We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bowmanville
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for business at the end of September. Hotel was perfect for our needs. The beds were comfortable, hotel was clean and the front desk were helpful and friendly. Express breakfast in the morning was fine. I had some issues with the internet but never anything bad.

The eating options nearby are somewhat limited if you do not have a vehicle. Dairy Queen, Tim Hortons, Wendy's

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 514tattoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBMManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We sincerely look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you're in town!

Warm regards,

Kim Shields
Front Office and Sales Manager
905-697-8089 ext 153
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    77
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
52
35
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
southern ontario
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My friend and I stayed a night here and it was a great place. Not one complaint. Clean, seemed new, stylish and staff was great. The beds and pillows were awesome - didn't want to get up!!
There is an indoor pool and little fitness room, a lovely lobby and breakfast included. There was a choice of eggs, ham, bagels, toast, pancakes, yoghurt, apples, bananas, cereal, oatmeal, cinnamon buns, coffee, tea, milk - something for everyone.
I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burooxtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulaville, Nc
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The girls that staffed the desk daytime during the week were fabulous as well as the woman that kept the breakfast area. The guys that worked the desk nighttime and weekends were not impressive at all.. My co-worker's room never got cleaned and when she went down to tell the desk and get towels, he was almost rude to her. The housekeeping staff for my room did an excellent job. The beds are a little hard for my liking but the linens are fresh, crisp and luxurious and the pillows were great!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear L S,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I apologize for your dissatisfaction on some of our staff and services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Again, thank you for the feedback and our apologies for the shortcomings. We hope we can serve you better next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice new rooms, nice service and good location.
Breakfast was included and is the typical "Express" fare.
One of the few full service hotels in the area and a sure bet in the area.

A fair amount of noise as it seems to be a preferred location for team sports - there was some sort of tournament and the kids were excited. Next time we would ask and make sure we are on a floor with a little less :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was our first stop on our 6 day cycling trip to Montreal. Great service - was very happy with the location as it was only a couple minutes away from the Waterfront Trail. The front service personnel were very helpful and accommodating. The room was comfortable and roomy. Will stay here again if I end up doing a ride through Bowmanville again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lali317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on a Friday and Saturday as we had a girls baseball tournament, but we were really only at the hotel from 9:00 p.m. on each night
Pros: Clean hotel.
Cons: indoor pool was COLD, and the fumes from the chlorine burned your eyes, sol it was hard to stay in the pool (maybe from the hot tub), so this aspect was not good.
Security is over the top- security came to us a couple times with different issues: our door was left ajar, which wasn't allowed and also adults were speaking too loudly in the room, but it wasn't even 11:00 p.m. Our group occupied most of the floor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JENJEN6855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBMManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful review.

I apologize for the issue you experienced with the pool. Both the temperature and the chemicals are controlled by automatic systems that adjust based on the levels in the pool (and hot tub). If there were a lot of people using the pool that day, in order to keep the pool at safe levels for people's health, additional chemicals would have been automatically added to compensate for the amount of use and keep everything at optimum levels for guest safety. The temperature is always automatically maintained at a comfortable 82 degrees. If it was below that, I apologize. We received no notification of temperature issues. Please, if that ever happens again, let the front desk know. There could be a problem that needs investigating and we definitely appreciate a heads-up!

Regarding security, the conduct agreement provided signed by all group guests at check-in specifies a 10pm - 7am enforced quiet time. As we do have others in the hotel who are not participating in tournaments, we have to ensure that all our valued guests have an enjoyable stay. There are only 10 double queen rooms per floor so the other 9 are occupied by non-team guests.
That said, we do understand that team guests like to have fun which is why we offer a complimentary hospitality room for teams (upon request and with a standard signed agreement) that you are most welcome to enjoy while you're with us, allowing you the opportunity to socialize without concern. Please don't hesitate to ask about it next time your team is booked with us!! I'll send it to you in advance.

I hope I addressed some of your concerns and clarified the reasons why we do the things we do.
Please never hesitate to advise the hotel while you're here if there is something that you are dissatisfied with. Most of the time, we can make things right!

If you have any questions or additional comments, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Warm regards,

Kim Shields
Front Office and Sales Manager
fdm@hiexbowmanville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napanee, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The first thing that stands out to me about this hotel is it's excellent housekeeping staff. We stayed here for 3 nights this weekend for the Boots & Hearts music festival. Whether we were out of the room for an hour for breakfast, or a few hours at the festival, we ALWAYS came back to a fresh smelling spotless room. Housekeeping was very respectful with our items while cleaning, and always left us with a wide variety of coffees and teas in room. The location was convenient as it is right off the 401, and right up the street from Tim Horton's/Wendy's and a gas station/convenience store. Breakfast had great selection and was very good each morning. Check in was quick and easy which was much appreciated as we were in a hurry to get to the music festival! Front desk staff were very kind and even gave us a list of local transportation options for the festival, and local restaurants with a map, which was very thoughtful. A vending machine was available our first night for late night snacks when we returned to the room, and each night regardless of what time we came in, a staff member greeted us in a friendly way. The hotel was great with dealing with the large crowd here for the festival, and I was not disrupted once by noise while here. The only negative to this location would be no wireless Internet in the rooms, but they do offer wired connections in room and wireless in common areas. We both had data plans to use in room, so we didn't really miss it. Another small thoughtful detail would be the channel list that is offered for the TV, and Bath & Body Works shampoo/conditioner/lotion that smell fabulous. Overall I would recommend this hotel and would definitely come back. In fact, I will try my best to get a reservation here again next year when we return to Boots & Hearts! Thanks Holiday Inn! Also to the housekeeping staff - we have stayed at many, many Holiday Inn's and hotels in general and have never had such a delightful experience as we have here. Thanks for all of your hard work! It doesn't go unnoticed and is much appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBMManager, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
What a lovely review!!! Thank you so much for all your kind words!!

I just want to address a couple of points to, hopefully, make your next stay a bit more comfortable.
We do have channel guides! They should be right next to the TV. I'm so sorry that yours was missing. While it definitely should have been there in the first place, and that is our fault (I will be bringing it to the attention of the Executive Housekeeper as housekeeping should be ensuring they are present) we would have been more than happy to bring you a replacement.

We are having the hotel retrofitted with fiber optics. This should be complete by the end of September and our wireless internet will be amazing!!

We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in town!!

Warm regards,

Kim Shields
Front Office and Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmanville
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown - Toronto Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Suites
#2 of 7 in Whitby
158 reviews
Residence Inn Whitby
#1 of 7 in Whitby
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville
Address: 37 Spicer Sq, Bowmanville, Ontario L1C 5M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bowmanville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bowmanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Clarington - Bowmanville
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing