We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great park”

Emily Provincial Park
Attraction details
toronto
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A great park”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We just returned from 4 days at Emily, camping at site 109. We chose the park because it was on route to a destination we planned on visiting later on our vacation, and we hadn't camped here yet.

Our site was wonderful, very close to the beach (which was lovely for swimming and for children to play etc) and to the comfort stations, etc. The campground has 2 main beaches (both with great swimming on the Pigeon River), a camp store (well stocked enough to cover the one or two things we forgot and for wood, ice, worms) and lots of room to walk, bike and enjoy the outdoors. The comfort stations were clean and I used the laundry without any trouble (comes in handy after a big rain!). Laundry was all loonies (2 each for wash/dry and 1 for soap).

I'm not sure the other campgrounds have sites as well spaced with great tree coverage and privacy, but if that is what you are looking for I would recommend the Hill campground.

Great location, we may visit again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SalesGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    14
    6
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous park”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

There are only a few bad sites in Emily....the park itself used to have a nice nature trail but is gone now. Though only a very short drive there is 2 nice trails, one of them the Trans Canada Trail.
As for swimming...its good enough to cool off and for the smaller children.
Fishing is great....just about every fish can be caught in Pigeon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank FieroGT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Victoris Day Long Weekend 2014”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Stayed at site 192 , Park was nice and well kept. The bathrooms were not too far but could use more showers. Park store was well equipped. The weather was not warm yet so I cannot comment on the beach etc but looked like it would be fun in the summer. All and all a nice stay and will return

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a great Provincial Park to visit. It's located between Peterborough and Lindsay so there are lots of activities if you decide you need to venture outside of the park. The sites are well maintained and the facilities are clean. The staff are friendly and seem to genuinely enjoy thier jobs. Make sure you rent a canoe and venture out into the marsh. There used to be a boardwalk out to an island but it has not been maintained and is no longer accesable. It's a shame because it was a great place to watch the Osprey.

All in all you won't go wrong with a stay here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Supasupasupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emily Provincial Park also viewed

 
Fenelon Falls, Kawartha Lakes
 

Been to Emily Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing