We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to highway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Grimsby Ontario
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grimsby
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a reasonably priced hotel, right on the Q.E.W. I would ask for a room on the opposite side of the highway as it was a little noisy. It was very handy for going to different places in the area. Not a luxury hotel by any means but comfortable. The pool was very nice. Right near the lake but there didn't seem to be any access other than a dumpy area (at least that we could find.) The breakfast was your typical continental breakfast. If you're looking for a cheaper place to stay, that is clean and comfortable this would be fine.

Room Tip: on the lake side, the highway side would be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. There has been talk of extending the Waterfront trail along the Grimsby shoreline. Our hope is that it becomes a reality so that our guests have a safe designated area to take a stroll. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 383 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2012 via mobile

If you need a place to stay in Grimsby, keep looking. There are much nicer places within a ten min drive. The place is old and hasn't ever been upgraded. The beds are hard with poor linens. They didn't even have shampoo in the room. Avoid! I will not be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ingmac1972, General Manager at Super 8 Grimsby Ontario, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not pleased with your stay with us. Guest satisfaction is our top priority.

We opened our doors to guests in 2003 and within the last year have replaced all our mattresses as per the Super 8 Standards. We are currently in the process of selecting and updating our bedding to reflect what today's guests come to expect while away from home.

I apologize that there was no shampoo in your room, which is our normal standard. I have spoken to the Housekeeping Supervisor to ensure such incident does not occur again.

If you wish to discuss your stay with us in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

In order to escape the odours and dust of extensive home renovations, we stayed for 8 nights at the local Super 8. From making the reservations to settling our final account, the front desk staff went beyond the call of duty. Their approach to customer service was mirrored in the other support staff who worked diligently at keeping our functional room and the rest of the facilities clean and in good order. Yes, we have certainly enjoyed more lavish accommodation than the Grimsby Super 8, but felt that we received good value and service for the money paid. It was a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: For a little bit more money and quite a bit more space and functionality consider taking a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yogi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I'll echo other reviews, this was an average hotel. The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating for our group of 12 families for a hockey tournament. Had to sign a special waiver that we understood they could remove the entire group if they were too rowdy. Breakfast consisted of toast, bagels, apples, cold cereal or instant oatmeal. Consider bringing a pillow as the hotel provided pillows are not great. Noise from other rooms was minimal. Pool and hot-tub is small, but accommodated fifteen seven year-old children without a problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side to avoid highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khurley6ds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Average room, average bed, average cleansiness... The exterior looked new, but indoors was very average...Would not have stayed a long time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decibelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stayed at Super 8 motel in Grimsby for one night in October 2011. The room was reasonably priced and clean. Check in was quick and easy, front desk staff were nice. The room was okay, 2 double beds, mini fridge and coffee machine. The room smelled a little bit musty which is my only complaint. The free wi-fi worked well.

Overall for the price, it is a reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Take_Me_Away85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I've stayed at this place a couple of time and found it clean and the staff pleasant. The only flaw was their breakfast. Minimal at best in a small crapped room. Lousy coffe.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popiel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grimsby
Casablanca Winery Inn
#2 of 2 in Grimsby
195 reviews
Comfort Inn Hamilton
#12 of 20 in Hamilton
125 reviews
Quality Hotel
#11 of 20 in Hamilton
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
467 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Grimsby Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Grimsby Ontario

Address: 11 Windward Dr | Grimsby, Grimsby, Ontario L3M 4E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Grimsby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Grimsby
Price Range: $95 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Grimsby Ontario 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Grimsby Ontario reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Grimsby Hotel Grimsby
Super 8 Ontario
Super Eight Ontario
Ontario Super 8
Ontario Super Eight
Super 8 Grimsby Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing