We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like booking into a jail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bowmanville
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Felt like booking into a jail”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Lets get this straight off the bat, I was part of one of those hockey teams that attended a local tournament, so that might taint your feelings about my review. really I had no problem with the hotel facilities...it was pretty clean and breakfast was ok. The part I really disliked was the naziesque paranoid attitude that the hotel had towards the hockey teams. Our team was made up of seven year olds who's main concern was when and where they could play mini sticks with each other. the kids were not allowed to play anywhere. The parents were not allowed to congregate anywhere. security guards roamed the hallways making sure that doors were kept closed so that it was harder to socialize. there were notices in every hallway about being thrown out if you had alcohol ANYWHERE on property. Our parents were told if they wanted a space to get together and have a drink that we would need a liquor license. my husband and I dont drink but it's nice to get together with adults after the game...I'm not sure why the hotel felt it necessary to take the measures it did, but after being part of many other hockey tournaments with our other child and never having issues with either loud parents or kids, I cant honestly recommend this Hotel for teams. Older retired folks perhaps but definitely not teams.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newfieinthefalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear newfieinthefalls,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    76
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
52
34
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our route. It is easy to access from Hwy 401. There are a few restaurants in the vicinity. The rooms are new, clean, spacious, well appointed with comfortable beds. Our room had 2 queen beds, pull out sofa, microwave, TV, internet port, coffee maker, bar fridge. Housekeeping will give you plates etc. if required. There were several hockey teams and reingette teams the evening we were there as there is a large arena close by. They were allowed to used the breakfast area/lounge for a pot luck dinner. The pool is very warm. Breakfast was okay, nothing special but when you're looking to get going early in the morning it will suffice. Check out was easy, just leave your keys in your room or at the front desk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumpinround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Nice, clean, friendly staff. Rooms are large and clean

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragon749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This was a team trip. Kids enjoyed the pool and breakfast lounge could be reserved for groups or accessed to socialize without disturbing guests. The price was decent; not outstanding; breakfast included. No wifi except for the lobby but was useless because there is a firewall so ipods/ipads cannot access internet. There is a computer room with free access. Every room has a mini-kitchenette (small fridge & microwave). Rooms have a spacious layout, are clean and comfortable. The bathroom fan is loud and goes on automatically with the light which makes it disturbing for other family members who are trying to sleep. Easy access to the highway -- much else around.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the elevator - you'll hear a low, consistent noise all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Had a great stay here. I only stayed one night but it was great - not one complaint. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, everything worked great and the staff were so nice. Every staff member I met was pleasant and seemed happy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liketotravel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBMManager, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your thoughful review. I apologize about the issues with the hot water. There was still one hot water tank they had been unable to fix from the problem we had back in November. An extremely long and frustrating delay. It has now been fixed (as of February 4th) and I'm happy to say there is now more than enough hot water to accommodate the completely sold out hotel! :-)
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to having you back with us again the next time you're in Bowmanville!

Sincerely,

Kim Shields
Front Office & Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express Bowmanville
905-697-8089 ext 153
fdm@hiexbowmanville.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

I have a mixed bag review on this hotel. First we stayed in the Jacuzzi Suite and it was very nice. It has a big two person hot tub. We loved it! Bed was very comfortable to sleep in. The pool was nice but very small with a hot tub next to it. The buffet breakfast was good, bigger then most free buffets around. They actually had this cool little pancake maker, along with eggs, sausage, and fruit. Everthing was nice. But the downside is that my experiance with noise was much different the most. There was a hockey team of 12 yr. old boys with parents that were more interested in partying then taking care of their kids. I'm generally very patient with kids but these were out of control. Running around the hotel having a wild time. On top of that the walls were very thin you could hear people in the room next to us talking. They must have hated when we were in the jucuzzi. So as I said a mixed review. I do suspect and acknowledge that if you take out the hockey team I would have rated this hotel much higher.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed night before last while attending a seminar. Rooms were very quiet and clean. No wifi in rooms but you can connect an ethernet cord for broadband internet. Wifi available in lobby. The free breakfast was great! Hot eggs and sausage as well as pancakes, fruit, cereals etc. Very nice hotel! Easily located just off the 401. Very glad to read the comment about not sport team friendly...good work Management!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oilexec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowmanville
Best Western Plus Bowmanville
#1 of 3 in Bowmanville
99 reviews
Downtown Oshawa
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Oshawa Downtown - Toronto Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vanier
Travelodge Oshawa Whitby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville
Address: 37 Spicer Sq, Bowmanville, Ontario L1C 5M2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Bowmanville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bowmanville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Clarington - Bowmanville
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Clarington - Bowmanville Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing