We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST homemade ice cream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slickers - CLOSED

Slickers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout
Stirling
Level Contributor
101 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The BEST homemade ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband & I have frequented this little place several times on our travels through the county. The worst part of trying to decide which flavour to have. I usually have 2 different kinds in a waffle cone. The mango is great, but they are all wonderful. A nice spot to sit and watch the world go by

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly154981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    60
    19
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great home made ice cream in the County”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Slickers is just the best: if you like interesting ice cream flavours; if you like freshly made ice cream; if you like reasonable prices and generous quantities.
We were in Prince Edward County for a couple of weeks this summer and almost without fail at some point in the day; after fishing, after Sandbanks Provincial Park, after touring wineries; after dinner - it really didn't matter, but we somehow always had to stop at Slickers.
It's a tiny shop in Bloomfield with a scattering of benches and chairs in front. It is so small that you have to walk in one door and out the other.
I am a total fanatic for the best ice cream flavour ever - rhubarb ginger. It sounds strange but it is subtle, tart and full of the two dominant tastes. My wife likes burnt marshmallow (yes it actually tastes like marshmallows). Each batch of apple pie ice cream includes a smashed up apple pie - how authentic is that.
It's worth going to the county just for Slickers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

A taste of heaven? You bet! Homemade ice cream does not get any better than this! Maple Walnut and Sunrise (orange and raspberry) pleased the palate. Copious portions means that one scoop will suffice....or will it?!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 62Virgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“New ownership, but the same great ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I swear Campfire (toasted marshmallow) has bits of burnt stick in it, and the Apple Pie and Rhubarb Ginger are also great bets.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jazzmom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you're in Bloomfield you must stop here. The ice cream is all made on site, and the selection of flavours available is most unusual (and delicious!). My family tried the rhubarb-ginger, strawberry, chocolate fudge cookie, apple pie, and campfire (slightly burnt marshmallow) flavours. I had to sneak back again for more campfire ice cream, it was sooo good. Now that I'm home again, I wish I had bought a couple of quarts of campfire ice cream to enjoy at home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slickers also viewed

Bloomfield, Prince Edward County
Bloomfield, Prince Edward County
 
Bloomfield, Prince Edward County
Bloomfield, Prince Edward County
 
Bloomfield, Prince Edward County
Bloomfield, Prince Edward County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing