We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, experienced staff.”
Review of Salamanders

Salamanders
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Kemptville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Spencerville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly, experienced staff.”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

First time going. Went for late lunch with the wife on a sunny day. Sat on the patio. Staff allowed us to tie up our dog on the outside of the patio so we didn't have to leave him in the car while we ate. Server even brought the dog a bowl of water. Patio is nice atmosphere but Kemptville creek is a bit murky.
Menu is more varied and has healthier options than most menus. Ordered soup of the day (Cajun) and veal culet sandwich which was the special of the day. Soup was delicious. Wife ordered apple and cream cheese sandwich and nut salad. We both enjoyed the food and it wasn't too heavy. Staff is very experienced and customer service oriented.
We will be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandangalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    31
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent setting”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We visited Salamanders for a spot of lunch whilst in Kemptville visiting friends. There was an excellent menu along with daily specials which the charming waitress read out for us. The food when it came was wonderful and the portions huge, we actually shared a meal and it was plenty. They even bought out an extra plate and cutlery for us to use. As we visited on a day with hot weather we decided to sit out on the patio which has a great view of the river (creek).
We would definitely recommend Salamanders as a great place to visit and to enjoy good high quality food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank euroanchor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We went to the Salamanders for dinner. We were pleasantly surprised. The menu was varied and the prices reasonable.

The staff was very pleasant and accommodating.

The food was good and tasty. The portion was plentiful.

In all, it was a very enjoyable meal and we intend to return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hard to find”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Hard to find if you don' t where it is, fortunately my family knew.
You enter the hall and downstairs you go on the steep stairs.
Place looked allright had a limited choice of food, your plate is right after your finished taken away, which we in Europe are not acustommed of, we normally wait till everybody is finished there meal and then the plates are being removed from the table. But as I found out this seems to be normal in Canada.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemptville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming, Delicious, Picturesque”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hubby and I visited for our first time on July 5 for dinner. We had a cozy table right at the railing by the river. Sometimes patio furniture is shaky or uncomfortable, but the table, chairs and umbrella were all secure, making the seating and meal comfortable and secure. The menu has a great variety of fresh and imaginative items. It was hard to choose. Hubby got the steak sandwich and I had the chicken and mushroom etc crepe meal. We also had the brie with carmalized onions and apples-what a yummy combination. We shared each others meals of course and loved it all. I also had to try the chocolate spring rolls-what a fun, gooey desert item. Our server was very sweet, helpful in answering questions, friendly with comparative suggestions and never intrusive. I'm sure I'll spell her name wrong - Islay - I think - We will definately return and there are other items we would like to try. Salamanders has a fantastic large patio, but also lots of space inside for non summer dinning. Enjoy

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salamanders also viewed

Kemptville, Ontario
Kemptville, Ontario
 
Kemptville, Ontario
 

Been to Salamanders? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing