We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently great food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cibo Osteria

Cibo Osteria
Ranked #10 of 59 Restaurants in Grimsby
Price range: $0 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Fresh ingredients&simple recipes that are prepared with love and respect.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistently great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

As a long-time customer, I can say that this restaurant is worth returning to again, and again. The commitment they have to cooking authentic Italian comfort food is consistent and reliable. The service is extremely warm and professional. Fantastic.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    43
    23
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“my favourite italian restuarant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I think it time for me to tell the world how great this place is. I visit weekly, either friday nights to enjoy the seafood special, or saturday evenings for the osso bucco or whatever else might be offered. Without a doubt, whatever it is, we are never disappointed. Tony, Drea, George and Adam prepare some of the best Italian dishes that I've ever enjoyed. We return weekly, not only for the great food and wines, but because at Cibo, your treated like family. So, do yourself a favour, stop by, ask for the special, finish it off with a great piece of cheese cake or cannoli, espresso, cappucinno or your favourite italian liqueur. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doug b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having visited the restaurant numerous times, I continue to be impressed with the quality of the food and service that Tony and his team provide. Pastas are fabulous, pizza's unmatched anywhere!
You have to give this restaurant a try. Having travelled to Europe often, .... Cibo is truly a taste of italy, only better.
caio.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Food was good but the service was awful. Also, I do not liked being nickel and dimed! They charge you extra for every little thing. When I mentioned this to the waitress I got attitude from her and an argument, finally talked to the owner who was reasonable about it and took the extra charges off. Just put the full price on the menu!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Thought it would've been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had heard that this restaurant had fabulous homemade pasta especially on Thursdays when an Aunt comes in to make her special ravioli. So we decided to try it last Thursday. We did not dine in as it was a beautiful day and wanted to eat on our patio. So I called in the order of 1 homemade ravioli $16.00 and 1 linguine calabrese $19.00. It was ready within 25 min for pick up - I checked the bag because I thought it felt very light considering what we'd ordered - but there were 2 containers inside the bag, along with 2 pieces of bread, small container of parmesan and a small container of olive tapenade. The were 5 raviolis - they were large, but still I was shocked that it meant they cost $3.20 each. The cheese mix inside was very creamy and the sauce was quite good too. The liguine was pretty much a huge pile of pasta - there was probably a tablespoon of pancetta in it and it was so hot that you could'nt even enjoy it. I like spicy, and I knew it was - but that was too much - when you lose the flavour because your mouth is burning - that's too hot. I certainly was surprised that this pile of pasta was $19.00. To say the least, we were not impressed with the value. The ravioli was defintely delicious - but the linguine was nothing I'd ever order again.

Unfortunately, I think it's somewhat overpriced considering what you get and I won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank natthefiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibo Osteria also viewed

 

Been to Cibo Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing