We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of heaven in the county”
Review of Angeline's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bloomfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Angeline's Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Bloomfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“A little piece of heaven in the county”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had the opportunity to stay at Angeline's over the May long weekend. Just a little piece of heaven in the county. If you are coming to PEC for wine touring, then we cannot recommend enough that you book a room at Angeline's and plan to take a good number of your meals at The Hubb (the in-house restaurant). The Hubb has delightful atmosphere, a great local wine selection, amazing food, and authentic local charm without an ounce of pretension.

The accommodations are top-notch. We were booked in the Walter, which is adjacent to the main house, and is essentially a completely revitalized 1950s motel. The design is simple, clean and practical, with accents of local art and well-chosen antiques. Your host, Alex, will instantly make you feel at home and completely taken care of. From providing wine glasses so we could enjoy our local wine purchases, to directing us to the best wineries in the region, Alex went out of his way to make our stay memorable. We were able to have a look at the suites in the main house as well, and all our simply gorgeous.

There are many small, off-the-beaten-track places that you could have missed if you were only going by the tourist maps; a particular favourite of ours (recommended by our host) is Old Third vineyards, which specializes in Pinot Noir. Lighthall and Karlo Estates were also favourites.

With regard to the dining, the restaurant has a great selection of tapas and mains. During our stay, tapas on offer included beef tartar, mussels, and seasonal soup. Mains included scallops, beef brisket, and pappardelle pasta. All were delicious, with locally-sourced ingredients. It's also worth mentioning that there is a well-stocked bar, with an excellent selection of cocktails.

P.S. The Mustang drive-in was also a fun experience for us, and is only a 5-minute drive from Angeline's.

Final word: just book it. But don't tell too many people about it ;)

Room Tip: Our go-to room (we didn't stay there but loved it when we poked our head in) would be the Master...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Team_J-square
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    51
    15
    8
    5
See reviews for
33
105
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stumbled onto this place while searching for a place to stay for my partner's bday and it surpassed all expectations. Stylish and trendy but not pretentious and amazingly friendly and accommodating owners and staff. Great location in Bloomfield and super close to a large number of the wineries which we were able to bike to. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkillins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arans
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at this great Inn. Alex welcomed us and invited us to tour the Inn. My wife was in mid century heaven with Alex's eclectic sense of style & design.
We stayed in one of the economy rooms that was newly renovated. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom clean and functional.
The highlight of our stay was chatting with alex over breakfast and asking him about The County for which he has a real passion.
We will definitely come back soon to try one of the main Inn Suites & Dinner at the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parmengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is an awesome place with tons of character in Bloomfield. The rooms are modern, clean and up to date for such a beautiful old place. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the restaurant, the Hubb was delicious! Awesome cocktails in the evening, inventive menu... I would happily repeat a visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a fabulous 10th wedding anniversary weekend at Angeline's Inn in Bloomfield, Prince Edward County, Ontario. My words will not do this place justice, but I will certainly try. I will begin by saying that we vacation in PEC every summer, and Angeline's Inn and The Hubb Eatery have definitely set the bar for outstanding accommodations, dining and service. It's easy walking distance to the little artisan town of Bloomfield, along with it's central location to Picton, Wellington, Waupoos and all of the area's art studios, wineries/cidery and Sandbanks beaches make it a superb destination for a perfect getaway. The Millennium Trail even runs along behind it, what more could you ask for?

We were greeted like family and feel extremely pampered and spoiled. Our experience began with a tour of the beautifully renovated and designed century home and eatery. The suites and the rooms are all very well appointed and amazingly decorated paying close attention to detail and functionality. The Hubb is such a cool space with a great bar and very cool black walnut rustic bench, it's very quaint and easy to spend a lot of time in, which we did! Next was a tour of the newly renovated Walter economy rooms located in a separate building next door. You will not be disappointed staying in either the main house or their economy rooms. Their owner/designer, Alex Fida, has done a miraculous job of capturing the beachy vacation feel in The Walter that you will immediately relax upon entering and feel like you've truly unplugged from regular life. In particular, we were fortunate enough to stay in the Angeline's Suite in the main house. WOW! High ceilings, beautiful millwork, comfortable private sitting room with a gorgeous chandelier, a heavenly canopy bed, and the bathroom was to-die-for with it's double glassed-in rain shower and stand alone tub. The champagne cooler with our favourite drinks and charcuterie platter were a very nice touch upon arrival. ;) We did not want to leave and we will definitely return!

The Hubb will be our go-to eatery après beach during our summer vacation... our new favourite restaurant in The County! The talented Chef Elliot and the vibrant Sommelier Laura who have recently taken-over, have created the most awesome menu of small and large plates using fresh and local ingredients and have compiled a wine list of an interesting mix from both near and far wineries to certainly please the most discerning of palates. Their cocktails are pretty fantastic too, be careful, you'll want to try them all! We ate dinner both nights at The Hubb and there was a happy buzz in the air from extremely satisfied and pleasantly surprised diners. There were a lot of curious walk-ins checking the place out, and even Jamie Kennedy dined there with his family on the Saturday night and left with a big smile on his face! Laura and Elliot have taken dining in The County to a whole new level. We tried almost everything on the menu that our stomach capacity would allow and we left wanting more and can't wait to go back. I must make a special note about Elliot's little creation of sinful bready Hubb Nubs and Polenta Crisps that kick-off your dining experience, I think I'm craving them right now! Their breakfasts should not go unmentioned either. Great coffees, everything fresh and homemade from their breads to their fresh fruit compote and crème fraiche, and perfectly herbed potatoes. The french toast is the best I've ever had and their portion sizes are quite generous. Everything is beautifully presented, true pieces of art that look too good to eat, but taste even better than they look in their chic serving dishes, super cute cheese/charcuterie boards and creative little handmade wooden crates. Can't wait until the patio opens for al fresco dining!

Angeline's Inn and The Hubb are a gem, as are the fresh, young and exceptional crew that are waiting to greet you. It's amazing how incredible your experience can be when the people taking care of you truly enjoy and are passionate about what they do. Thank you Alex, Laura and Elliot for an excellent weekend and making us feel extra special. We're looking forward to seeing you again very soon!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are incredible, just choose the right one for you based on the number of people/bud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Angeline's Inn in August 2012. We booked it on the recommendations of family and also, the reviews on Tripadvisor. This B&B did NOT live up to my expectations at all.

We stayed in an economy room. Before we arrived I phoned ahead to let them know that I was extremely pregnant and would need several extra pillows. They assured me that it would not be a problem so I did not bring my own with me. Big mistake. Upon arrival there were only two pillows in our room and when I went to ask at the desk about them I waited twenty minutes for the staff to unearth one more pillow.

The economy room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was mystifying. There was absolutely no space to store any of your toiletries, a small shelf would have been great. Also, the pocket door to the bathroom was almost completely glass, and not frosted glass. You would need to be extremely comfortable with whomever you were traveling with because they could watch you use the facilities.

To my knowledge, breakfast was a croissant, juice and coffee per person. I'm not 100% sure since it isn't served before a certain time and we were so hungry we drove to Tim Horton's.

I was very excited to stay here when we booked it, especially after reading so many positive reviews. I would definitely find somewhere else to stay the next time we are in the area. This did not live up to the hype. Maybe the rooms inside the Inn are better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessmess80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afida2, Manager at Angeline's Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us last summer. Since your stay we have continued to improve our Economy units to be more comfortable and practicle. This has included adding more shelving into the bathrooms and frosting all glass doors.
Our room rates of 115 dollars per night are some of the lowest in the area and we are sorry that you did not feel you recieved good value.
We do offer a variety of overnight stay options which range from basic units to larger more luxurious suites in the main Inn. Our goal is to accomodate those who have both big and small budgets. In addition both light and full breakfast options are available starting as early as 8am (and we are always willing to accomodate earlier breakfast requests).
We hope that you give us another chance and perhaps stay in one of the suites.
Sincerely,
Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from a overnight stay, was a large group of us, the food was fantastic the resturant beautiful, the room left a lot to be desired. We stayed in the side rooms, which appear to be old motel rooms, with old motel heater/ac, nasty noise, very difficult to control the heat. The room was very small with one chair a bed and a fold down table. Bathroom was shower only with no ledges for any toiletries, both the bathroom and the sink very low. Would recommend staying in the Inn versus these rooms. Other couple complained of the same type of things. The food was 5 star the room was a 2, that is way the 3 star rating.

Room Tip: Stay in the Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chalbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afida2, Manager at Angeline's Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We offer a variety of different types of accomodation for different budgest and needs. We appologize that our inn was completely full and that our Newly Renovated ecomony units did not meet your needs. We hope you are able to join us again and perhaps stay in one of the suites instead.
Kind regards,
Alexandre Fida manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bloomfield
3.0 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
420 reviews
5.2 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
132 reviews
15.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
4.0 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
469 reviews
5.5 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angeline's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angeline's Inn

Property: Angeline's Inn
Address: 433 Main Street | Hwy 33, Bloomfield, Ontario K0K 1G0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Bloomfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bloomfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angeline's is known for its fine dining and creative cuisine. Surrounded by flowering gardens which border on sweeping country fields, Angeline's offers a tranquil stay for the discerning traveler. Recently added: a new master suite with its antiques and original works of art. Arts or well-being workshops offered in Angeline's Studios. Browse among Bloomfield's unique village shops, some of which have special arrangements with Angeline's for late-night shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Angeline`s Restaurant Hotel Bloomfield
Angeline`s Restaurant And Inn
Angeline's Inn Bloomfield, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing