We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All lies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ingersoll
Certificate of Excellence
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“All lies”
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We were guests at a wedding & this is our take on this property;
Upon arriving we noticed not a grand manor but a run-down building in desperate need of repair & renovations. The grounds were borderline tolerable with many badly decorated dollar-store-like figures & shoty concrete work.
Once we entered the building we were greeted by old decor to include framed posters and dirty old carpets.
The air conditioning was nil. The bar was right out of a 50 year old basement banquet hall complete with ugly scratched-up glasses. We only ordered water because we could stand the selection. The water tasted like the pool water & that is perhaps because they were trying to hide the fact that the place still has lead pipes.
The food was terrible. All frozen, out of the bag everything. We've had better meals at Wendy's.
We don't know what they paid for the meals but we do know what we put in the money-box. We can only hope that they paid less than $20pp.
Bottom-line is that everything that you read on their site was pure lies & we would hate to have our guests put through the experience that we went through. Consider Wendy's for your next event. No lies & you know what to expect.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    108
    44
    21
    19
See reviews for
76
197
19
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2008

Over the years I've been going to the Elm Hurst Inn with my grandparents and have always enjoyed the grounds, atmosphere and service.

My fiancee (now Wife) and I decided to book our wedding here. The meal pricing was exceptionally reasonable (at the time of booking location, food, gratiuities were all included at nice single cost per head), Erin the onsite wedding co-ordinator helped promptly with our deluge of questions.

The food was excellent at the event, so much we ordered an extra round of desserts which were promptly put out for our guests.

The staff made our day special and was always willing to help any of our guests.

We're planning on going back for the Sunday Brunch buffet soon.

  • Liked — Food, Service and Location.
  • Disliked — Nothing stands out in memory
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHedden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Elm Hurst Inn for two nights at the end of April. The hotel itself is really quite wonderful. When you wander the hallways of the place you run into whimsical decorations such as china cabinets displaying old china and crystal, interesting pictures portraying century-old clothing and fashions, suits of armor, iron hanging-birdcages, writing desks, small piano-organs, etc. It seems designed to feel like an old mansion, rather than an old mansion that is now a hotel.
The rooms are a very nice size, even the basic ones. They have nice solid wood furniture, beds with real headboards, armchairs, and large washrooms. (We got the chance to compare when many doors were open during the housekeeping hour.)

Our room in particular was on the top floor, which gave us a large gable window, with a chandelier hanging down from the high ceiling. There was a minibar cabinet with wines and other drinks available, and the coffee and tea offerings were very nice (I took the gourmet teas home).
The room had two bathrobes hanging neatly in the front closet upon our arrival, and the bathroom had *plenty* of large fluffy towels. The toiletries were all Aveda, and they consisted of not only soap and shampoo/conditioner, but mouthwash, moisturizer, mending kits, and shower caps. The shower had a huge rainfall showerhead.
The bed was comfortable (although my husband has gotten used to a luxury mattress at home, so he had complaints) and there were four fluffy pillows on it, which was wonderful as I usually request an extra pillow at hotels.

We went to the spa and my husband had Shiatsu massage and I had a 'tub and body wrap' treatment. Both were wonderful and the atmosphere was very relaxing and professional. And there were cookies at the end.

Breakfast both mornings was lovely; the food was tasty and fresh and the surroundings were gorgeous. There was bacon, homefries, and scambled eggs, pastries, fruit, cereals, yogurt, cottage cheese, english muffins, toast, and other things I can't recall. Half a dozen juice selections, and tea that was made properly after you specified your choice.
On the sunday night we had dinner in the manor, which they referred to as a buffet, but it was so much more than that. Besides a large spread of salads, cheeses, pate, vegetables, seafoods, crackers and breads, there was a chef station set up with prime rib, salmon and a couple other choices that they would dish up for you, and they had a skillet station where they would put together a pasta creation for you from scratch. I had him sautee some scallops and shrimp, garlic, vegetables, and a rose sauce with angel hair pasta. The desserts were delicious (I tried three -- benefits of a buffet!) and the tea and coffee were included in the price -- $25/person. It was a really good deal, and the formal dining room is beautiful.

The grounds are gorgeous, with a pond and forested area in the back and large trees all around. There is a barn that has been made into a bit of a reception hall - we explored it when it was empty. The main floor is a large space, big enough for a wedding reception. The upper floor/balcony is a games loft with pool, shuffleboard, ping pong, arcade games, and some seating. The lower level is a lounge with bookshelves filled with old books, a bar, and televisions (one with a wii hooked up).

Overall, I thought the place was just fantastic. It *is* worth the slightly higher than average price tag, but you have to be there for more than just staying in the room and watching television. Explore the hotel, explore the dining room, the grounds, the town. Try the spa. It's a place to indulge in luxury, not a place to stop overnight en route to somewhere else.

I have read the reviews where the people involved have complained about peeling wallpaper and old carpets-- I think they must have renovated it recently, then. There were signs of that here and there (things like "please forgive us as we renovate" and "wet paint") so perhaps they should give it another try now.

  • Liked — The feel of the place -- beautiful and luxurious
  • Disliked — There really wasn't anything to complain about
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dryadsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

We had our Wedding at the Elm Hurst and it was nothing short of a fairytale! The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough to for us! They were so pleasant an accomodating to all our guests and made everybody feel so welcomed! Everything was so well organized i was the most stress free Bride. Everyone worked so hard to please us and the quality of professionalism was outstanding. We also utilized the Aveda Spa onsite, It was such a relaxing atmosphere and the staff were very friendly. We plan to go back for our 1st anniversay! Don't believe the negative comments on here you truly need to experience it yourself. It is actually one of the best establishments for customer service, Food, quality of establishment, and the most beautiful atmosphere i have been to in a very long time. Please go see for yourself!

  • Liked — THe overall Quality of the Establishment!
  • Disliked — That our stay lasted such a short while!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marthalittlejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2008

We spent over $500 to stay here,,,will never never never recommend this hotel. Nothing but a money grab. Service was terrilbe, front desk too busy to even answer the phone, rushed us on our way at ever turn. VERY MISMANAGED. Lady manager was often seen standing around glaring at her over worked staff, without lending a hand of course. Well for that, we will never set foot here again. The rooms are over priced (money-grab) and NOT very nice at all. Check it out for yourslef if you are in the neighbourhood, one walk down the discusting, gross carpetted hallways is a true indication of what you are in for. THIS PLACE HAS REALLY GONE DOWN THE TUBES. Very mis-represented.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 55555London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

I was a guest at 2 weddings at this site. Perfection is impossible, but I think that these problems could have been dealt with.
Guests of the wedding that were staying over, had to get ready in the washroom, because their rooms were not ready by the garaunteed check-in time.
There was hair in a salad...not one, but 3.
There was dog feces on the lawn, the bride almost stepped in it.
Head table was not served wine until last, and had to keep on asking for it and waiting.
This is not the first time this hotel has dissapointed. Another friend that made the mistake of having the reception here, the chicken that was served...to head table, and to all other guests,was not cooked properly. This is a serious health hazard, and it left some guests heading to the washroom to be sick.
This place used to have an impeccable reputation....but it is taking a serious nose dive. Trust your special day, and your money to another venue that will not dissapoint you.
Another complaint I have was that I went for my birthday dinner there, booked a private room for 2. We went during the week so it wouldnt be a busy night, in fact we were the only two dining upstairs. Everything was perfect until, a woman...I assume she was in charge or had some sort of important role, because she was basically giving a tour for friends, talking very loudly and was clearly tipsy. She stood in our doorway with her back to us, going on and on. She then noticed that there were in fact people dining and said nothing, gave us a look...and carried on with what she was doing until our waiter came with our main course. It killed the mood, and ruined the dinner for me.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank MATO12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2007

A great looking place from Hwy 401, better when you get there.
If you are looking for something other than a chain, like old architecture and some walking grounds, check it out!

We've noticed this establishment many times, driving the 401, but thought it was just a fancy restaurant in an old building.

Took a chance, drove in, figured $300 a night judging the grounds and building, was surprised at their $145 special and got a night for $99 including an enormous breakfast.

Room was clean, a bit small, but it is an old building. The grounds are really nice. Pond, lit paths etc.
Dinner cost twice as much as the room, but that was our choice.
All funds are in Cdn$.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank johntorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingersoll
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Comfort Inn
#3 of 3 in Ingersoll
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metro
#5 of 41 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Hurst Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Hurst Inn & Spa

Property: Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
Address: Hwy 401 415 Harris St RR 5, Ingersoll, Ontario N5C 3J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ingersoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ingersoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elm Hurst Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located an hour west of Toronto and a short drive from London and Woodstock, this 49 room Inn and Victorian Mansion Dining room sits on 33 acres of countryside, just off Hwy 401. Comfortable guest rooms, renowned cuisine, attentive service, private dining rooms, elegant reception spaces and beautiful grounds have made Elm Hurst Inn & Spa a popular destination for getaways, celebrations and corporate events. Enjoy extra pampering at our on-site Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Elm Hurst Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Hurst Hotel Ingersoll
Elm Hurst Inn And Spa
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa Ingersoll, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing