We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissatisfied”

The Red Pump Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 23 Restaurants in Bayfield
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Ontario, California
1 review
“Very dissatisfied”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We arrived dressed up and expecting a wonderful dining experience. Our waitress was clumsy. Didn't come and take away our dishes right away and we poured our own wine. Asked if they could took take a group picture and said she had no time.
Then our entres arrived. One hour after our drink order. They boasted the vegan Tofu dish. It was inedilble! The pasta wasn't cooked. My friend had the beef and it was good.
Their menu is very eclectic and not to everyones palate. I would call ahead to see what the specials are so you worn be charged up the wazoo for a crappy meal and a crappy dining experience.
Oh and by the way my, I took my friend here to surprise her because she had worked here as a university student. She saw the same owner (her old boss) and could not believe he had let this restaurant let this happen. Apparently its the only show in town. Too bad Bayfield!
Go for the wine and bread and salad. You are safe with that! Expect to pour your own!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    11
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This place is a gem and the back patio is especially gorgeous! While I found it a bit pricey overall the food was very enjoyable. Our service could have been better but watching the other tables I think it was just our server.

I definitely reccommend this place!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tally_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Lunch on the back patio”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The service was great as was the food and the drinks!!! We ejoyed the outdoor patio which has a nice water fountain in the middle.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CanadaJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great relaxing time”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We sat in the back garden for a mid-day drink. Very pleasant surroundings and friendly staff. Will return for a meal.

We loved what the owners have done with the place - fascinated with each room.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmather47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

While the food was alright, the serving staff were so awkward, it was actually distracting. We also found it to be very expensive. The backyard patio has so much potential...unfortunately, it felt unattended to .

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JanHunter2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Pump Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 
Bayfield, Bluewater
 

Been to The Red Pump Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing