We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Management” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Rideau Restaurant - CLOSED

The New Rideau Restaurant
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American, Canadian, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Full-service family dining open 7 Days a week, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Beautiful patio and screened-in porch for outdoor dining. Special occasion and large group celebrations. Watch for our live music and Dine & Dance events.
Kemptville, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Management”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

New management, décor, menu. I have eaten here twice now, breakfast and dinner and both times the food was fantastic. Good prices, home made food. I had the fish and chips for dinner and it was awesome. Started off with bowl of tomato and meat ball soup that I could have eaten a barrel full it was so good. Family and friends that were with me all tried different items from the menu and we all left full and very satisfied. I have recommended this place to many other friends and they have all thanked me for it. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dwain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    11
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thumbs up!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Pictures look good but they can't show just how tasty the food is. Loved your evening menu and your special. I will be back to try breakfast and lunch and I will come up with a reason to go back for supper. Loved the atmosphere, the company and of course the food!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The new Rideau Restaurant is worth a visit for breakfast, lunch or dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The Rideau Restaurant has reopened under new management. Any reviews prior to 2014 reflect previous incarnations of the restaurant and are not an accurate reflection of the new owners. The warmth and friendliness of owners and servers is a nice introduction. This was our third visit and the quality of food and service remains constantly good. Breakfast and lunch menus are varied and offer something for most folks. Various foods are very good and well priced. The dinner menu is also good and undergoing ongoing development and expansion. The influence of the owner's Dutch homeland should make for some interesting new additions that we are looking forward to trying. This visit was a stop for a quick bite. My wife had the vegetarian stir fry over linguini that was well prepared and tasty. There was a big enough serving to fill my wife's appetite with enough for me to enjoy some of it as well. I had what was one of the best French Onion soups I've had a a very long time. From this point forward whenever I feel a hankering for this soup I will be going to the new Rideau Restaurant for it. Service was friendly, helpful, and quick but not rushed. Prices are competitive. We recommend the new Rideau Restaurant and encourage them to feel free to add more Dutch items to all menus.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Newly redone, new owners, will be visiting frequently!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Amazing homemade food, best in Kemptville! New owners have really cleaned the place up. Food is well priced, generous portions, and delicious.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BoothFamilyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Finally renovated and updated new owners are awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

So glad I can by the other day for lunch, had to special and it was awesome. Will be coming back and spreading the word

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank OttawaAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Rideau Restaurant also viewed

Kemptville, Ontario
Kemptville, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing