We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huff Estates

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloomfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Huff Estates
Ranked #3 of 12 Bloomfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
belleville
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We signed up for their newsletter and were pleased to see that they were offering a package as part of Countyliscious.Their Chef from the summer was offering a three course dinner at the inn and we booked in for a Friday night package - price per person was a very reasonable $85 per person, we got overnight in a regular room, dinner, breakfast and wine tasting. They have added a sculpture garden since our last stay and although it was Nov it was a very pleasant day and the walk through the garden was beautiful. This location is out of the way, but with the packages and shuttle we felt right as ease, did not have to drive offsite for dinner . WIne with dinner was great as well, we were able to bring the partly finished bottle that we have purchased on check in to dinner with us.
All in all, we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality and the value we received.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmcea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    81
    21
    10
    7
See reviews for
35
142
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

We hope that this obviously new hotel eventually makes it but at the moment it has some way to go. It is comfortable and attractive but short of facilities. A magazine in the room boasted of a celebrity chef and gourmet meals but there were none on offer when we stayed. This meant a drive of several kilometres into town to eat. Breakfast was basic but adequate and it appeared that we were expected to clear our table even though there was a member of staff on duty. Our room had a wardrobe door which was stuck closed - I did eventually force it open but for a new property this is not good enough. We can't remember when we last stayed in a hotel with no in-room coffee making facilities. There are wine glasses though and they will sell you a mediocre bottle at a very high price. We paid $199 for B & B. Not value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grandad1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
233 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The winter rate is a very pleasant $115/night B+B, and we went to dinner at the hotel one night, when they brought a local chef in for Countylicious.

I see how some of the other reviewers may have been disappointed: it's not a luxury inn by any sense. It's a dedicated hotel-type building with nice, but not special, rooms. The breakfast is pretty generic (though filling), and the staff hanging around during it didn't make it, and don't really have much to do other than smile and point you at coffee. It's buffet, there's a dish tub for you to toss your dishes in, etc.

But really, for this price, I don't mind that at all. They were cheerful, friendly, young, and welcoming. And dinner at Countylicious was very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melted_snowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

We stayed at Huff Estates as part of a wedding and couldn't have been more satisfied with our stay. The rooms were beautiful and the bed was probably the most comfortable one I've ever slept in. We checked in later in the evening and it was so nice to be able to purchase a bottle of wine from the front desk to take back to our room since we didn't make it in time to get to the winery before it closed. The lovely girl who checked us in was extremely helpful in helping us find a last minute dinner reservation in Picton as well. I've read other reviews that refer to the breakfast, but personally I thought it was wonderful. Never have I seen such an extensive free breakfast. Lots of fresh fruit, amazing scones, bacon and eggs, fresh Belgian waffles - I'm not sure what else you could want that Huffs didn't offer. There was another lovely girl refilling food stations and helping us get whatever we wanted. The staff certainly tries to see to your every need!! We had a couple hours to fill before the wedding and the front desk was able to offer some fun shopping and sightseeing suggestions. My only complaint is that we couldn't stay for longer!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnut93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed at Huff Estates on the recommendation of family as part of our road trip across Quebec and Ontario from New York. Prince Edward County, where the winery is located, is a beautiful agricultural area on Lake Ontario. The vistas are wonderful and there are wonderful wineries that are quickly maturing, in addition to gourmet food producers, that together form the "Taste Trail." So, it is unforgivable that the food at Huff Estates is provided by Sysco, who likely also supplies the toilet paper. The breakfast buffet, as other reviewers noted, is pathetic. The waffle machine is the only available option for fresh food. One morning, a young, friendly staff member enthusiastically told us about the breakfast wraps. These machine-made, egg-beater and ham sliver abominations would be disappointing on an airplane in coach, let alone in a winery hotel. Absent from the presentation were any opportunities to include local wine or food in the experience. For example, it would have been nice to have been offered a glass of wine on arrival, or even the option to purchase a bottle to be enjoyed in the room. Until this hotel sources a delicious country brunch from local merchants, it should be boycotted by locals.

On to the room: we stayed in the "seaside suite," or something like this. The name is a misnomer as there is no sea. The room was large, but oversized, clunky furniture detracted from the size. A gas powered fireplace was a nice touch and turned out to be essential overnight when it became quite cold outside, especially since no thermostat was visible. The room was lit with mostly overhead track lighting, except in the bedroom where LED lights had been installed. It is EXTREMELY unpleasant to have bright white LED lights in the bedroom. The bathroom was disproportionately nice: a multihead shower, a whirlpool bath, but because the bathroom is walled but without a ceiling, we could not use the amenities once we put our baby to sleep as the noise was too great without insulation.

Finally, on arrival, we were given a card for a free winery tour and tasting. When I enquired about our tour the next day, I was told that the "problem with visiting at this time of year is that tours are impossible because of pressing." I understand that the winery is a business, but part of why we stayed at this hotel was to tour the winery and we were misled on the telephone while making the reservation and at check-in to believe this was possible.

In sum, for $190/night, we felt like we got very little value to stay at a hotel that is indifferent to the culinary riches at their doorstep, at a room that was somewhat unwelcoming, and where we were deceived about the winery. Prince Edward County is wonderful, but unless I heard very convincing news that the place was totally revamped, I would never stay there again, instead picking one of the charming other properties we saw while driving around.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank msginthevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingham, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights this week for our 35th wedding anniversary. Staff were freindly and polite in the inn. Room was clean, though had a slight musty smell, and the bed was overdue to be replaced. I was disapponted in the breakfast buffet, it was prepared ahead of time, and reheated, for almost $200/night for a basic room, I would have expected someone there, making at least 1 fresh entree. Received free tasting at their winery, but of all that we visited in the county, this one was manned by someone who I felt really looked down his nose at us, I am certainly no wine expert, but I do enjoy it, and appreciate when knowledgeable people share their passion and enthusiasm. I was looking so forward to this stay and cant hlep but felt disappointed by this place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

We visited this past summer, unfortunately just overnight and were unable to attend the Winery but the rooms were gorgeous, the staff very professional and accommodating. Just loved the patio outside, even though it was too hot at the time to go outside.... next time, perhaps.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerSue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomfield
5.7 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
7.6 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#4 of 5 in Picton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
13.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belleville
BEST WESTERN Belleville
#2 of 7 in Belleville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
5.3 mi away
Drake Devonshire Inn
Drake Devonshire Inn
#1 of 12 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huff Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huff Estates

Property: Huff Estates
Address: 2274 County Rd 1, Bloomfield, Ontario K0K 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomfield
Hotel Class:3 star — Huff Estates 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Huff Estates Hotel Bloomfield
Huff Estates Bloomfield, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing