We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Friendly Staff but needs to be Updated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ingersoll
Certificate of Excellence
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Extremely Friendly Staff but needs to be Updated”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a romanic weekend. The outside of the building and the property is georgous. We arrived at around 8:30 p.m. and the building was illuminated with lights. It was very pretty. However, we felt disapointed by the inside. Our room was not as luxurious as we expected. We expected plush comfort but found that the bed, pillows and sheets were old and needed to be replaced. Although we appreciated the antiques, the decor was not elegant, it was more mishmashed.

There is not much to do in the area but our plan was to just relax and enjoy each others company so it was great for that. During the day we went for a walk on the grounds. There is a walking trail behind the building. The snow was frozen so we could walk comfortably without sinking in. We saw a few rabbits. Afterwards we enjoyed warming up in the jucuzzi in the spa.

We had dinner in the dining room. My boyfriend enjoyed his prime rib but my top sirloin was just okay. We ordered a side of sauteed mushrooms and they were fantastic. We also had the maple syrup creme brule for dessert and we both agreed that it was the best creme brule that we had ever had.

Later at night, after dinner, we had a couples massage in our room. The massage was excellent and very relaxing. However, we noticed that the spa towels were old and needed to be replaced.

We found every staff member to be extremely friendly and helpful (reception, wait staff, spa staff). I was woken up at 1:30 a.m. by loud people in the hall (they had been attending a wedding at the inn). I called reception and they sent someone up immediately. I was hardly back in bed before someone was asking them to be quiet. I appreciated their prompt attention.

All and all, we enjoyed our stay but felt that the inn needed to be updated (beds, bedding and towels) and the rooms (lounges, etc) need to be redecorated, keeping the antique/traditional feel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alysha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmHurstInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Alysha M,
We are glad that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your romantic getaway at the Elm Hurst inn, and that you were able to enjoy our grounds, restaurant and spa services. I'm sorry that the decor did not meet your expectations, as the Inn was completely renovated only last summer, including new beds, furniture and towels. We look forward to hosting you again, and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    108
    44
    23
    20
See reviews for
78
204
19
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just spent beautiful time here. My son purchased us a gift certificate as he knows this one of our favorite places to go and be really SPOILED. We had Sunday brunch (with orange juice and champagne). The selection was enough to be consider a Dinner. Every thing was lovely, the food, the room and the staff. We couldnot have asked for a better Anniversary setting.

Gayle W

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I attended a wedding here. It is a beautiful place, the food was excellent. The rooms have renovated and are modern but a little smaller than a brand new hotel but it's made up for in the charm of the hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Check ahead for dining options as the dining room had a seafood buffet on the Friday night and the other menu items were not available. Didn't know this until we asked about dinner reservations when we checked in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

luv the property. meals are presented finner dinning experince. rooms across form spa,are greatly appereicated and nicely decorated. all staff is freindy and beyond helpful. been several times would defintely recomend this hotel. looking forward to april reservations to interduce more friends to their vennue. see you soon.

Room Tip: if you have spa in mind. rooms across from the spa are excellently located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcpotts709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle River, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The food is great and the rooms are modern and very clean.
My wife and I spent our 27th anniversary there and will be
Going back. You won't be diss appointed. The steam room and sauna are great. Just make sure you book your spa service early,as they were booked solid and we didn't get to get our massage. We know for next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed on 2013-02-18 and had a great time.

The service is friendly and attentive, great job....

The Prime rib buffet was awesome
All you can eat prime rib cooked beautifully, melt in your mouth, feta stuffed chicken, ham and scalloped potatoes, a fresh pasta bar, mega salads, and many desserts. Tea and coffee included.

The room was spacious and clean, with a vaulted ceiling and windows to match.

My wife loved her chocolate massage.
Very relaxing and stress reliving.

The breakfast was okay but not exciting...
Hot bacon. scrambled eggs, and roasted potatoes, many types of toast, milk, coffee and tea, pastries, jams, granola, yogurt, orange and cranberry juices...
I heard a rumor about sausages but I didn't see any....

WIFI computer services with no password problems.

What a great fun little get away for a very romantic fun time.

You will enjoy.....

M&D

Room Tip: The far one over looking the parking lot Room 325 I believe.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike289london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We really loved the room. It was very clean and I loved the character of the old room, but with very classy upgrades. The dinner buffet was outstanding and delicious from the appetizers, main course to the desserts and drinks. Our server Alisha was friendly, courteous and very efficient. We also enjoyed the breakfast buffet. I would rate our stay with 5 stars!! We would love to stay again.
I was thinking of inviting my sisters for an overnight spa day!
Carol P

Room Tip: Stay here, you'll love it. The food and service is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingersoll
20.2 mi away
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Ingersoll
94 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Woodstock Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lamplighter Inn & Conference Centre
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Woodstock
20.3 mi away
Hotel Metro
Hotel Metro
#6 of 41 in London
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Hurst Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Hurst Inn & Spa

Property: Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
Address: Hwy 401 415 Harris St RR 5, Ingersoll, Ontario N5C 3J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ingersoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ingersoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elm Hurst Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located an hour west of Toronto and a short drive from London and Woodstock, this 49 room Inn and Victorian Mansion Dining room sits on 33 acres of countryside, just off Hwy 401. Comfortable guest rooms, renowned cuisine, attentive service, private dining rooms, elegant reception spaces and beautiful grounds have made Elm Hurst Inn & Spa a popular destination for getaways, celebrations and corporate events. Enjoy extra pampering at our on-site Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Elm Hurst Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Hurst Hotel Ingersoll
Elm Hurst Inn And Spa
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa Ingersoll, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing