We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jazz Festival 2012 Satellite Venue”
Review of Huff Estates

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloomfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huff Estates
Ranked #3 of 12 Bloomfield B&B and Inns
Bay Of Quinte
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Jazz Festival 2012 Satellite Venue”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We love to stop at The Huff when the Jazz is flowing freely. This year the weather was great so sitting outside on the Patio was pleasant. The Canadian Jazz Quartet was playing however they were indoors so the sound quality was not that good on the patio as previous years when they have been outside. Be sure to book early reserve a table for lunch about 1 or 1:30 the Jazz starts at 2pm-5pm. A bottle of wine or 2 adds to the enjoyment of your lunch.Remember to bring along a beer drinker so you are sure to have a designated driver ! It gets crowded with Jazz affectionados so don't be surprised if you cant get a table or seat if you just show up and dont have a reservation. This event appeals to all ages. The staff are super friendly and helpful we had a great time!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4theluvofgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    87
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
37
145
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

a must see and do if you are in the area
did not stay there but went to do some wine tasting.
Walked around the vineyards and the garden next to the winery. Beautiful grounds
The staff at the winery are very friendly and will explain alot while you taste wines.
I suggest the tour.
i know that if you stay in their rooms that it should include breakfast and a tour of the winery.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Namaste24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

When we decided we needed a mini vacation we asked friends about places they have been that they would recommend. Huff Estates Winery and Inn was mentioned a few times as a nice place to stay. So we booked a one night package that included a premier suite, wine tasting and tour of the estate winery as well as a dinner voucher for local fine dining with cab service to and from the restaurant.
We found the room to be well appointed and spacious- king size bed, flat panel tvs, fireplace, bar fridge, hairdryer, plenty of towels etc. The bathroom was very large with a separate whirlpool tub as well as a glass block shower. We requested 2 bathrobes (usually only include one in the room) and the extra one had been placed in the room prior to our arrival. Each room also has a private patio area overlooking the grounds.
Only drawbacks for us were:
1) not having a coffee maker in the room. Although coffee was readily available in the central breakfast buffet area - even at 6 a.m.- and we were able to take a carafe back to our room
2) although a king size bed was wonderful to have we did not find it very comfortable as the mattress was very soft and the duvet much too heavy for summer. As a result, we did not sleep very well.
3) The Inn is situated at the junction of 2 fairly busy roads- constant noise from passing traffic that was noticeable on the patio

Overall a nice place to stay. Great location to explore the area from. We found the Huff Estate wines to be quite nice and we purchased a couple of bottles to take home and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefanie045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have stayed at Huff Estates many times over the past few years and it has always provided a comfortable night's sleep. My most recent visit was in early July 2012. The Inn is well located to explore the artisans and wineries of Prince Edward County. The rooms are clean and the private patios are lovely in all seasons.

Breakfast at Huff is a disappointment. Most offerings are pre-processed (except the waffles which do look good) and the overall feel is very institutional...which is not in keeping with the 'vibe' of the county.

Staff in the adjacent winery are helpful when questioned but definitely not as welcoming as in other wineries in the county.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank MmeMac_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a gem of a place. The grounds, garden, vineyard and staff are all amazing. My husband and I stayed here just recently for a one night get away. The second one here of the summer I might add.
We always request a room looking towards the vineyards instead of the interior courtyard. That would be a good view but nothing creates better memories than sitting enjoying a nice glass of First Frost while watching the mother and baby Killdeer run across the lawns.
The beds are amazing comfortable and I don't know where they get their linens/duvets from but I love them! I am now on the hunt to make my own room as comfortable as the stay at Huff.
This is an excellent location and knowledgage staff. I look forward to our fall getaway already.

Room Tip: Sunday and Monday nights are quite the deal- see on line for details. Make sure to hit the breakfas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladybugtraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The rooms are spacious and well equipped. The views are winery 360 degree surround. The wines are very good. The lunch menu at the patio is grand. The included breakfast is ample and fresh. The only thing missing is room service with house wine included.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views. The out side rooms look onto the winery. The inner rooms have a garden c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allvodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I was reluctant to write this review, because I don't want to share this gem of an Inn and have it changed by the kind of popularity that has turned Niagara-on-the-Lake into an expensive joke. Noneless, the proprieters deserve well-earned kudos for this wonderful destination, so read on fellow travellers...

Our family includes a member requiring accessible accommodation, so we chose Huff Estates for an extended weekend stay in beautiful Prince Edward County. The staff were welcoming, helpful and bent over backwards to extend outstanding hospitality. We booked the Winemakers Suite and the handicap accessible room. Both were immaculate and well-appointed. My Mom was very comfortable in the accessible room aside from smal quibbles about the floor of the roll-in shower (a bit slippery even with the shower mat) and the height of the accessible toilet (low for taller folks with bad knees, easily compensated for by the seat height adapter that we carry with us). Both Mom and Dad raved about how comfortable their bed was, and all members of the excursion enjoyed excellent nights of sleep thanks to the king-sized beds, quality linens and decadent surfeit of pillows in both rooms (possibly also aided by a "touch of the vino" from the associated winery). The rooms were so quiet it felt like we were the only guests at the Inn, so I was surprised by the number of people we encountered in the breakfast room on the first morning!

The breakfast buffet was adequate if not gourmet, with plenty of substantial items to fill up on before a days excursion in the County. Staff cheerfully provided the necessary tableware and utensils to support our family BBQ on the patio of the Winemakers Suite (this unit comes complete with a nice propane BBQ, outdoor bar, patio furniture and lounge chairs, and could easily enterain 10+ guests). Quality tea, coffee and juices were available 24/7 in the breakfast area, and a nice selection of Huff Estates wines were available for purchase at the front desk.

Staff were understanding and flexible when we requested a late check-out. Having a lovely art gallery and winery on the same grounds provided charming diversions on the day we were too tired to wander the County, although the fledgling sculpture garden is only marginally accessible as yet. Nice views over the fields and vineyards.

Prince Edward County is a beautiful, hospitable, affordable and sane alternative to the Niagara wine region, much more geunine and laid-back with talented arts and culinary communities. The close connection to the land is obvious, and the area manages to be a quality destination without pretention. We were saddened by the closing of Fifth Town Cheese but were consoled by other finds such as Slickers Gourmet Home-made Ice Cream in Bloomfield. Our visit was far too short for the many things we wanted to see and do, and we will be back soon with Huff Estates as a "new favourite" home base for our visits. Looking forward to returning for a fall or winter retreat, to cozy up to the fireplace (or in the jacuzzi) with a good book.

Despite looking hard, we could not find comparable size/quality/accessible rooms in the Niagara Region or Toronto, and even lesser accommodation in those areas were considerably more expensive than the rooms at Huff. For style, comfort, hospitality and value, Huff Estate Inn can't be matched!

Room Tip: Splurge on the Winemakers Suite and revel in the expansive indoor/outdoor space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomfield
5.8 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
409 reviews
7.6 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
121 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 12 in Wellington
103 reviews
6.1 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
456 reviews
5.3 mi away
Drake Devonshire Inn
Drake Devonshire Inn
#1 of 12 in Wellington
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huff Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huff Estates

Property: Huff Estates
Address: 2274 County Rd 1, Bloomfield, Ontario K0K 1G0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomfield
Hotel Class:3 star — Huff Estates 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Huff Estates Hotel Bloomfield
Huff Estates Bloomfield, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing