We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Succulant Dishes!”
Review of Comfort By AJ's - CLOSED

Comfort By AJ's
Price range: $14 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Globally inspired comfort food served in an intimate setting.
Kemptville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Succulant Dishes!”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

My daughter and her family took me to Ajs for my birthday. Well my first time there. The food was absolutely wonderful, mouth watering..the best I have had in a long time...the wine selection was excellent too...The dishes were succulent ! I commend the chef a job well done!! And we cannot forget the pleasant friendly service Jessica thank you for making my time there a lovely experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deerobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    1
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iroquois, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch in Comfort”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We recently enjoyed a Sunday brunch with friends at Comfort by AJ's. We live south of Kemptville so the travel was a commitment but the food and service made it well worth our time and energy. The menu at brunch was limited but the chef seemed willing to make some alterations to my order to accommodate a picky eater. The servings were larger than anticipated but plated quite beautifully so I was not overwhelmed. The decor was cheery and bright with gorgeous yellow napkins.The dinner menu that was posted on the blackboard however looked quite ambitious. Our friends had eaten dinner at the restaurant in the past and reported enormous satisfaction. We will definitely return for dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Comfort food with a touch of finesse!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Great customer service, very welcoming. A short well thought out menu, with enough variety to satisfy all tastes. The food is fresh, well prepared, and satisfying. It's traditional recognizable fare with a twist.
Comfort's wine list provides a good selection to pare with all courses.
Exceeded our expectations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K55andJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemptville
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a great experience”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Four of us decided to try Comfort by A.J.'s last week. When the lamb shepherds pie arrived, our friend who is an excellent cook, commented he wouldn't serve that dish to anyone he cared about. My meal, stuffed pasta shells, would fall into the same category. My husband and another friend ordered the salmon, they didn't mind it. Service is prompt and friendly, food expensive and, in our experience, not too palatable. We won't be going back nor recommending it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbugs103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A real gem...food lovers hide-a-way!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Amazing experience...tucked away in little Kemptville. Talented chefs brimming with desire to create fabulous food.
Good service.
We are going back tonight!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comfort By AJ's also viewed

Kemptville, Ontario
Kemptville, Ontario
 
Kemptville, Ontario
Kemptville, Ontario
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing