We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay in Gore Bay!”
Review of The Queen's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gore Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Queen's Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Gore Bay B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“THE place to stay in Gore Bay!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

This is a really great B&B in an old historic hotel that has been updated with everything that you'd need while still maintaining its original charm. My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in the Victoria room (#1). Right outside our room was the second floor veranda with a great view of the harbour and a perfect place for a coffee in the morning or to read a book at night. Susan and her staff were extremely welcoming and her breakfast is to die for! She even fully catered to my gluten allergy with g-f bread products. Our stay was fabulous and would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jgoesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto and Chennai
Level Contributor
154 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Delightful hospitality in tastefully restored inn from the 1880s. Susan went out of her way to provide customised tourist advice to us - room was extremely comfortable. Great location looking out over the harbour, with the boardwalk steps away. Breakfast was first-rate. Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brennunjal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Beautiful bed & breakfast spot. The room was very pretty, furnished with antiques, which meant if we wanted a cozy chair to curl up in, we needed to move to the downstairs living room or the library area on the second floor. Breakfast was excellent. The owner was extremely knowledgeable about the island, making suggestions of places to go and things to see.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank judy155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Queens Inn is a charming old house that has been livingly restored by it's current owner Susan. The rooms are beautifully decorated with wonderfully comfortable beds and breakfast is plentiful and delicious. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50Goldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdswell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

A lovely place to stay. Susan was very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful, giving us plenty of ideas of things to do & places to visit. We stayed in the suite, as there were 3 of us, which was beautiful. There were lovely views from the hotel and the most fantastic breakfast which kept you going all day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagheera60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay. It is a quaint inn with friendly staff. We arrived late (9pm) and had made arrangements with the owner that we would be arriving at that time. There were no issues with this. We stayed in the suite and had a nice visit. The bed was comfortable and warm (I am always cold). Though there was a fan and my hubby did not find the room hot though it was a warm summer night. The bathroom is clean and well stocked with towels. The breakfast was delicious- coffee, tea, orange juice, yogurt, cereal, banana muffins, toast, omelets, and fresh berries. The owner and her daughter were helpful with lots of info about the island and genuinely interested in our lives. We will go back if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I was recently in Gore Bay for 2 weeks for work, and the Queen's Inn became my home. I rarely post reviews but I had such a great time I felt the need to share this gem with everyone!

BUILDING: The pictures posted are beautiful but do not do it justice. It's a beautiful Victorian home with high ceilings, beautiful wooden floors and tons of natural light from its many windows. There is a spacious dining area for breakfast each morning, a sitting room with a fireplace and piano, comfortable bedrooms with nice thick pillows and a large 2nd floor verandah with sitting chairs overlooking the lake/marina.

FOOD: I tried very hard to stay on my diet during my stay but it was very difficult as my nose was greeted by the smell of freshly brewed coffee and just-baked muffins/scones/french toast every morning! In addition to these options, guests can also have a variety of fruits, cereals, juices or smoothies, and a "savoury" option - like an omelette with cheese.

SERVICE: This was really what made my stay at the Queen's Inn so wonderful. Susan, her daughter Nicky, assistant Linda, and on the weekends, her husband Robert, are some of the nicest people you'll ever meet. Susan is always ready with suggestions for dinner or local activities. She's always keen to know if there is anything she can do to make a guest's stay more comfortable, and she really helped me feel like I was "home" during my two weeks away. In the end, it was very hard to leave my newfound friends!!!!

If you're ever up in Gore Bay, whether for business or for leisure, definitely stay at Queen's Inn. I promise you'll be glad you did :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gore Bay
26.5 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
18.8 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
33.5 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.4 mi away
The Meldrum Bay Inn
The Meldrum Bay Inn
#1 of 2 in Meldrum Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
33.3 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
19.4 mi away
Mindemoya Motel
Mindemoya Motel
#3 of 3 in Mindemoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Inn

Property: The Queen's Inn
Address: 19 Water St, Gore Bay, Ontario P0P 1H0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Gore Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gore Bay
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Queen's Inn Gore Bay, Manitoulin Island, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing