We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, a little pricey”
Review of Cibo Osteria

Cibo Osteria
Ranked #11 of 65 Restaurants in Grimsby
Price range: $13 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located in Grimsby, 35 minutes from Niagara Falls, on the Niagara Wine Route, Cibo Osteria or just CIBO, brings you small town of Niagara with an excellent contemporary cuisine.Our wood-fired pizza oven opens on summer weather permitting We take pride in being true to the philosophy of food – fresh ingredients, simple recipes that are prepared with love and respect for our customers. At Cibo In Grimsby, you’re enjoying our food, and our wine from Niagara region, we would just like to say welcome you to Cibo and Enjoy your meal !
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good food, a little pricey”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The food is good and the new location very nice. In the summer you can sit out on the patio (they have heaters too) and listen to some very nice music. Everything I have ordered has been very good, I just find the prices a little high.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank schamber21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    45
    24
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, ON
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in local eatery”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a great place to go for a night out with friends, or a cosy dinner for two. Great authentic Italian food. Nice location (right off Main St.)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CrownRidgeBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fabulous pasta and pizza”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

we made it back to grimsby again.....started with pizza, had a pasta main...finished with espresso and cheese cake....never been disappointed yet.....makes me wonder who these people are that give this osteria bad reviews? did they eat somewhere else, because the food at cibo never disappoints.

can't wait til my next trip into niagara for tony's pizza!
ciao,paolo

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow...Saturday Night at Cibo!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Now, here is something you would not expect to hear.... beside the always phenomenal food...the best kept secret at Cibo are the 5 chairs at the bar.. We found that out recently when we arrived without a reservation to find the restaurant fully booked (not a surprise as weekends at cibo is quite busy). We decided to take two seats at the bar, it turned out to be a great night. We had great conversation with Pino as he found time between making drinks and tending to the cash. However, Donna (Tony's partner) comes in on Saturdays from time to time.. and she was marvelous...its easy to see where Tony gets his inspiration from.. If you find yourself at Cibo on the weekend waiting for a table, try the bar....I promise you will enjoy your evening... so, on your next visit, say Hi to the folks behind the bar; Pino and Donna...part of your Cibo family!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doug b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great experience as usual!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We made our way back to Cibo again this weekend and as usual,the food was excellent and the service over the top! We invited friends from out of town and wanted to make the evening really special, so we brought in a couple of bottles of wine that we knew they particularly enjoyed. One of the great things about Cibo is that Tony and his team are very open and accommodating, so bringing in your own wine is welcomed (there is a corkage fee, but its well worth it for that special bottle). We started off with mussels, salads, and tony's famous home made bread and olive spread. Our main dishes included the nightly special (friday is seafood), pasta's and of course we all shared one of his speciality pizza's. We rounded out the evening with coffee's and italian desserts. As the weather turns cold outside, venture out to Cibo for a great dining experience, it will warm you all over!! Hope to see you there....
ciao,
doug

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doug b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibo Osteria also viewed

 

Been to Cibo Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing