We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great get away spot!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elm Hurst Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ingersoll
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great get away spot!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We had a fabulous room with a modern bathroom-very clean. Dinner was amazing with great sized portions and wonderful service. Our trip to the spa was relaxing and peaceful. The staff was very professional in the spa, restaurant and at the front desk. All of our needs were met and exceeded thanks to the general manager Alon Gurman--it was a very special time away!! I will recommend the Elmhurst Inn to all my friends visiting southwestern Ontario! Beautiful!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalgaryGirl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    101
    44
    21
    19
See reviews for
76
193
18
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We wanted to celebrate my mom's 65th birthday party and we originally thought we should try to book a spa weekend in Niagara on the lake. After attending the 140th birthday open house for the inn, we decided to book a weekend there. What a wonderful choice!!! We had the most beautiful stay. The spa was peaceful and inviting with the staff being very warm and friendly. They did a great job on our manicures and pedicures. I have been to alot of different spas and the one at the Elm hurst is top notch. The accommodations were beautiful and the grounds outstanding with the ample trees and multiple gardens and flowers. The staff were very professional and went out of their way to ensure that all of our needs were met. Theresa Pinkerton, sales manager, inquired about upgrading us to a modern exquisite suite. Alon Gurman, general manager, went out of his way to make our stay a memorable one. The restaurant was very relaxing and the staff very prompt and friendly. It is set in the original home of the family that owned the Elm hurst. It has an eclectic feel about it. The food was beyond words. Everyone of our dishes was delicious with large serving sizes. We were impressed with everything we ate from the appetizers to the fabulous dessert! We continued to celebrate by having drinks on the relaxing patio. The inn was hosting two weddings that weekend and you would not known it. We felt like we were the only guests there. It was so quiet and relaxing.The buffet breakfast in the morning was wonderful with a lot of attention to detail even down to the small jars of jam that they put out for the guests. We left feeling refreshed and satisfied. I would highly recommend the inn to anyone coming from near or far. We were treated like royalty and would go back without any reservations. I have recommended the experience to everyone I know!!!! Thank you to all of the staff at the Elm Hurst and to Shmuel Farhi for making my mom's birthday one to remember!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chiromom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innerkip, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband recently surprised me with a surprise stay at Elm Hurst for my birthday! Although the first room we were given had a horrible stale odor of paint fumes due to 'recent renovations' and was extremely hot due to the west facing sunny windows which had no window coverings put back up on yet (?!?), I have to say that Jesse working the front desk was very understanding and seemed happy to move us to an alternate room. Although it was inconvenient to have to move rooms a couple of hours after arriving, our new room was absolutely fantastic and we were happy they had an alternate room to offer us! We really appreciate and compliment Elm Hurst (Jesse) for their front desk customer service practice and standards!
We also ate dinner and breakfast on property and I would have to agree with the review ahead of me who commented on 'Lackluster Service' as far as the restaurant service was concerned. For 5 star dining I have come to expect the 'little extras' including taking appetizer plates away before dinner plates arrive as well as taking the dinner plates away before dessert plates etc. At breakfast it was hard to find a server to request a coffee refill, so why not just leave the carafe on the buffet table for guests to help themselves?
The dinner appetizers (we enjoyed a few!) were all above average and fantastic in freshness, taste, and presentation and was an enticing start to our dinner experience! My dinner (prime rib) was cooked to my liking and tasty however, I could tell it had been sitting under heat lamps prior to reaching our table and everything was 'warm' at best. The meat and veg all had a dried out crust on top but was brought back to life when I flipped everything over, refreshing it in the au jus on my plate! I also ordered a side of garlic shrimp to accompany my beef but it also had sat too long prior to reaching our table creating a wilting mess of greens underneath oil covered, yet dried out shrimp. I most certainly would not suggest the shrimp! Unfortunately, our server did not return to ask us how we were enjoying our meal until we were finished :( Desserts were fantastic! Decadent and fresh, almost hard to resist one (or two) to go!
Overall a nice overnight escape and a wonderful surprise from my thoughtful husband! As far as some of the 'down sides' we experienced goes, perhaps just an 'off night' for Elm Hurst but without constructive critique, how can they improve?
The property itself is absolutely gorgeous with plenty of nature, walking trails, waterfalls and gazebos to relax in ... a real treat to enjoy in itself!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Burwell, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

My husband and I live in the area and therefore had never stayed at the Elm Hurst before. We decided on the Elm Hurst to celebrate my birthday weekend. What a lovely get away not far from home. We were upgraded to a suite that was roomy, modern and luxurious. After enjoying massages in the spa we relaxed in the hot tub and sauna. Dinner was absolutely delicious right down to dessert including excellent service. The grounds were beautiful for an after dinner stroll with fountains and ponds to enjoy. Overall we had a wonderfully, relaxing evening at the Elm Hurst Inn and would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grund_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Elm Hurst on the night of our 20th anniversary and were very impressed by the whole experience.
The Inn is just completing a major renovation and our room seemed like it had been completed very, very recently. The bathroom was beautiful with a great walk-in shower and the room had new carpet, new linens and a flat-screen TV.
Made use of the newly renovated spa, including steam room, spa and massage - all top notch. Dinner was incredibly tasty and well presented if perhaps a fraction over-priced - our server was courteous, knowledgeable, friendly and non-intrusive.
Breakfast in the morning was standard buffet fare but was plentiful and hot.
Checking in and out was efficient, professional and friendly.
We quite liked the property - we got lucky for April in that the weather was beautiful so we were able to stroll the grounds in the morning. We were amazed by all of the fountains and water-features on the property - it's worth going there just for that alone.
I would (and have) recommended the Elmhurst to anyone. We have been driving past it on the 401 for years and were very happy we finally decided to stay a night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aprguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmHurstInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Aprguy,
We are also glad that you finally decided to pull off Hwy 401 to stay the night! Thanks for choosing Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, and we hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This Inn was charming and the guestroom was tastefully decorated with a semi-vaulted ceiling. It was under renovations when I visited but will be finished for the May 4 grand reopening. The ballroom was beautiful with chandeliers and windows overlooking the grounds. I would recommend the Prime Rib and Yorkshire Pudding at Dinner. All the seperate dining and conference rooms made the Inn very quaint and cozy. I will be returning to the Inn again. It also is very close and with easy access from the highway.

Room Tip: Third floor had a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GYPSETTER49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmHurstInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Gypsetter49,
We are glad you enjoyed your retreat at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa. Thank you for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Elm Hurst for a weekend away, expecting charm and relaxation. We had the breakfasts, a dinner, and enjoyed a couple of the spa services. Everything was fine, but the inn was lacking the attention to detail and good service etiquette that we would have expected for this price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElmHurstInnkeeper, Public Relations Manager at Elm Hurst Inn & Spa, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear jld,
I'm sorry that our service and etiquette did not meet your expectations. If you had provided more detail I would have been happy to share your concerns with our staff. We value customer feedback and thank you for choosing Elm Hurst Inn & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingersoll
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Ingersoll
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metro
#4 of 41 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Central London
Delta Hotels by Marriott London Armouries
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elm Hurst Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elm Hurst Inn & Spa

Property: Elm Hurst Inn & Spa
Address: Hwy 401 415 Harris St RR 5, Ingersoll, Ontario N5C 3J8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ingersoll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ingersoll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elm Hurst Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located an hour west of Toronto and a short drive from London and Woodstock, this 49 room Inn and Victorian Mansion Dining room sits on 33 acres of countryside, just off Hwy 401. Comfortable guest rooms, renowned cuisine, attentive service, private dining rooms, elegant reception spaces and beautiful grounds have made Elm Hurst Inn & Spa a popular destination for getaways, celebrations and corporate events. Enjoy extra pampering at our on-site Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Elm Hurst Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm Hurst Hotel Ingersoll
Elm Hurst Inn And Spa
Elm Hurst Inn & Spa Ingersoll, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing