We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super vacation for us!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
Ranked #1 of 2 Eagle Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super vacation for us!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We are on our way home from our trip to sir Sam's and we are reflecting on what a great time we had! The service and food was amazing and three are a ton of activities included for no extra charge. The water was warm in the lake and made for great swimming and padal boarding, canoeing etc. The water spa was no extra charge and was really warm and very relaxing. There was also a huge soaker tub in our room. We would highly recommend this romantic venue!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgriffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    103
    28
    10
    8
See reviews for
27
245
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We picked Sir Sam to celebrate our 30th anniversary for a couple of nights. The place was chosen because it was one of the Ontario Finest Inns which hadn't disappointed. Also, it is about 2 hours north Toronto which weather should be cooler in the summer. The day before went, we were a bit worry that the room without airconditioner might feel streamy as Toronto soared to 35C. Upon our arrival, our worry was behind us as the lake breeze was cool and the weather also turned cooler.

What a nice facility?!?! Water sport, pool, indoor spa & lots of trails around the Inn. We enjoyed the after-dinner desert outside the restaurant within a screen-enclosed patio.. We just enjoyed the sunset, the cool breeze, live piano, delicious desert and coffee while chatting with a couple of hotel guests.

A very nice anniversary retreat indeed;)

Also, there is a real fireplace in the room so we might head back this winter. Also, it is right next to the ski hill.

Room Tip: Room for a couple in the main building facing the lake... Nice cool breeze in the summer. Cottage f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist_TO_Cdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We did an all-inclusive two night stay in the spring off season. Very reasonably priced. The food was excellent and presented well. The casual dresscode was a plus. We stayed in the upper level of the "villas" to the right of the main inn. Our room was on the small side, but suited our stay. It had a fireplace, balcony, and jacuzzi bath. The staff were very friendly and informative. Indoor waterspa was very relaxing and peaceful. We recommend this inn and will be going back. Very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Our room was small but adequate for a short getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravellers51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

highly recommend Sir Sam's as a quiet, weekend get-away - every time we go it restores and rejuvenates us. We've been several times and have tried just about all the different accommodation choices on the lake's edge. this one was the best yet I think. (can't speak for the the resort main building accommodations). But waking up to the view of Eagle Lake, resting the day away on a cushion lounge chair (build for 2), or having a glass of wine on the deck while listening to some wonderful guitarist - can't get much better than that. For meals, we did just the breakfast plan one day, and the full 'breakfast and dinner' plan the next. Meals are always great. Table service this year was perhaps a tad inexperienced (early in the season maybe), but overall the staff are all very accommodating and enjoyable to chat with. Don't miss spending some time in the pool/spa - especially if its not crowded - it was a great way to relax under the stars.

Room Tip: Jut about every room has a fireplace. We like the ones furthest from the lodge, with the upgraded tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCandSunshineBand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Beautiful surroundings, a tour upon arrival, friendly staff and the waterspa all helped to set us into 'relax mode' immediately. Our room was nicely appointed and although the rooms don't have air conditioning it wasn't missed with the beautiful breeze from the lake. Many activities were available for those who would like to participate but it wasn't hard to find privacy and quiet time for those (like us) who just needed to recuperate and rest.
We enjoyed a healthy tasty breakfast at the Inn each morning with both cold and hot food options. We ate one dinner and one lunch at the Inn and thoroughly enjoyed both meals.

Room Tip: Second floor northwoods rooms have a nice lakeview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blessedt0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was a great place to get away for a few days. We were fortunate to have the only independent building a chalet-type lodging that is connected to the inn by a path. Plenty of room for a family of four with a fire ring and benches, a grill. It really would have been great to have a small deck on the front to sit and look at the lake, however. Interior was great with a full kitchen. The inn was lovely as was the restaurant, but it is pricey. Dinner for a family of four with a bottle of wine came to $250.00 one evening. We ate there two nights out of the four and the other two we used the gas grill at our lodging. Pool was nice, but too cold. It should be heated. No one used it even though the weather was warm. Lots of canoes and other types of boats to use, however there needs to be a little better access to the shed to get the life jackets and paddles. Water spa was nice. Had a wonderful massage there. Shampoos, soaps, etc could have been a little better quality due to the type of inn and the price paid. My spa robe had seen better days and needed to be replaced. They do work on a barebones staff, but everyone was friendly and willing to help you out. Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We arrived after a reasonable journey from the tackiness of niagara to a setting and ambiance that immediately made us feel relaxed. The staff were friendly and helpful and some of us went canoeing and swimming but a wide range of watersports were available. Cocktails on the porch overlooking the wonderful view of the lake. Dinner was what we wanted after the fast junk food of niagara and there was a wonderful diverse wine list to supplement it. Lovely breakfast in the quaint dinning room and then a day relaxing , lovely salad for lunch on the veranda and a nice swim and lovely couples massage.The rest of our party went riding with a lovely packed lunch .We then all had a wonderful dinner , interesting and innovative dishes , a cheese and onion soup with onion fritters
was sublime and the asparagus with vegetable studel was just the right textures.interesting and tasty main courses including bison and a osso bucca done just the way it should be Just what is needed for a friendly relaxing break away with lovely food , especially when you have come all the way from England and have experienced a wide range of places

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AT190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle Lake
11.8 mi away
Little Hawk Resort and Marina
Little Hawk Resort and Marina
#1 of 1 in Algonquin Highlands
45 reviews
9.0 mi away
Pinestone Resort and Conference Centre
9.9 mi away
Bonnie View Inn
Bonnie View Inn
#1 of 9 in Haliburton
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Heather Lodge
Heather Lodge
#2 of 7 in Minden
188 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#2 of 9 in Haliburton
51 reviews
18.3 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#4 of 16 in Algonquin Provincial Park
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa

Property: Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
Address: 1491 Sir Sam's Road, Eagle Lake, Ontario K0M 1M0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > Eagle Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Eagle Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location. Sir Sam's Inn & Spa is an adults-oriented resort nestled in the Haliburton Highlands right in the heart of cottage country at the base of Eagle Lake, Ontario, Canada. This historical boutique Inn was establish in 1919 and is surrounded by quaint villages, majestic hills and more than 6,000 lakes. The Haliburton Wildlife Center and several golf courses are near the hotel. Hotel Features. Sir Sam's Inn & Spa was once the estate of Sir Samuel Hughes, the government minister who led Canada's military during WWI. This stone-and-timber historical mansion is constructed along Eagle Lake's scenic shoreline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Sam`s Inn And Waterspa
Sir Sam`s Inn & Water Hotel Eagle Lake
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa Eagle Lake, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing