We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay & Fantastic Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hessenland Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Certificate of Excellence
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Stay & Fantastic Food”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Couldn't have asked for a better stay. The grounds are stunning & the service is excellent. Recently refurbished bar, rooms and dining area are modern yet retain all the country charm you would want. The Mongolian grill is excellent and something I would definitely recommend (if you are able to get a reservation). It is truly a gem and a welcome change from the cookie cutter hotels, a true country boutique experience.
My only regret is that I did not book my own wedding there.
Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you have a chance talk to Liz. She is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    12
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Hessenland is a gem! The german cuisine is FANTASTIC and the grounds are stunning. The Inn is a family run establishment and you can tell they really care about their Inn and guests. We noticed their relationships with a few guests who told us they had been coming to the Inn for almost 20 years!!

The restaurant is a must try with a full menu of authentic german food! The red cabbage is delicious!

Many of the rooms in the Inn have recently been updated so the issues from the posters below shouldn't be any concern. Our room was simply but clean. The bed was very comfortable. The gardens and restaurant are truly not to be missed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the B & B are a bit more old fashioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toronto_JF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at Hessenland Country Inn for a wedding on the Labour Day long weekend. The price was a little high, but it was wonderful to be able to stay at the same place the wedding was at and not worry about travelling. They let all the guests check in early (we checked in at least an hour early), and we were quite pleased with our room. Since many rooms were already booked we ended up with a room that had 2 queen beds. The beds were extremely comfortable and had nice bedding. The room included a mini fridge and a desk with a nice chair. There was no closet but there was a rack for hanging clothes and a stand to put your luggage on, which was perfect for our short stay. The grounds are beautiful and it was a great venue for a wedding. There was a lovely garden and a fountain, so it was also great for pictures. The hall was very nicely decorated with candles and lights. There was also a hot tub and outdoor pool which we didn't get to take advantage of, but I wish we had! I would definitely suggest investing the extra money in a terrace room, our friends had one and it had a nice sitting area, and direct access to the gardens. The best part of the experience was the brunch the following morning. I'm not sure if it was a special part of their wedding package, but the brunch was a good value and absolutely delicious. We got a variety of stuff (french toast, pancake, toast, potatoes, eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit) and it was all tasty and fresh.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a quiet weekend getaway or as a wedding venue. I had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsimpson1886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

We just went for dinner folks. Very disappointing. Service was not good. Salad was wilted. The schnitzel was good, but the potatoes not great. Drinks were off. We won't be back.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank keithoflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My sister booked this place for our Mom's birthday party. We asked them, as seeing it was ahead of season, if they could do their popular Mongolian Grille for us. Since we were 20 some people, they agreed and we all looked forward to the day. On the day, we were somewhat surprised to see, not the usual selection of meats and veggies/sauces normally seen on a Mongolian Grille, but some veggie stir fry, a seafood stir fry (try to see the shrimp or scallops), rice and mini potatoes and some chicken dish. They served out children's portions and seemed reluctant to serve additional servings, although they did. The quality was at best, so-so and it was $30 a plate. Seeing as the local Mongolian Grille gives you everything you'd want for $16 a plate, i was underwhelmed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We were lucky enough to have been able to stay at Hessenland Resort for a wedding. Liz was the first person to greet us and turned out to be a wonderful host,as well as wedding planner. This is a quaint beautiful resort with the whole family totally involved with every aspect of the running of it. The surrounding grounds were absolutely beautiful as well as the surrounding area. Would recommend this outstanding resort to anybody for a gathering or just a short stay. Again Thank you to the whole staff at Hessenland for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil_butler330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We had stayed at Hessenland in previous years.When we arrived,we noted that the dining room had been renovated,but the rest of the inn had not,including our room,which needed it.The carpet was showing wear,the toilet lacked a lid and most unnerving of all, someone managed to use another key to gain access to our room while we were about to leave for dinner.We reported it to the fron desk and was told they'd look into it.
Dinner was a huge disappointment.We had made reservations for the Saturday night buffet,but a tour bus had stopped and its occupants had consumed most of the food. We were left with the cold remnants.When we complained,all we got was a ,"Sorry".
Another turn-off was the bird dropping covered furniture at the outdoor pool.
We won't be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HWRP243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bayfield
10.7 mi away
The Ashwood Inn
The Ashwood Inn
#2 of 4 in Bayfield
82 reviews
21.0 mi away
Benmiller Inn & Spa
Benmiller Inn & Spa
#6 of 9 in Goderich
338 reviews
22.0 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#3 of 9 in Goderich
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Oakwood Resort
Oakwood Resort
#1 of 4 in Grand Bend
433 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Little Inn of Bayfield
8.5 mi away
Pine Dale Motor Inn
Pine Dale Motor Inn
#3 of 4 in Grand Bend
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hessenland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hessenland Country Inn

Property: Hessenland Country Inn
Address: 72981 Bluewater Hwy | Zurich, Bayfield, Bluewater, Ontario N0M 2T0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Huron County > Bluewater > Bayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bayfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hessenland Country Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Premier destination along Ontario's West Coast, conveniently located between Grand Bend and Bayfield on highway 21. Accommodations, full service dining room, expansive gardens and grounds, private access to beach behind the property. Historic Coach House Reception Hall and access to the sunset tower overlooking the lake and countryside. Whether for quiet getaways and romantic escapes or for full service weddings and any special event- Hessenland is the perfect destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hessenland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hessenland Country Hotel Bayfield
Country Inn Bayfield
Bayfield Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn Bayfield, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing