We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Campbellford River Inn
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Bed Yoga Breakfast(Campbellford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emilyville Inn(Campbellford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
6
3
6
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
3
6
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssecond floorpicnic tablesthe ownergreat place to staybeautiful viewcampfiresummermicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 27 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This place is a bit too pricey being in the country. You can find a motel for $80 in the Comfort Inn in Cobourg and has breakfast. This place charges like $140 a night with one tiny little bar of soap, the lighting is very dim and some bulbs need replacement. For some reason, you cannot get a single room with a double bed, they only have a room available with two double beds which costs you more. There is no extra electrical outlets, having you to unplug something to add something. They don't seem to have a noise policy in place or don't enforce it. They fill their swimming pool with a hose each year and takes 3 months to fill up. The decorated pictures of the room on the website are different from what you get and yes there is an odour when you first walk into the room, smells like pets/smoke/mildew. They need to steam clean their carpets. The look is old and not up to date, it does look like a very cheap room for $140.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

The room was expensive compared to other motels in the area. More importantly, the first thing I noticed as soon as I open the door was the smell of cigarette smoke and body odor. When I turned on the lights, I was just as disappointed. The room was outdated and in need of repairs. The toilet tank cover was broken in half and the bathroom faucet handle was broken. The overall feeling of the room was unclean and in disrepair. I will not be staying at this motel again and I suggest that you don't either.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CanamTraveller007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The River Inn Motel is a great place to stay when visiting Campbell Ford. It's really close to the local restaurants and shops. Also, its perfect for staying at when attending a wedding at Polmenna Barn. It's about a 20 minute $30 cab ride. Our room was nice ans clean. The staff very friendly and helpful. At night people were having a campfire by the river which I thought was cool. My only complaints were that the pool wasn't as nice as the photos made it appear to be, the room smelled a little musty and the shampoo bottles were reused. All in all a great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

The service was decent at this place, the staff were very nice but the rooms were over priced, the dock on the river was old and looked unsafe. The worst part was that we had a top floor room and could hear the entire conversation of the people in the room below us, until 3 am. They weren't yelling or anything, it was just a regular speaking sound level, but it sounded like they were standing right outside of our room. Overall it was clean, it had a fridge which was nice and the staff were nice too, but it was over priced and not sound proof at all!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taylor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The grounds, at first glance, are lovely. Lots of grass, two BBQ areas, large pool, pretty fountain, spectacular river front location. BUT, pool was not yet open for summer (in July??), both brick BBQs were crumbling, the concrete pads were uneven with construction rubble at the side, broken glass from previous night's drinkers. There is a large floating dock for boaters but the ramp to the shore has railing on both sides that was old and ramshackle, a definite hazard while the dock is bobbing in the water. A dumpster sits at rear of the grounds with 7 ugly storage sheds.
Price was reasonable for a king bed. But the room # 103, was on second floor with a narrow and steep stairway. So narrow that climbing up with luggage in both hands was tricky. My wife tripped on the top stair and went down face first on the landing. No harm done.
The room had a nice comfortable bed but was badly dated and not attractive at all. Fridge door cracked, door frame to bath room broken, but the bath room floor and walls seemed newly tiled and pretty. Good water pressure in shower. Large t.v. worked well, seemed new. Perhaps efforts are being made to upgrade units. The unit needs carpet update. A/C noisy and bothersome but worked well. I sat on the chair and wife said "Be careful" The dowels holding legs to frame had come out and a complete chair collapse was imminent. I shoved it together and left a note for owner to fix it. Saddest of all, when I made coffee in the morning, there was an old coffee packet in the machine. One can only presume the cleaning staff were not thorough.
Nice to have 2 chairs on deck to enjoy the view. There are no ice machines but owner/operator came up with a baggie of cubes.
Owner/operators quite friendly and helpful, but over all, I would pass on this motel. If you look at owner supplied photos of the grounds you will think it is splendid, but, photos do not tell whole story about this place. The pretty stone seating area is completely overgrown with weeds and unusable. Not shown are the crumbling brick BBQs and shaky hand railing at the dock, nor the difficult stairway to second level.
Not for me again.

Room Tip: Second level for better view and less noise from parking. But stairway is not satisfactory
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews