We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood Lovers’ Heaven”

Olde Tyme Fish & Chips
Ranked #7 of 109 Restaurants in Bowmanville
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Takeout
Description: Our light battered whole fish halibut, cod, haddock, and fresh cut fries are said to be the best in town.
Bowmanville, Canada
1 review
“Seafood Lovers’ Heaven”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wow. The Halibut portion was great. It was bigger than I thought.
We also had some popcorn shrimps and clam. It was a seafood lovers’ heaven.
I am thinking of having some burgers next time. They looked great, too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 988a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    12
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Hidden Gem in Bowmanville!!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I am glad that I found this place. Finally there is a great fish and chips restaurant in Bowmanville.
I ordered a Halibut and my friend had a Cod. I ended up having most of the two. : )
Fresh, Clean and Friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eksj117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Amazing Fish and Chips!!!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Best Fish and Chips ever! Home made, freshly battered fish, fried perfectly. Fries are cut in house and amazing! Kids loved the poutine. Service was excellent and super friendly. Definitely will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bleec0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in Bowmanville”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We have had the Halibut fish and chips here about four times now and have ALWAYS had an excellent meal. The fish isn't all batter and the chips are not greasy so you are not left with that "I can't wait to brush my teeth" feeling. Both the fish and chips are cooked just right. When you get the take out service your food is placed in a cardboard type container which doesn't make everything soggy due to condensation.
The portions are fairly generous although when the food is this tasty larger portions wouldn't hurt. To be fair though I have never felt that I was still hungry after eating a meal. Prices are reasonable, the restaurant is clean and the staff are friendly. What more could you ask for. Nice to have a good fish and chip restaurant in Bowmanville. Even if I lived out of town I'd drive here just for the fish and chips.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarellMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All very good. Attentive pleasant aervice”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

A lovely place to eat. Quick, friendly, and nice lightly battered fresh fish. Clean and pleasant staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EveBmilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olde Tyme Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Olde Tyme Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing