We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It used to be better...”
Review of Rubbs Barbecue Bistro - CLOSED

Rubbs Barbecue Bistro
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It used to be better...”
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This was a place we used to eat at all the time... Food was great with lots of local ingredients... It's changed a lot in the last few years and unfortunately not for the better. Too bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Campbellford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you love BBQ”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a good bbq place but has a limited menu. we loved the BBQfood, I just did not like the sides, coleslaw, beans,

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sherrill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner time...”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Good food, and lots of it! Loved the mashed potatoes and pulled pork sandwich... Wait time was minimal and desserts looked good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“yuck !!”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have tried this place 4 different times , first time I was not impressed , second time I was not impressed , 3rd time not impressed , 4th time sealed the deal..... I do not recommend this place .

On my 4th visit ( which was not my choice ) my boss sent me over to get some take out lunch for us , upon my arrival , ,the owner was in the kitchen area cooking and on the phone , a server came and took my order , it was just 2 burgers and potato wedges . I noticed while waiting for my order , they had ribs thawing out in the soup warmer , since being in the cooking industry for 20 plus years , I cant tell you this is NOT a good thing.

After getting my order , took 20 mins to get and the owner was still cooking and talking on the phone , got back to work with our lunch and the potato wedges were still hard in the middle and the burger was nothing special .

The other times I went the food was nothing to brag about either , with every bite it reminded me and tasted like I was eating a smoky house fire , had the brisket once and it was dry and another time I opted for the rib's , they were dry and not fall off the bone kind , had to fight to get the meat off the bones .

Do yourself a favour , go a few doors down to Capers and have a good meal !!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gelaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Mediocre. Been there twice and both times they got the order wrong. The food wasn't really that good. Must survive selling alcohol.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubbs Barbecue Bistro also viewed

Campbellford, Trent Hills
Campbellford, Trent Hills
 
Campbellford, Trent Hills
Campbellford, Trent Hills
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing