We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
Ranked #1 of 2 Eagle Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cute and Quaint”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We spent a couple nights there this past weekend and were impressed. Cute little rooms in good shape and clean. Great views of the lake. We ran the haliburton 50 mile trail race on one of the days and the water spa at Sir Sam's was awesome for us to heal. Steven (???), the manager was kind enough to open the spa up for us early the next morning after our race and was very pleased to do it. We also had to compliment the chef. We had a fantastic dinner in the Spinach & Bean Salad and Chicken entree. We also had the lamb entree although there seemed to be difficulty cooking it to medium. The cut of lamb was excellent, just kept getting it served rare. That said, all the side fixin's and other dishes were top notch. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Open_Road_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    98
    26
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
235
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

It really doesn't get much better than this place. We'd been to Sir Sam's before, in Fall and Winter, and loved it, but had never been there in summer. So we somehow managed to get a gorgeous lakeside room with balcony for the Labour Day weekend, by booking the day before. What luck. It was fabulous. From the beautifully appointed room, to the new luxurious water spa, to the incredible swimming and canoeing, to the outstanding food - this place is heads and shoulders above anything else in the region. What we enjoyed most was the completely relaxed atmosphere, along with extremely attentive service. Max, the extremely engaging young man who runs the waterfront, took us on a private tour of Eagle Lake and the adjoining lake, in the lodge's motorboat (usually used for water-skiing) and he entertained us with interesting stories of the local inhabitants the entire time. Saturday evening there was a huge outdoor fire, with a lovely musician playing his guitar, as we all sat around drinking and chilling. Really hard to beat that, after a tough day of swimming in the pool and lake, canoeing, playing tennis, and lying in the spa pools. Go get spoiled - it's worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighcroftManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had dinner in the Sir Sam's dinning room, and as soon as we entered it was very muggy, and sticky inside. We understand them keeping the inn in its time, however the dinning room carpet is old, and dirty and cool air system is a must for dinners on a hot summer day with no breezes off the lake. The windows toward the lake were open, but no breeze entered. The waitress brought the menus, and provided us room temp glasses of water. The waitress did not explain that the meal included an appetizer, which one of our party did not want. They did switch it out and replaced it with dessert. The appetizer's came for the three of us, and they were good. Two of us ordered bacon wrapped chicken, which came with mushroom stuffed ravioli and the other two ordered the beef. The bacon on the chicken was half cooked, and the chicken underneath was dry. The ravioli was good, and the mashed potatoes with the beef were good. One beef was so grisly, and full of fat they could not eat it. We did provide the feed back to the waitress to give to the chef. The chef did take the one meal off the bill, and gave a glass of wine to the one guest who had dry chicken. The wait staff was nice and professional. It was too hot in the dining room to have coffee so we had dessert, which we thought was part of the whole meal price. It was not. The experience was not as we thought it would be. We were hot, sweaty, and sticky sitting in the dinning room. Parts of the meal were good, and others were not. We found it way overpriced for what we a received. We will not be back to dine at Sir Sam's Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lou-ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just visited Sir Sam's on Eagle lake outside of Haliburton, ON. The service was very friendly, food was excellent and the room was clean and quiet. We made use of the spa and water spa and highly recommend this - very relaxing. Spend the extra to get a room on the second floor with views of the lake - 43 is recommended. You can view the sunsets over the lake from the deck or a reading chair beside the fireplace. Bikes are available for a nice ride through the quiet cottage roads, and there are a lot of boats for use. I also had no idea there was a small ski hill right beside which actually looked very nice - great for mountain biking in the summer. We are already planning another trip back to the Inn.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony over looking the lake in one of the separate buildings. They are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

A small gem of a country resort and spa, situated on beautiful Eagle Lake in the Halliburton countryside of Ontario.
The drive is about 240 kilometers or 3 hours from Toronto.

It offers all one could ask for at a very reasonable price with food inclusive plans available. All amenities are included. Water skiing, paddle boarding, canoeing, kayaking, bicycling, and hiking all available as part of the inclusive price.

A wide choice of other activities are available appropriate to the season.

The spa pool was very pleasant, and an good selection of spa services are available but not experienced on this visit.

Dining was refined with interesting menus that change daily.

Service was exceptional, with the star being the young gentleman who ran the watersports.

This was a first of what I expect will be regular visits to this charming resort.

Room Tip: All suites face the lake. This is a resort for those who like small personal, individually owned an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights during the week of August 12th. We were looking for somewhere quiet and without screaming kids, and we found it! We loved the water spa, and used it every day. Overall we never felt crowded even though I'm sure the inn was busy. There were opportunities to socialize or do our own thing if we wanted. The room was off of the main inn (near tennis courts) and we had a balcony overlooking the lake. The food was outstanding, we opted for the full meal plan and it was definitely worth it. There was lots to do, we did cycling, canoeing, walks, boat tour and of course the water spa.The staff were very friendly and professional. We plan to come back, and would recommend it to people looking for a relaxing couples get away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toron2_East_Yorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife had looked on-line and chose Sir Sams because of the ratings and its adults only...and we were not disappointed. We arrived on the Monday and had an absolutely delicious dinner followed by royal treatment and meals for the rest of the week. Our room was great...overlooking the lake and had a fireplace. The meals were wonderful. The boat tours, kayaks, catamarans, etc were all great and the service was exceptional. The resort itself was clean and had everything you would expect, even more...and the people / service was exceptional. Every member of the staff was so gracious and accommodating, it was just great. The evening bonfires by the beach were also great, meeting many nice people and having some good discusses under the stars. I have to say, it was the best Ontario resort vacation I have had to date...and I'm in my early 50s. I should also add that Ryan, the innkeeper, made the rounds every day, making sure everyone was having a good time. Lastly, during conversations with other guests, it bacame apparent that several people make this a yearly thing...some as many as 20 plus years. Hats off to the Sir Sams...we had an exceptional time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Lake
9.9 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
204 reviews
9.0 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
14.0 mi away
Heather Lodge
Heather Lodge
#2 of 7 in Minden
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
105 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 9 in Haliburton
48 reviews
16.0 mi away
Nomi Resort
Nomi Resort
#1 of 1 in Harcourt
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa

Property: Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
Address: 1491 Sir Sam's Road, Eagle Lake, Ontario K0M 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > Eagle Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eagle Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Sir Sam's Inn & Spa is an adults-oriented resort nestled in the Haliburton Highlands right in the heart of cottage country at the base of Eagle Lake, Ontario, Canada. This historical boutique Inn was establish in 1919 and is surrounded by quaint villages, majestic hills and more than 6,000 lakes. The Haliburton Wildlife Center and several golf courses are near the hotel. Hotel Features. Sir Sam's Inn & Spa was once the estate of Sir Samuel Hughes, the government minister who led Canada's military during WWI. This stone-and-timber historical mansion is constructed along Eagle Lake's scenic shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Sam`s Inn And Waterspa
Sir Sam`s Inn & Water Hotel Eagle Lake
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa Eagle Lake, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing