We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Been there - Done that.”

Elm Street Cafe Grill
Ranked #14 of 60 Restaurants in Grimsby
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, Canadian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual restaurant providing homestylle comfort food
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Been there - Done that.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Went for dinner with the family. The place has really been cleaned up and updated since the new owners took over. Looked like it could be really good.

The menu looked like it had a lot of variety and the prices seemed okay.

All 5 of us were disappointed with our dinners. The appetizers, salads and deserts were fine but all of our mains were overcooked, dry and tasteless.

I've heard other people make the same comments since we were there so I doubt we would go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jkingma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    38
    21
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
733 reviews
419 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 618 helpful votes
“Good, reasonably priced food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We visited this new restaurant with friends. It is quite clean and bright inside. We were seated immediately; however it was not very busy when we arrived at about 8:30 on a Saturday. By then they have run out of the rib steak special. The meals we ordered (2 steaks, salmon and chicken souvlaki) were fairly good apart from the souvlaki being a bit dry. They portions were quite large. The side salads were also good and the cheesecake was excellent. The only other negative is that we could not get any bread in spite of asking for some. Apart from that, the service was very good.We thought the food was reasonable and certainly offered very good value.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoMusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario
Level Contributor
167 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Best breakfasts in town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Excellent place for breakfast, lunch and a wholesome dinner. We eat there once a week, because the food is very good, the service is better ant the price best of all.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grimsbybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New owner ! same old terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Went in for breakfast , waited and watched at least 7 tables get served before us, THEY LOST THE ORDER in the kitchen...We stopped going there with last management, it seems nothing changed..NEVER again. We walked out so I cant tell you about the food...

  • Visited April 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamd62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Ontario CANADA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice new place to eat in Grimsby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

There are not a lot to choose from in this commuter town when it comes to a good and good valued meal. I came across this new restaurant recently. it is in the same location as the old Village Inn which has probably seen better days before it closed. The Elm St cafe is a super addition to the local eatery scene. It looks fresh, smart and new. We had dinner with friends and the steak and fish and pork choices were excellent and the prices were very reasonable. Service was friendly and efficient.
This is not a fancy, once in a lifetime type of place, but for a solid, delicious meal in Grimsby without emptying your wallet, I can,t think of a better choice. For sure I will be going back soon.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr Andy S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elm Street Cafe Grill also viewed

 

Been to Elm Street Cafe Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing