We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Authentic German Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hessenland Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Sarnia Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Authentic German Dinner”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have driven past this Inn/Restaurant for over 20 years. My wife and I stopped in for dinner tonite, and it was great. If you want an authentic german dinner, near Sarnia/Grand Bend this is the place. VERY clean, great grounds, very well kept location.
Small Inn and large wedding facility. Our table overlooked the pool and gardens.
Waitress was great, we had the german Platter, that gave us a "tasting" of everything, and then had the german dessert.
Stop in, it is worth the drive and its a great spot!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The weather was out of their control. The chairs for the outside service were tacky but he location made up for it. The food and the service were spectacular. I thought that the place was a great choice. handled well in all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callan, Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The grounds are stunning and really well kept, the outdoor pool is freezing although the weather was very warm. We had dinner three nights and the food was amazing. The rooms are basic but were kept very clean. Staff were really friendly and helpful. The inn is really quiet with not much going on, Bayfield is a taxi ride away costing 30.00 dollars. The bar closes very early and there is no lunch menu. We stayed for four nights and while I enjoyed my time and found it very relaxing I was getting bored towards the end as there's so little to do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Hessenland was simply amazing from the front staff when we checked in to the staff serving us during the wedding meal
the coach room is perfect for a wedding and the meal ( chicken / beef ) was excellent
the grounds were stunning for pictures we used the water falls area for the wedding service and had other pictures taken around other beautiful spots
lake huron water front is only a 10 minute walk with wooden stairs leading to the beach

the breakfest brunch was fantastic with plenty of food for all the french toast was the best i have ever eaten

we will re visit this place for sure for a weekend getaway

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad4442096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Couldn't have asked for a better stay. The grounds are stunning & the service is excellent. Recently refurbished bar, rooms and dining area are modern yet retain all the country charm you would want. The Mongolian grill is excellent and something I would definitely recommend (if you are able to get a reservation). It is truly a gem and a welcome change from the cookie cutter hotels, a true country boutique experience.
My only regret is that I did not book my own wedding there.
Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you have a chance talk to Liz. She is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Hessenland is a gem! The german cuisine is FANTASTIC and the grounds are stunning. The Inn is a family run establishment and you can tell they really care about their Inn and guests. We noticed their relationships with a few guests who told us they had been coming to the Inn for almost 20 years!!

The restaurant is a must try with a full menu of authentic german food! The red cabbage is delicious!

Many of the rooms in the Inn have recently been updated so the issues from the posters below shouldn't be any concern. Our room was simply but clean. The bed was very comfortable. The gardens and restaurant are truly not to be missed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the B & B are a bit more old fashioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toronto_JF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at Hessenland Country Inn for a wedding on the Labour Day long weekend. The price was a little high, but it was wonderful to be able to stay at the same place the wedding was at and not worry about travelling. They let all the guests check in early (we checked in at least an hour early), and we were quite pleased with our room. Since many rooms were already booked we ended up with a room that had 2 queen beds. The beds were extremely comfortable and had nice bedding. The room included a mini fridge and a desk with a nice chair. There was no closet but there was a rack for hanging clothes and a stand to put your luggage on, which was perfect for our short stay. The grounds are beautiful and it was a great venue for a wedding. There was a lovely garden and a fountain, so it was also great for pictures. The hall was very nicely decorated with candles and lights. There was also a hot tub and outdoor pool which we didn't get to take advantage of, but I wish we had! I would definitely suggest investing the extra money in a terrace room, our friends had one and it had a nice sitting area, and direct access to the gardens. The best part of the experience was the brunch the following morning. I'm not sure if it was a special part of their wedding package, but the brunch was a good value and absolutely delicious. We got a variety of stuff (french toast, pancake, toast, potatoes, eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit) and it was all tasty and fresh.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a quiet weekend getaway or as a wedding venue. I had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsimpson1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
10.7 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#1 of 4 in Bayfield
78 reviews
22.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
222 reviews
21.0 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Goderich
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Oakwood Resort
Oakwood Resort
#2 of 4 in Grand Bend
416 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Little Inn of Bayfield
8.5 mi away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Grand Bend
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hessenland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hessenland Country Inn

Property: Hessenland Country Inn
Address: 72981 Bluewater Hwy | Zurich, Bayfield, Bluewater, Ontario N0M 2T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Bluewater > Bayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hessenland Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Premier destination along Ontario's West Coast, conveniently located between Grand Bend and Bayfield on highway 21. Accommodations, full service dining room, expansive gardens and grounds, private access to beach behind the property. Historic Coach House Reception Hall and access to the sunset tower overlooking the lake and countryside. Whether for quiet getaways and romantic escapes or for full service weddings and any special event- Hessenland is the perfect destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hessenland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hessenland Country Hotel Bayfield
Country Inn Bayfield
Bayfield Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn Bayfield, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing