakfast is fine, with a variety of standard options (fresh fruits, bagels, toast, yogurt, hot & cold cereal, eggs, bacon/sausage and waffles).

The Wifi is free and reliable.

There is a large supermarket (Loblaws) up the road.

Definitely the place to stay whilst on business in KL.

A fitness facility would be a GREAT improvement to this otherwise clean and comfortable hotel in northern Ontario.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelope G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selena G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Kirkland Lake, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Hi Penelope!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following your stay at our hotel! I was so happy to hear that you liked our brand new look, enjoyed the full hot breakfast and found the wireless reliable!

Change is exciting! Tomorrow we will begin to upgrade our cable line up so that all of our guests will have many more channels to choose from!

I will be sure to share your comments with my team! We look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just there for one night whilst on a business trip. Very much catering for contractors/workers - however clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay again, but only whilst on work - not a holiday stay or destination.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CQ-Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selena G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Kirkland Lake, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for posting a review of the Kirkland Lake Comfort Inn! We are always happy to receive feedback from our guests! . We are thrilled to hear that you found our hotel to be very clean and the staff to be friendly as those are our first priorities.

We do welcome a variety of guests and try our very best to provide amenities and services to meet everyones needs! For our business travellers we offer a free to use business center in our lobby with a computer, high speed internet, laser printer and office supplies. Our new King Executive rooms are proving to be very popular with comfy robes, desk abd leather chair and a variety of in room office supplies.

Since your stay we have also introduced a full free hot breakfast featuring eggs and breakfast meats. I hope you have an opportunity to try it the next times you stay! Again, thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to see it under extensive renovations. Old sofas in the parking lot, lamps in the vestibule, hallways not painted. The first room that was offered to us had the bed unmade, the second smelled like smoke; although they claim it is now a non-smoking hotel. After that we were told no other rooms were available. After saying we were going to go down the road to another hotel the clerk informed us that we could not get our money back as it was after 4pm. When we informed him that it was Comfort Inn that did not have a room available for us we were offered a room on the main floor. After accepting we were told that they were doing us a favour as the room was $20.00 more on the main floor than on the second floor. Either way it was too expensive a price and we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icecream0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selena G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Kirkland Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your ecperience at our hotel. We appreciate all feedback, both good and bad as it provides us with an opportunity to improve and better serve our guests. We are nearing the end of a complete renovation that included every guest room and washroom, hallways and stairwells as well as our lobby and the addition of a brand new breakfast room. We will soon be offering a full hot breakfast and are indded 100% smoke free.

We have tried very hard to minimize the impact of the renovations on our guests and even closed down completely for one week. I truly apologize that we failed in this regard. I am vey sorry that there was some complications finding you a suitable room. I am happy to hear that the GSR was able to accomodate you in an upgraded room.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again. Often we have promotional rates available depending on the day of the week and time of year. Please call the hotel direct and we will do our best to accomodate your budget!

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We were tired from our travels, it was late 9:30 so we stopped at the first hotel we spotted. The young lady who checked us in appeared to be bored and uninterested. Our check out the next morning was pretty much the same. The fellow did not ask how our stay was nor did he thank us for our visit. The room was clean. The mattress was comfortable however blankets and bedspreads are so dated. Hotels would not wash these after each use, so unsanitary, particularly the one in our room which had a cigarette burn hole in it. The cleaning crew didn't notice or didn't care. Next time we'll continue our road trip to New Liskeard before stopping for the night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selena G, General Manager at Comfort Inn Kirkland Lake, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Irene
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay with us. We value the feedback provided by every guest as it lets us know what we are doing right and where we have opportunities to improve. I am disappointed that my front desk staff did not provide you with the level of service I expect from my staff and rest assured this will be discussed with each and every employee.

I was happy to hear that the room was clean. I do agree with you that the bedding is dated and due for replacement. We are currently undergoing a complete floor to ceiling renovation. As part of these exciting changes, all of our bedding is due to be replaced. I hope that you will reconsider staying with us again in the future. Please stop by the next time you are passing through and I would be happy to give you a tour!

Again, thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkland Lake
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kirkland Lake
1.2 mi away
Super 8 Kirkland Lake
Super 8 Kirkland Lake
#3 of 3 in Kirkland Lake
123 reviews
22.5 mi away
Cheminis Lodge
Cheminis Lodge
#1 of 1 in Virginiatown
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Englehart Motel
Englehart Motel
#1 of 1 in Englehart
13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Sutton Bay Park
Parc Sutton Bay Park
#4 of 9 in Temiskaming Shores
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Kirkland Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Kirkland Lake

Address: 455 Government Rd W, Kirkland Lake, Ontario P0K1AO, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Kirkland Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kirkland Lake
Price Range: $109 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Kirkland Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the COMPLETELY RENOVATED Kirkland Lake Comfort Inn. Our rooms feature one Queen, two Doubles or one King Bed. We offer our guests a complimentary Business Centre, Free Wireless Highspeed, Free weekday newspaper, a BBQ and picnic area and much more. Enjoy our complimentary FULL HOT BREAKFAST in our brand new breakfast room! We are ideally located on the entrance to Kirkland Lake, with easy access to restaurants and services. Directly accessible by snowmobile via groomed trail right into our parking lot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Kirkland Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Kirkland Lake Hotel Kirkland Lake
Kirkland Lake Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Kirkland Lake Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing