We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“over rated food was OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chanterelle Bistro

Chanterelle Bistro
Ranked #2 of 109 Restaurants in Bowmanville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cobourg, Ontario
Level Contributor
127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“over rated food was OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The menu was small and the food was nothing fancy. We had a aprty of five and the bill was high considering the food we had. There are not too many fancy restaurants in Bowmanville so this one feels it does not have to try hard.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank elainelily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    36
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Consistently great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have eaten here several times on weekend evenings with large groups. We have tried several menu items and the food is always delicious and the service is prompt and accurate. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank archar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

A group of us went to Chantrelle's for dinner.It is located in an old house with many different rooms. We were located a the front of the restaurant so I didn't get to see much of the decor.The food was excellent. I had a steak along with a few other people and we all were quite impressed.My wife had the chicken and was equally thrilled with her meal.I had a tomato salad with feta cheese and she had a shrimp coctail, both very enjoyable.Our whole party thorougly enjoyed their meal and I didn't hear one complaint.We all had a very enjoyable experience with great service and I know I will definately return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank trkndg44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Wedding at Willow Pond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Attended a Wedding Ceremony at Willow Pond last year, then we made our way to their Reception site. Wedding food is usually pretty awful, but this caterer was awesome! Never had such delicious food at a Wedding - like eating at a 5 star restaurant. It was great to find out that this caterer actually owns a restaurant in Bowmanville - we are now loyal patrons!! Don't miss this gem in Bowmanville -- Toronto quality with the small town personal touch.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneOHeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Looking for a great place to dine, this is it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I have been dining a Chanterelle's for quite some time now and we are never disappointed. It is best to make reservations as it is always extremely busy ... and for good reason! The service is excellent as well as the food. Derek, the owner and chef, was designated the 5th top chef in Canada! Bowmanville is so lucky to have acquired Derek & Marita as they go out of there way to ensure your experience at their establishment is the best! They offer catering as well! If you are looking for great food at a reasonable price, you will love Chanterelle's!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank averyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chanterelle Bistro also viewed

 
Bowmanville, Ontario
Bowmanville, Ontario
 

Been to Chanterelle Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing