We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chanterelle Bistro

Chanterelle Bistro
Ranked #2 of 109 Restaurants in Bowmanville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bowmanville, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

I was so tired of the usual fare of the chain restaurants and I was looking forward to trying something different so I visited Chanterelle Bistro for lunch. From beginning to end, the meal was perfect. The bread was home made, (just like mom used to make), the romaine salad had just the right amount of dressing and the braised lamb shank was to die for. It just fell off the bone. Dessert did not disappoint. The creme brulee was the best I've ever tasted. The staff was very pleasant. What a welcome change. I will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    36
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice little spot in a town full of fast food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Had our first dinner at Chanterelle last night and was delighted. From the crisp table cloths to cloth napkins to the sugar cubes, our table was inviting. Decor is simple, focussing on fresh tables and local artists' work to keep the place pleasant, making the food the star of the show. Husband and I enjoyed appetizers, him the romaine with garlic dressing, and myself the crab cakes. Both delicious. For dinner he enjoyed the surf and turf, steak cooked perfectly. I enjoy the braised lamb, which was falling off the bone! Delish. Appetizers, dinner, wine and dessert-to-go came to $120. Quiet, lovely dinner. Will absolutely return again and again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VintageJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in a Durham region!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We love this restaurant! It is charming and the food is delicious. The wine selection is very good and reasonable. The service is excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This a wonderful dining room. They do have prepackaged meals there is a chef that prepares your meal

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We lunched here with friends and were very pleased with the food and the great service. The menu is quite varied and offers a nice range of selection. The Angus steak was perfect and the salmon was perfectly prepared as was the special of the day which was a stuffed ravioli. The salads were fresh and nicely dressed and the coffee was top quality. Our waitress was very professional and attended to us seamlessly. Service was prompt and correct. The washrooms were immaculate. Plenty of parking out front and across the street.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DWGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chanterelle Bistro also viewed

 
Bowmanville, Ontario
Bowmanville, Ontario
 
Bowmanville, Ontario
 

Been to Chanterelle Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing